Accountant, Certified Public (CPA)

JOB DESCRIPTION

Certified public accountants (CPA) are owners and staff members of public accounting firms. In order to serve the public, they take a specified amount of continuing professional education annually to retain the permit to practice public accounting. CPAs also are employed in business and industry, in government and in education. They advise privately owned and publicly held companies, financial institutions, nonprofit organizations, individuals and all levels of government. CPAs follow a code of professional ethics, which stresses independence, integrity, objectivity, technical competence and adherence to professional standards.

OES 21114

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Bachelor's degree from an accredited four-year college or university
- Areas of study include accounting, auditing, taxation, economics, statistics, business law, finance, business management, marketing, business communication, and computer science

Continuing Education

- A minimum of 40 hours of continuing education completed in a 365-day period as specified in the Oklahoma Administrative Code is required to practice public accounting.
- Acceptable CPE subjects include accounting and auditing, advisory services, specialized knowledge
 and applications, practice management, personal development, and taxation. Other subjects may be
 acceptable to the Board if those subjects maintain or increase the technical and non-technical
 professional skills of the applicant for a permit.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Good moral character
- Resident of Oklahoma immediately prior to making application

Restrictions

 Conviction of a felony or any crime involving dishonesty or fraud is subject to Board review on an individual basis.

Certificate Duration

• Two fiscal years - July 1 through June 30

Certification Fees

- Registration Fee \$25a year (biennial registration system)
- Renewal Fee \$25 a year (biennial registration system)
- Permit Fee \$50 a year (annual renewal system)

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Uniform Certified Public Accountant Examination

Accountant, Certified Public (CPA)

Description

- Written
- The examination for certification as a Certified Public Accountant shall be the Uniform Certified Public Accountant Examination prepared and graded by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. The examination subjects are (1) Business Law and Professional Responsibilities, (2) Auditing, (3) Accounting and Reporting--Taxation, Managerial, and Governmental and Not-for-Profit Organizations; and (4) Financial Accounting and Reporting--Business Enterprises.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$120	May and	75 on Each Section
	November	

Reexamination

- Must take all sections in which conditional credit is not held.
- Six reexaminations are allowed after the first conditional credit is earned before all credit is forfeited.
- Non-conditioned candidates have unlimited reexamination privileges.
- A grade below 50 on any section will negate any conditional credit achieved at the same examination.
- Application necessary for each reexamination. The examination may be passed by sections as set forth in the Oklahoma Administrative Code.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$12.29 - \$22.24/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Accountancy Board

4545 North Lincoln Boulevard, Suite 165 Oklahoma City, OK 73 105-3413 (405) 521-2397

Accountant, Public

JOB DESCRIPTION

Public accountants (PA) are owners and staff members of public accounting firms. In order to serve the public, they take a specified amount of continuing professional education annually to retain the permit to practice public accounting. PA's also are employed in business and industry, in government and in education. They advise privately owned and publicly held companies, financial institutions, nonprofit organizations, individuals and all levels of government.

OES 21114

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Bachelor's degree from an accredited four-year college or university
- Areas of study include accounting, auditing, taxation, economics, statistics, business law, finance, business management, marketing, business communication, and computer science

Continuing Education

- A minimum of 40 hours of continuing education completed in a 365-day period as specified in the Oklahoma Administrative Code is required to practice public accounting.
- Acceptable CPE subjects include accounting and auditing, advisory services, specialized knowledge
 and applications, practice management, personal development, and taxation. Other subjects may be
 acceptable to the Board if those subjects maintain or increase the technical and non-technical
 professional skills of the applicant for a permit.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Good moral character
- Resident of Oklahoma immediately prior to making application

Restrictions

• Conviction of a felony or any crime involving dishonesty or fraud is subject to Board review on an individual basis.

License Duration

• Two fiscal years--July 1 through June 30

Licensing Fees

- Registration Fee \$25 a year (biennial registration system)
- Renewal Fee \$25 a year (biennial registration system)
- Permit Fee \$50 a year (annual renewal system)

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Uniform Certified Public Accountant Examination

Accountant, Public

Description

- Written.
- The examination for licensing as a Public Accountant includes three of the four sections of the Uniform Certified Public Accountant Examination prepared and graded by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. The examination subjects are (1) Auditing; (2) Accounting and Reporting--Taxation, Managerial, and Governmental and Not-for-Profit Organizations; and (3) Financial Accounting and Reporting--Business Enterprises.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$90	May and	75 on Each
	November	Section

Reexamination

- Six reexaminations are allowed after the first conditional credit is earned before all credit is forfeited.
- Non-conditioned candidates have unlimited reexamination privileges.
- A score below 50 on any section prohibits reexamination on the next examination date.
- Application necessary for each reexamination. The examination may be passed by sections as set forth in the Oklahoma Administrative Code.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$12.29 - \$22.24/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Accountancy Board

4545 North Lincoln Boulevard, Suite 165 Oklahoma City, OK 73 105-3413 (405) 521-2397

AHERA Asbestos Inspector

JOB DESCRIPTION

AHERA asbestos inspectors inspect public buildings for the presence of asbestos. AHERA asbestos inspectors take samples of findings and send the samples to an accredited laboratory for identification. AHERA asbestos inspectors work under the supervision of a licensed AHERA management planner.

OES 87899

EDUCATION REOUTREMENTS

Educational Level

• 24 class-hour course for AHERA inspectors

Continuing Education

• Refresher training which fully meets asbestos abatement requirements

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

None.

Restrictions

- License valid only when working for a licensed AHERA management planner.
- Inspector must repeat all AHERA training requirements if a refresher course is not completed within two years of previous training or refresher course.
- License card must be available at job site upon inspection by the Department of Labor.

Licensing Duration

One year (No grace period wherein an inspector will be allowed to work with an expired license.)

Licensing Fee

• \$25

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

AHERA Inspector Exam

Description

Varies by school

Examination Fee

• Included in course fee (Varies by school)

Reexamination

Not available.

