OKLAHOMA EMPLOYMENT SECURITY COMMISSION

NEWS RELEASE

CONTACT: John Carpenter, Public Information Officer ♦ Office: (405) 557-5469 ♦ Fax: (405) 525-0139 E-mail: john.carpenter@oesc.state.ok.us ♦ Website: oesc.state.ok.us

FOR RELEASE: February 6, 2006

APPLICATION DEADLINE FOR DISASTER UNEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE LOOMING IN 12 COUNTIES

OKLAHOMA CITY – The deadline to file for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) in 12 Oklahoma counties is fast approaching. In the wake of the severe wildfires affecting the state December 1, 2005, and continuing, those living or working in these 12 counties were declared eligible to apply for DUA. The 12 eligible counties are Canadian, Cotton, Garvin, Hughes, Lincoln, Logan, Mayes, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Pottawatomie, Seminole and Stephens counties. The DUA application period began on January 10, 2006, and continues

Disaster Unemployment Assistance provides financial support to individuals whose employment or selfemployment has been lost or interrupted as a direct result of a major disaster. Individuals who qualify for normal

through the close of business on Monday, February 13, 2006. No application will be accepted after the deadline.

unemployment benefits are not eligible for DUA. Those individuals, including the self-employed, who were living

or working in the affected counties at the time of the major disaster and who are unemployed as a direct result

of the major disaster may be eligible for DUA.

The first payable week for disaster unemployment assistance is the week beginning December 4, 2005. To file for DUA, an individual must first establish a regular state unemployment claim. Within the Oklahoma City metropolitan area, individuals can call 525-1500 to establish a claim and start the DUA process. Outside of the Oklahoma City metropolitan area, people can call (800) 555-1554.

###