AHERA Asbestos Inspector

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$7.60 - \$12.63/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Department of Labor

Asbestos Division 4001 N. Lincoln Blvd Oklahoma City, OK 73105-5212 (405) 528-1500

AHERA Asbestos Management Planner

JOB DESCRIPTION

AHERA asbestos management planners prepare management plans specifying response actions for asbestos containing materials.

OES 81005

EDUCATION REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Bachelor's degree in a technical subject or equivalent
- 24 class-hour course for AHERA inspectors
- 16-hour course for asbestos management planner supplied by providers accredited by the EPA

Continuing Education

Management planner refresher training.

ADDITIONAL REOUTREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• None

Restrictions

• Must repeat the AHERA training requirements if it has been more than two years since previous refresher training course or management planner training course.

Licensing Duration

• One year (No grace period wherein an Management Planner working will be allowed to work with an expired license.)

Licensing Fee

• \$25

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• AHERA Asbestos Management Planner Exam

Description

• Examination areas relate to areas of study in course

Examination Fee

Included in course fee

Reexamination

Not available

AHERA Asbestos Management Planner

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$12.87 - \$20.75/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Department of Labor

Asbestos Division 4001 North Lincoln Blvd. Oklahoma City, OK 73 105-5212 (405) 528-1500

AHERA Asbestos Project Designer

JOB DESCRIPTION

AHERA project designers are responsible for the preparation of plan and/or specifications for response actions for asbestos-containing materials in any facility.

OES 81005

EDUCATION REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Must meet all requirements for accreditation for asbestos abatement contractor or project designer.
- Bachelor's degree or advanced degree in architecture, engineering, or industrial hygiene, or an equivalent combination of education, training, and experience as determined by the Commissioner.

Continuing Education

• Required refresher-training course

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• None

Restrictions

• Must repeat the AHERA training requirements if it has been more than two years since previous refresher training course or management planner training course.

Licensing Duration

 One year (No grace period wherein a project designer will be allowed to work with an expired license.)

Licensing Fees

• \$500

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Asbestos Abatement Contractor Examination or AHERA Project Designer Examination

Description

• Examination areas relate to areas of study in course

Examination Fee

Included in course fee

Reexamination

• Not available

AHERA Project Designer

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$12.87 - \$20.75/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Department of Labor

Asbestos Division 4001 N. Lincoln Blvd Oklahoma City, OK 73 105-5212 (405) 528-1500

Alternative Fuels Technician

JOB DESCRIPTION

An alternative fuels certified technician is an automotive technician who services, repairs, modifies, or installs compressed natural gas (CNG) and/or liquid petroleum gas (LPG) equipment/parts on vehicles.

OES 85302

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is preferred.

Continuing Education

• Training programs for both CNG and LPG technicians are available and highly recommended.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Must score 80 percent or better on the exam

Restrictions

• None

Certificate Duration

• Annual certification renewed September 1 of each year.

Certification Fees

- Certification Fee \$50
- Renewal Fee \$50

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Certified Natural Gas and/or Liquid Petroleum Gas Exam

Description

- 75 multiple-choice questions
- Examination areas include installations, state law, and NFPA 52 for CNG and NFPA 58 for LPG.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$50	Upon Request	80%

Reexamination

- After first attempt, the exam may be retaken after a minimum of 30 days.
- After second and subsequent attempts, 90 days must intervene between exams.

Alternative Fuels Technician

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$9.30 - \$15.80/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Department of Central Services

Committee of Alternative Fuels Technician Examiners (CAFTE) 2401 N. Lincoln #112 Oklahoma City, OK 73152 (405) 521-4687 Fax (405) 522-2230

Architect

JOB DESCRIPTION

An architect plans and designs public buildings such as churches, factories, and hospitals. Architects organize all services necessary for construction. They can be involved during every phase of construction with the design, engineering, managerial, and supervisory responsibilities. Architects can practice privately or work for builders, real estate developers, and other businesses that have large construction programs.

OES 22302

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- A bachelor's degree in architecture from an accredited program or the substitution of obtained educational credits and additional training completed by July 1, 1984. Foreign education evaluated by Board individually, as is pre-professional education.
- Areas of testing include history; pre-design; site design-written; site design-graphic; building design; structural technology-general and long-span; structural technology-lateral forces; mechanical, plumbing, and electrical systems; materials and methods; and construction documents and services.
- Three years of approved training under an architect and completion of the Intern Development Program. Some training credit may be earned by working under the direct supervision of an engineer, land surveyor, landscape architect or planner.

Continuing Education

• Twelve hours of health, safety and welfare per year and 24 every two years

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Good moral character
- 21 years of age
- Legal resident of Oklahoma (if applying for initial registration only)

Restrictions

- Fraud, deception, or misrepresentation in applying for a certificate of registration, certificate of authority, or in taking the examinations.
- Noncompliance with statutory, rule, and regulation requirements for qualifying for licensure
- Violating the State Architectural Act or any rule, regulation, or order issued by the Board
- Conviction of a felony
- Mentally impaired
- Gross incompetence
- For additional grounds for denial, revocation, suspension, refusal to renew, orders, injunctions, civil and/or criminal penalties, see the Oklahoma Administrative Code, Title 55, for the Board of Governors of the Licensed Architects and Landscape Architects of Oklahoma

License Duration

• Two years (expires June 30)

Architect

Licensing Fees

• Application Fee - \$100/reciprocal license

• License Fee - \$200 in odd years, \$100 in even years

• Renewal Fee - \$200

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Architect Registration Examination

Description

• Both written and practical

- Written examination areas include pre-design; site design-written; site design-graphic; building design; structural technology-general and long-span; structural technology-lateral forces; mechanical, plumbing, and electrical systems; materials and methods; and construction documents and services.
- Practical components for the site design-graphic and building design portions of the A.R.E. require
 the candidate to produce actual site and building plans in the allotted time, meeting the requirements
 of the proposed problem.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$980 plus \$75	Entire Exam-Year Round,	Pass/Fail Basis
Administrative Fee	By Computer	

Reexamination

- Unlimited reexaminations on failed portions of examination. Start over after six years if not completed.
- If a candidate fails to set for reexamination for six consecutive years, reapplication is necessary.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$17.02 - \$24.38/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Board of Governors of the Licensed Architects and Landscape Architects of Oklahoma 11212 N. May Avenue, #110 Oklahoma City, OK 73 120-6335 (405) 751-6512

Asbestos Abatement Contractor

JOB DESCRIPTION

An asbestos abatement contractor hires and supervises the activities of workers engaged in the removal, encapsulation, or enclosure of asbestos and asbestos-containing materials found in ceilings, walls, floors, and other structures. The contractor is also responsible for ensuring that equipment and workers meet safety standards. Asbestos abatement contractors operate from licensed asbestos abatement companies.

OES 81005

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Two 40-hour courses in asbestos abatement accredited by the EPA.
- Possible areas of study include physical characteristics of asbestos, health hazards of asbestos, employee personal protection equipment and clothing, medical monitoring procedures, and the work practices for asbestos abatement, such as site preparation, operational procedures, OSHA, NIOSH, EPA, and DOL standards and transport and transportation of asbestos.

Continuing Education

• Compliance with federal model accreditation plan

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Evidence of respiratory training and equipment operation
- Must be of good character
- The applicant shall designate a minimum of one, or a maximum of two, responsible parties to be named on the license. Such responsible parties shall have and maintain the training credentials required for licensing.

Restrictions

- No contractor may perform asbestos abatement after expiration of license.
- Conviction of a felony
- Notice of Violation (NOV) of NESHAP regulations
- Contractors whose license have expired for more than 30 days must meet all requirements for a new license.

License Duration

• One year - new applicants have 120-day waiting period

Licensing Fees

- License Fee Initial \$1,000 nonrefundable, additional \$500 at the time license is issued.
- Renewal Fee \$500

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

Asbestos Abatement Contractor Examination

Asbestos Abatement Contractor

Description

- Written
- Examination areas relate to areas of study.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
Included in	Not Available	70%
Course Fee		

Reexamination

- One reexamination offered after a one-week period.
- Reexamination must be taken within 30 days from original examination or refresher courses are required.
- Application is necessary. Offered as requested.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$12.87 - \$20.75/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Department of Labor

Asbestos Division 4001 N. Lincoln Blvd Oklahoma City, OK 73 105-5212 (405) 528-1500

Asbestos Abatement Supervisor

JOB DESCRIPTION

An asbestos abatement supervisor supervises and coordinates activities of workers engaged in removing asbestos from ceilings, walls, floors, and other structures. The supervisor is also responsible for reviewing job specifications, inspecting work sites, and conferring with contracting agents to evaluate removal projects. An asbestos abatement supervisor hires new workers and instructs workers in safety and removal procedures.

OES 81005

EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Asbestos Abatement Supervisor's course supplied by providers accredited by the EPA.
- Two-day course in confined space entry following the NIOSH curriculum in confined space entry.
- NIOSH 582 course in analysis of airborne asbestos dust or a two-day course in air-monitoring techniques

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- CPR training by The National Heart Association or the American Red Cross
- First aid training by approved provider
- Six-months experience as an asbestos abatement worker on job sites inspected by the Department of Labor

Restrictions

- Licenses are issued in the name of the applicant and shall be valid only when working for a licensed contractor.
- License card must be available on job site.

License Duration

One year (No grace period wherein a supervisor will be allowed to work with an expired license.)

Licensing Fees

License Fee - \$25Renewal Fee - \$25

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Asbestos Abatement Supervisor Training Examination

Description

• Examination relates to areas of study in course.

Asbestos Abatement Supervisor

Examination Fee

• Included in course fee

Reexamination

• Not available

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$12.87 - \$20.75/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Department of Labor

Asbestos Division 4001 N. Lincoln Blvd Oklahoma City, OK 73 105-5212 (405) 528-1500

Asbestos Abatement Worker

JOB DESCRIPTION

An asbestos abatement worker removes, encapsulates, or encloses asbestos and asbestos-containing material found in ceilings, walls, beams, boilers, and other structures. The worker follows hazardous waste handling guidelines while preparing the work area and surrounding the facility for abatement. The worker also operates and positions the asbestos removal equipment. A licensed asbestos abatement contractor employs an asbestos abatement worker.

OES 87899

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- 32-hour course in asbestos abatement at an accredited program with 16 hours related to hands-on, simulated work experience
- Possible areas of study include physical characteristics of asbestos, health hazards of asbestos, employee personal protection equipment and clothing, medical monitoring procedures, and the work practices for asbestos abatement, such as site preparation; operational procedures; OSHA, NIOSH, EPA, and DOL standards; and transport and transportation of asbestos.

Continuing Education

- Eight hours annually
- Refresher courses must be accredited and related to asbestos abatement.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Evidence of respiratory training and equipment operation

Restrictions

- Any worker who has not taken the required refresher-training course within two years of previous training or refresher course must repeat all training requirements.
- License valid only when working for a licensed contractor.
- License cards must be available on job site.

License Duration

• One year (No grace period wherein a supervisor will be allowed to work with an expired license.)

Licensing Fees

License Fee - \$25Renewal Fee - \$25

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Asbestos Abatement Worker Examination

Asbestos Abatement Worker

Description

- Written.
- Examination areas relate to areas of study.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
Included in Course Fee	Not available	70%

Reexamination

- One reexamination offered after a one-week period.
- Reexamination must be taken within 30 days from original examination or the complete 32 hours of course work must be retaken.
- Offered as requested.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$7.60 - \$12.63/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Department of Labor

Asbestos Division 4001 N. Lincoln Blvd Oklahoma, OK 73 105-5212 (405) 528-1500

Athletic Trainer

JOB DESCRIPTION

An athletic trainer is a professionally trained medical technician who works in conjunction with and under the supervision of a licensed physician to prevent and care for injuries usually associated with competitive athletics. The trainer administers immediate first aid to injured athletes, conducts conditioning programs, and carries out treatment and rehabilitation procedures prescribed by a physician. Universities, colleges, high schools, or professional athletic teams largely employ athletic trainers.

OES 34058

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Successfully completed the athletic training curriculum requirements of an accredited college or university approved by the State Board of Medical Licensing and Supervision, or
- Hold a four-year degree from an accredited college or university and have completed at least two
 consecutive years as an apprentice athletic trainer directly supervised by a licensed athletic trainer
 military duty accepted, or
- Be licensed or certified in physical therapy, having spent at least 800 hours working under the direct supervision of a licensed athletic trainer.

Continuing Education

Not Applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Three recommendations are required. Two must be from certified athletic trainers who can attest to the applicant's practical competence; the third must be from an associate who can affirm the applicant's moral and ethical attributes.
- A health certificate certified by a physician is required.

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• Expires annually on August 31

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$125
- Renewal Fee \$45

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• National Athletic Trainers Association (NATA) Certifying Exam

Athletic Trainer

Description

• The written exam consists of 150 questions covering the following six content areas: (1) prevention, (2) recognition and evaluation, (3) management/treatment and disposition, (4) rehabilitation, (5) organization and administration, and (6) education and counseling.

Reexamination

• Upon failure to pass any part of the exam, an applicant may retake that part of the exam until such time that a passing score is obtained.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Average Annual Salary \$26,874.00

LICENSING AGENCY

State Board of Medical Licensing and Supervision P.O. Box 18256 Oklahoma City, OK 73154 (405) 848-6841

Athletic Trainer, Apprentice

JOB DESCRIPTION

An apprentice athletic trainer assists in the duties performed by an athletic trainer under the direct supervision of a licensed athletic trainer.

OES 34058

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is preferred.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

Not applicable

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• Expires annually on August 31

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$25
- Renewal Fee \$10

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Average Annual Salary \$26,874.00

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensing and Supervision P.O. box 18256 Oklahoma City, OK 73154 (405) 848-6841

Attorney (Lawyer)

JOB DESCRIPTION

An attorney, or lawyer, counsels people on their legal rights and obligations and suggests particular courses of action in business or personal matters. The attorney may represent one of the opposing parties in criminal and civil trials by presenting arguments that support the client in a court of law. Although most lawyers deal with many different areas of the law, a significant number concentrate on a branch of law, such as probate, admiralty, or international law. Lawyers can practice privately or in a partnership with another attorney. Lawyers also find employment as law school professors, judges, or administrators in a variety of occupations.

OES 28108

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Juris Doctor degree from an ABA-accredited law school.
- Possible areas of study include fundamental courses such as constitutional law, contracts, property law, legal ethics, judicial procedures, and legal writing. Additional course work is based upon area of specialization.

Continuing Education

- Twelve hours of approved continuing legal education is required annually.
- One hour of the continuing education hours must cover the area of professional responsibility or legal ethics or legal malpractice prevention.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Good moral character
- 18 years of age
- Due respect for the law
- Fitness to practice law
- Oath of office

Restrictions

Individual Board review for Board violations

License Duration

Lifetime

Licensing Fees

Annual dues for OBA - \$175

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

Oklahoma Bar Examination

Description

- Written.
- Possible examination areas include code of professional responsibility, commercial law, property, procedural law, criminal law, business associations, constitutional and administrative law, torts, interstate succession, wills, conflicts of law, and family law.

Attorney (Lawyer)

Exan	nina	tior	1 Fee

\$250

Date

Last Wednesday of February and the day following; Last Wednesday of July and the day following

Passing Criteria

2,400 points (a scaled score of 135 on the Multi-state Bar Exam equals 1,200 points, 75% on the essay questions equals 1,200 points)

Reexamination

Reexamination registration is required two months prior to date of exam.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$16.88 - \$45.70/hourr

LICENSING AGENCY

Board of Bar Examiners of the State of Oklahoma

1901 North Lincoln P.O. Box 53036 Oklahoma City, OK 73152 (405) 416-7075 1-800-522-8065 (In-state WATS)

Audiologist

JOB DESCRIPTION

An audiologist examines and evaluates persons who have or are suspected of having a hearing disorder. Audiologists are also concerned with the prevention of hearing impairment and the conservation of hearing in children and adults. They assess the type and degree of hearing impairment and add those findings to educational, medical, behavioral, and other diagnostic data to establish a program of auditory training, speech reading, or counseling for the individual. Educational institutions; speech, language, and hearing centers; and health care institutions largely employ audiologists.

GES 32314

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Master's degree with an emphasis in speech pathology or audiology.
- Submit evidence of the completion of 60 semester hours of academic credit (constituting a well-integrated program in this field of study) from one or more accredited colleges or universities.
- Submit evidence of the completion of 275 clock hours of directly supervised clinical practice with cases representative of a wide spectrum of ages and communication disorders; the experience must be obtained within the accredited academic institution or in one of its cooperating programs.
- Submit evidence of no less than nine months of full-time paid clinical experience in the area for which a license is requested, obtained under the supervision of one or more licensed speech pathologists or audiologists. "Full-time" is defined as at least 30 hours per week; the nine months of full-time paid experience must be obtained within a period of 24 consecutive months. This requirement may also be fulfilled by 18 months of half time paid experience of at least 15 hours per week, which must be completed within a period of 36 consecutive months.
- Internship is required for Oklahoma licensure unless national certification is obtained prior to application for license.

Continuing Education

• Twenty clock hours per two-year interval.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Passing score National Examination for Speech-Language Pathologist & Audiology (ETS)
- Successful completion of supervised clinical experience year
- Minimum of three references from licensed audiologists/speech-lang. pathologists

Restrictions

None

License Duration

One year

Licensing Fees

License Fee - \$60

Audiologist

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

National Examination for Speed-Language Pathology & Audiology (ETS)

Description

- 150 multiple-choice examination 2 hour time limit.
- Possible examination areas include physiology, anatomy, and testing; industrial audiology; calibrations and measurement; hearing aid and amplification testing and fitting; and aural rehabilitation.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$45	March, July, and November	600

Reexamination

• Upon payment of examination fee.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median range - \$13.80 - \$22.28/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

State Board of Examination for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

P.O. Box 53592 Oklahoma City, OK 73152 (405) 840-2774

Bail Bondsman

JOB DESCRIPTION

A bail bondsman investigates an arrested person to determine bondability based upon character and financial status. If approved for bond, the bondsman furnishes bond for fee upon determining the intention of the accused to appear in court. The bondsman posts and signs appearance bond with court clerk to obtain release of client and pays the court the face amount of the bond in the event of a forfeiture. A surety bondsman must be appointed by either an insurance company approved to write bail in the state of Oklahoma or a professional bondsman.

OES 63035

EDUCATIONAL REOUTREMENTS

Educational Level

- Sixteen hours of pre-license education sponsored by the Oklahoma Bondsman Association.
- Possible areas of study include subjects pertinent to duties, responsibilities, and bail law.

Continuing Education

- Eight hours annually
- The Oklahoma Bondsman Association provides continuing education requirements.

ADDITIONAL REOUTREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Citizen of United States
- 21 years of age
- One year state residence required
- High school diploma or its equivalent

Restrictions

• Not previously convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere (no contest) to any felony, or to a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude or dishonesty.

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$450 (includes application, investigation, and examination fee)
- Renewal Fee \$100

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

Bail Bond License Examination

Bail Bondsman

Description

- Both written and practical
- Possible examination areas include procedures, duties, responsibilities, and bail bond law.
- Possible areas of emphasis for the practical application exam include definitions, open and ongoing investigative files, licensing required, expiration date, contents of application fee, cash bondsman, examination fees, renewal licenses, violations and penalties, notice of violation, appeals, monthly reports, persons prohibited as bondsmen, signing of bonds, insurers to list bondsmen-appointments, discontinuance of writing bonds-notice, registration of license, affidavit of undertaking, property bonds, procedures for surrender of defendants, procedures for forfeitures, enforcement of liability, bail on personal recognizance, penalty for incurring forfeiture to comply with personal recognizance penalties for violations, bail bondsmen's fund, use of telephone, access to jails, and persons excluded.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$100	As scheduled.	70%
	Applications are	
	valid for six months	
	after submission.	

Reexamination

• Three months must intervene between examinations. After third and subsequent examination failures, applicant may not apply and be examined for at least one year after the last examination failure.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$7.27 - \$8.35/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

State of Oklahoma Insurance Department

Bailbond Division 3814 North Santa Fe Oklahoma City, OK 73152-3408 (405) 521-6610

Barber

JOB DESCRIPTION

A barber, barber instructor, graduate apprentice barber, or an apprentice barber cuts, shampoos, or styles hair according to customer instructions. Barbers may also provide hair and scalp treatments, shaves, and facial massages. Barbers are responsible for maintaining their hair styling equipment and work area, and often for selling cosmetic products. Most barbers work in barbershops and beauty salons, but some find employment in department stores, hotels, and hospitals.

OES 68002

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Graduate of a nine-month barber college or completion of 18 months (3,000 clock hours) as a barber apprentice.
- Possible areas of study include chemistry of hair, sanitation of equipment, hair cutting, scalp care, shampooing, tinting, dyeing, bleaches, and permanent waves.

Continuing Education

None

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 16 years of age
- Reading ability
- Good moral character
- Must demonstrate competence in cutting, dyeing, and shampooing hair as well as giving permanents and facials.

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• One year (expires June 30 each year)

Licensing Fees

•	License Fee -	\$25
•	Renewal Fee -	\$25
•	Instructor License Fee -	\$50
•	Instructor Renewal Fee -	\$50
•	Barber College Renewal Fee -	\$200
•	Barber Apprentice Fee -	\$10
•	Graduate Apprentice Fee -	\$10

Barber

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

- Barber's License Examination
- Instructor's License Examination

Description

- Both written and practical
- Written examination on curriculum in the format of 100 multiple-choice questions.
- Possible practical examination areas include giving a tapered haircut to a male model and a layered haircut to a female model.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
Barber - \$35	Barber - Every Other	Barber - 70% on
	Month (6 times a year)	Each Part (3 part exam)
Instructor - \$50	Instructor - Every Other	Instructor - 70%
	Month (6 times a year)	Written Exam Only

Reexamination

- 60-day intervention between examination attempts
- Unlimited number of reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$5.80 - \$8.41/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Department of Health

Occupational Licensing Division .0509 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-5217

Blaster, Surface

JOB DESCRIPTION

A surface blaster determines the type and amount of explosives required to separate or fracture stone or minerals from solid formations. The blaster is in charge of or responsible for all phases of explosives used, materials, and blasting agents. This may include storage, transportation, and charging of blast holes. A surface blaster is employed in the mining industry and normally works at rock quarries, coal mines, or at the location of other mineral deposits.

OES 87905

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Completion of a weeklong course at the Mining Institute
- Possible areas of study relate to Oklahoma State Mining rules and regulations.

Continuing Education

• An eight-hour refresher course is required every two years.

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 21 years of age
- One year of experience under a certified blaster

Restrictions

• Conviction of a felony

Certificate Duration

Two years

Certification Fees

• Certification Fee - \$10

EXAMINATION REOUTREMENTS

Examination Title

Surface Blasting Certification Exam

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas relate to the Oklahoma State Mining Requirements Title 30 CFR.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
Included in Certification Fee	Monthly	76%

Blaster, Surface

Reexamination

• Unlimited reexaminations.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Average Annual Salary - \$20,030.00

LICENSING AGENCY

State Mining Commission 4040 North Lincoln, Suite 107 Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 521-3859

Broker-Dealer Agent

JOB DESCRIPTION

A broker-dealer agent is a securities sales representative who buys and sells securities for investors. In addition, a broker's responsibilities may include offering financial counseling and educating clients in trading practices. Brokers may serve a variety of clients such as private investors or institutional investors. A broker working with institutional investors may choose to specialize in a specific financial product such as stocks, bonds, options, annuities, or commodity futures. Broker agents are employed by broker-dealers and normally operate from brokerage firms.

QES 43014

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include the Uniform State Securities Law and general securities knowledge.

Continuing Education

As required by the National Association of Securities Dealers

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Not applicable

Restrictions

- Conviction of a felony
- Violation of securities laws

License Duration

• One year expires annually on December 31

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$50
- Renewal Fee \$50

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examinations

• Request examination packets from the Oklahoma Department of Securities.

Description

- Written.
- Possible examination areas include the Uniform State Securities Law and general securities knowledge.

Broker-Dealer Agent

Examination FeeAvailable in
Examination Packet

Date Not Available Passing Criteria 70% on Each Exam Taken

Reexamination

• Candidates who fail exams, make less than 70%, may retake exam after a given waiting period.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$14.92 - \$39.64/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Department of Securities Licensing Division First National Center, Suite 860 Oklahoma City, OK 73102 (405) 280-7700

Broker-Dealer Principal

JOB DESCRIPTION

A broker-dealer principal is an individual who owns, manages, or operates a broker-dealership. The broker-dealer is a business entity established to market securities to the public, to institutions, and to other broker-dealers. The firm offers to sell or buy stock, notes, bonds, debentures, investment contracts, participation in profit-sharing agreements, or any other interests or instruments commonly known as securities. Both the broker-dealer and one of its principals must be registered.

OES 19005

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.

Continuing Education

• As required by National Association of Securities Dealers, Inc.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Not applicable

Restrictions

- Conviction of a felony
- Violation of securities laws

License Duration

• One year expires annually on December 31

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$50
- Renewal Fee \$50

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examinations

• Request examination packet from the Oklahoma Department of Securities.

Description

• Written.

Examination FeeDatePassing CriteriaAvailable inNot Available70% on EachExamination PacketExam Taken

Broker-Dealer Principal

Reexamination

• Candidates who fail exams, make less than 70%, may retake exam after a given waiting period.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$14.12 - \$35.04/houur

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Department of Securities Licensing Division First National Center, Suite 860

First National Center, Suite 860 Oklahoma City, OK 73102 (405) 280-7700

Building Inspector

JOB DESCRIPTION

A building inspector inspects new and existing residential, commercial, or industrial buildings to determine compliance of building plans, building specifications and standards, and zoning laws. Building inspectors are consulted during and after construction to inspect various construction components such as footings, framing, building materials, and the structural and environmental appropriateness of the site and structure. Building inspectors are employed largely by local and state governments or in the private construction industry.

OES 21908

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include understanding of Model Building Codes.

Continuing Education

- Five hours of continuing education per year
- Continuing education includes state-approved courses in the building trade.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Building inspectors employed by cities with populations greater than 10,000 must obtain a state license.

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• One year (expires June 30 each year)

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$25
- Renewal Fee \$25 plus \$5 late charge after July 30

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• There is no state exam. The applicant must submit certification by a National Code organization such as the Building Officials and Code Administration (BOCA), which requires the Building Officials and Code Administration Examination.

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include calculations and construction requirements found in Model Building Codes.

Building Inspector

Examination Fee \$75-\$105

Varies by Organization

Date Monday - Friday Passing Criteria 75%

Reexamination

• Reexaminations may be taken each time the exam is offered.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$10.55 - \$15.43/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

State Department of Health

Occupational Licensing Division - 0509 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73 117-1299 (405) 271-5217

Burglar Alarm Service and Installation Company Manager

JOB DESCRIPTION

A burglar alarm service and installation company manager directs the design and application of burglar alarm system sales, service, repair, or installation. Although management skills vary according to the industry, many managers are responsible for employee relations, record keeping, and office/industry operations. Licensed burglar alarm companies employ burglar alarm service and installation managers.

OES 81002

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include design, operation, installation, and service of components and burglar alarm systems.

Continuing Education

• Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 21 years of age
- 4 years or 8,000 hours experience in alarm industry
- Security verification clearance

Restrictions

• Conviction of a felony

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$50
- Renewal Fee -\$50

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Burglar Alarm Manager Examination

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include the technical aspect of design, operation, installation, and service of components as well as complete systems in the burglar alarm industry.

Burglar Alarm Service and Installation Company Manager

Examination Fee\$50

Monthly, if necessary

70%

Reexamination

- \$25 for each reexamination. After first attempt, the exam may be retaken after a minimum of 30 days. After second and subsequent attempts, there is a 90-day waiting period between exams.
- Unlimited reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$13.26 - \$23.53/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Occupational Licensing Division 0509

Oklahoma State Department of Health 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-5217

Burglar Alarm Service and Installation Company Salesman

JOB DESCRIPTION

A burglar alarm service and installation company salesman presents information to consumers regarding burglar alarm products and services. The salesman explains the cost, operation, and customer responsibilities for burglar alarm equipment and services. A licensed burglar alarm company employs a burglar alarm service and installation company salesman.

OES 43017

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include components and application of burglar alarm systems and services.

Continuing Education

Not Applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Security verification clearance

Restrictions

• Conviction of a felony

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$25
- Renewal Fee \$25

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

- Burglar Alarm Service and Installation Company
- Salesman Examination

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include components and application of complete burglar alarm systems and services.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
Free - first attempt	Monthly, if necessary	70%

Burglar Alarm Service and Installation Company Salesman

Reexamination

- \$25
- After first attempt, the exam may be retaken after a minimum of 30 days. After second and subsequent attempts, there is a 90-day waiting period between exams.
- Unlimited reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$9.75 - \$19.68/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Department of Health

Occupational Licensing Division - 0509 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-5217

Burglar Alarm Service and Installation Company Technician

JOB DESCRIPTION

A burglar alarm service and installation company technician installs, repairs, and services burglar alarm systems. The technician works under the direction of the employer while using hand and power tools for proper service completion. A licensed burglar alarm company employs a burglar alarm service and installation company technician.

OES 87202

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include the technical aspects of operations, installation, and service of components as well as complete systems of all sources in the burglar alarm systems.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Verified experience in burglar alarm industry.
- Security verification clearance

Restrictions

• Conviction of a felony

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$25
- Renewal Fee \$25

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Burglar Alarm Service and Installation Company Technician Examination

Description

- Written.
- Possible examination areas include the technical aspects of operation, installation, and service of components as well as complete systems of all sources in the burglar alarm industry.

Examination Fee DateFree - First Attempt

Monthly, if necessary

70%

Burglar Alarm Service and Installation Company Technician

Reexamination

- \$25 for each reexamination
- After first attempt, the exam may be retaken after a minimum of 30 days. After second and subsequent attempts, there is a 90-day waiting period between exams.
- Unlimited reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$11.59 - \$18.46/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Department of Health

Occupational Licensing Division .0509 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-5217

Chiropractor

JOB DESCRIPTION

A chiropractic physician examines patients to determine the nature and extent of disorders, using X-ray machines, electrocardiographs, otoscopes, proctoscopes, or other instruments. A chiropractic physician treats patients using a holistic view that encourages the use of natural, non-drug and nonsurgical health treatments. Depending on the diagnosis, a chiropractor often treats patients through manual manipulation; exercises; water, light, and heat therapy; and the use of vitamins/minerals and food supplements.

OES 32113

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Completion of 60 pre-chiropractic college hours
- Doctor of Chiropractic degree (four years of nine months each).
- Areas of study relate to basic and advanced medicine and chiropractics

Continuing Education

- Twelve hours per year for in-state doctors. Out-of-state doctors must meet the requirements of the state they practice in for license renewal.
- Continuing education must be board approved for in-state doctors.
- Doctors must attend seminars in the state of Oklahoma as presented by the Oklahoma State Chiropractic Association, Joint Chiropractic Association and approved by the Board.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

Not applicable

Restrictions

- Conviction of a felony
- Failure to comply with chiropractic laws in another state resulting in revocation of that license

License Duration

• Annual renewal due by December 31 of each year

License Fees

• Application Fee - \$150

• Renewal Fee - \$125 for in-state practicing doctors

\$125 for out-of-state doctors \$50 for in state retired doctors

EXAMINATION REOUTREMENTS

Examination Title

- The Oklahoma State Board of Chiropractic Examiners requires the successful completion of the National Board exams, which include part I, II, and physical therapy prior to licensure.
- The Oklahoma State Board Chiropractic Examination includes a written, practical, X-ray, and oral exam in addition to the National exams.

Chiropractor

Description

- Both written and practical
- Possible written examination areas include chiropractic principles, anatomy, histology, physiology, symptomatology, orthopedic, chemistry, spinography, diagnosis, sanitation and hygiene, pathology, public health service and adjustology, X-ray practical, diagnostic laboratory procedures, physiological therapeutics, and subjects taught by the chiropractic colleges approved by the Council on Chiropractic Education.
- Possible practical examination areas including X-ray practical, a clinical competency practical that includes a physical exam, and an oral practical.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$150 - Application	Second or third	60%, with a 75%
\$150 - Examination	Weekend in	general average
	January and July	on each portion

Reexamination

- Reexamination is offered three consecutive times, after which the applicant must return to Chiropractic College to strengthen weak points of examination.
- Application must be updated before each exam.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$16.69 - \$23.41/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Chiropractic Examiners

310 Northeast 28th Street, #205 Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 528-5505

Cosmetologist

JOB DESCRIPTION

A cosmetologist/hairdresser/hairstylist shampoos, cuts, and styles hair. The cosmetologist also analyzes the condition of the hair and advises patrons on proper hair care. Some cosmetologists give manicures and scalp and facial treatments, provide makeup analysis for women, and clean and style wigs and hairpieces. The employer assigns additional responsibilities such as client scheduling. Most cosmetologists work in beauty salons, barbershops, department stores, and for products companies.

OES 68005

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Eighth-grade education or equivalent
- 1,500 hours of training in an approved beauty school or an apprenticeship of 3,000 hours
- Possible areas of study include theory and practical training in hairstyling (cutting), finger waving, thermal, perms, and chemical hair relaxing: manicuring and pedicuring; scalp treatments; skin care, makeup; personality; shop management; beard grooming; and Oklahoma cosmetology law and board rules and regulations.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 16 years of age to enroll in cosmetology course
- 17 years of age or a high school graduate for license
- Mentally competent with the ability to profit from instruction

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$15
- Renewal Fee \$15

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• National Cosmetology Test (administered by the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology)

Cosmetologist

Description

- Both written and practical
- Possible written examination areas include scientific concepts, chemical services, physical services, and hair design (includes hair chemistry and electrical treatment information as applicable to listed categories).
- Possible practical examination areas include haircutting procedures, scalp massage, manicuring, basic set and comb-out, hair coloring treatment, finger waving, facial cleansing and massage, and permanent waving.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$15 Monday-Thursday,	75% on both the	
First Three Weeks written and practical exam		
	of the Month	

Reexamination

- Registration is required at least 30 days prior to reexamination.
- After second failure, work permit is not issued; after four failures, review hours are required before reregistering.
- If reregistered within six months of initial examination, only reexamination of the failed portion of exam is necessary.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$5.88 - \$8.53/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology

2200 Classen Boulevard, Suite 1530 Oklahoma City, OK 73106 (405) 521-2441

Cosmetology Instructor

JOB DESCRIPTION

A cosmetology instructor conducts educational programs to introduce the fundamentals of cosmetology. These include cutting, styling, and coloring hair as well as skin and nail care practices. Cosmetology instructors are responsible for planning and presenting lessons, student evaluation, and monitoring students' practical experience with clients. Cosmetology instructors can also practice cosmetology in licensed salons. Private schools, vocational schools, and some public schools also employ cosmetology instructors.

OES 31314

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- High school graduate.
- 1,000 hours of instructor courses at a licensed school of cosmetology plus 1,500 hours training in basic cosmetology courses.
- Possible areas of study include cosmetology training curricula; introduction to teaching; course
 outlining and development; lesson planning; teaching techniques; aids and developing, administering
 and scoring of examinations; cosmetology law, board rules and regulations; and practice teaching in
 both theory and practical practices.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- L7 years of age
- Hold a current cosmetologist license at time of application

Restrictions

None

License Duration

One year

License Fees

- License Fee \$20
- Renewal Fee \$20

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• National Cosmetology Teachers Test (administered by the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology)

Cosmetology Instructor

Description

- Both written and practical
- Possible written examination areas include the professional teacher; student motivation and learning; methods, management, and materials; and testing and evaluation (includes classroom management and appropriate teaching materials).
- Possible practical examination areas include a presentation of a class (on a subject randomly selected), preparation of a lesson outline, completion of a board-approved attendance record (using information given in a specific problem), and a question-and-answer session.

Examination Fee Date Passing Criteria

\$15 Monday-Thursday; 85% on Written Exam

First Three Weeks

Of the Month

Reexamination

- Registration is required at least 30 days prior to reexamination.
- If reregistered within six months of initial examination, only reexamination of the failed portion of exam is necessary.
- After second failure, work permit is not issued upon registration (as with first two registrations); after four failures, review hours are required before reregistering.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$13.86 - \$19.46/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology 2200 Classen Boulevard, Suite 1530 Oklahoma City, OK 73106 (405) 521-2441

Counselor, Licensed Professional

JOB DESCRIPTION

Professional counselors assist individuals or groups through a counseling relationship to develop an understanding of personal problems, define goals, and plan actions based upon interests, abilities, aptitudes, and needs of the clients. Counseling is often related to personal or social concerns, educational progress, and occupation or career choices. Licensed professional counselors also may consult with individuals, groups, or organizations, make referrals to other specialists, and conduct research. Depending on their area of expertise, professional counselors may be employed in a variety of areas such as school or college counseling, career counseling, rehabilitation, or mental health counseling.

OES 31514

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Minimum of a master's degree in a counseling-related field
- Areas of study include human growth and development, abnormal human behavior, appraisal/assessment techniques, counseling theories, counseling techniques, and research.
- Internship consisting of 300 clock hours under university supervision in a counseling setting

Continuing Education

- 20 clock hours for each 12 months preceding renewal
- Continuing education must relate to academic areas of human growth and development, abnormal
 human behavior, appraisal/assessment techniques, counseling theories, counseling techniques, and
 research. Continuing education must be targeted toward a professional audience and must be
 presented by a licensed or certified presenter.

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 21 years of age
- Good moral character
- Work experience includes three years or 3,000 clock hours in a counseling setting under the supervision of a licensed professional counselor.

Restrictions

• Each complaint evaluated individually by LPC Advisory Board

License Duration

• The first licensing period lasts for two years; licenses must be renewed annually thereafter.

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$145
- License Fee \$90
- Renewal Fee \$80

Counselor, Licensed Professional

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• National Counselor Examination

Description

• Written national exam

Written Oklahoma exam covering Oklahoma Law and Regulations

Examination Fee Date

\$90 March and September average of all tests

of Every Year taken each year.

Reexamination

- Six-month interval after first examination attempt.
- After second examination attempt, applicant must wait two years before reapplying to take exam.

Passing Criteria

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$12.07 - \$17.89/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Licensed Professional Counselors

1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-6030

Customer Service Representative

JOB DESCRIPTION

A customer service representative sells insurance policies inside the office setting for the line/lines of the operating agent. The customer service representative's operation is restricted to the facility of the agent.

OES 43002

EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

Education Level

- No specific requirements
- General knowledge of such areas of the insurance occupation as life, accident and health, property/casualty, fratemal, and titles insurance is beneficial.

Continuing Education

• 12 hours biennially including two hours on ethics and if licensed for 1 & 2 has to have 1 hour of health care reform.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• 18 years of age

Restrictions

- Conviction, plea of guilty, or nob contendere (no contest) to a felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude
- Appointed by the sponsoring insurance agent.
- Restricted to working in the office of the sponsoring agent only.
- Cannot receive commissions.

Licensing Duration

• Two years

Licensing Fees

- \$40 for license, \$50 for exam, and \$40 for a property/casualty and an additional \$40 for VA.
- Renewal Fee \$40 or \$80 if it has VA.

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Insurance Agents Exam

Description

Computerized

Customer Service Representative

Examination Fee So Date Passing Criteria Monday – Thursday (Oklahoma City) 70%

Reexamination

• \$50 – if taken within 30 days

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$8.66 - \$18.31/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

State of Oklahoma Insurance Commission 3814 N. Santa Fe P.O. Box 53408 Oklahoma City, OK 73 152-3408 (405) 521-3916

Dental Hygienist

JOB DESCRIPTION

Dental hygienists work under the direct supervision of a dentist to provide direct patient care. Dental hygienists remove deposits and stains from patients' teeth, expose and develop dental X-ray film, and perform various other preventatives and therapeutic services. They also help people develop and maintain good oral health by instructing individuals and groups in proper oral hygiene. Most dental hygienists work in private dental offices. Other places of employment include public health agencies, school systems, business firms, hospitals or clinics, and schools of dental hygiene.

OES 32908

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- A certificate of dental hygiene from a school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association.
- Possible areas of study include general and dental anatomy, histology, pathology, radiology, chemistry, and nutrition.

Continuing Education

• 30 hours over a three-year period

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Must have passed a theoretical exam such as the National Boards.
- A clinical examination substantially equivalent to requirements outlined by Oklahoma.

Restrictions

- Convicted of a crime involving turpitude.
- Guilty of dishonorable or unprofessional conduct
- Menace to the public health by reason of a communicable disease or by reason of unsanitary offices, practices, or techniques.
- Convicted of violating or has willfully violated the federal or state narcotic or barbiturate laws or has been committed for treatment for drug addiction to an institution
- For additional restrictions, see State Dental Act.

Certificate Duration

One year

Certification Fees

- Application Fee \$100
- Renewal Fee \$65

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

Western Regional Examination Board

Dental Hygienist

Description

- Both written and clinical
- Possible written examination areas include general and dental anatomy, histology, pathology, radiology, chemistry, and nutrition.
- Possible practical examination areas include radiographs, periodontal probing, clinical observations, charting, and anesthesia.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$550	June 13 – 15	70% on Written and Clinical Exam

Reexamination

• Not available

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$17.94 - \$25.17/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Board of Dentistry

6501 N. Broadway, #220 Oklahoma City, OK 73116 (405) 848-1364 Fax (405) 848-3279

Dentist

JOB DESCRIPTION

A dentist examines teeth and tissues of the mouth to diagnose and treat diseases or abnormalities. Dentists take X-rays, place protective plastic shields on children's teeth, fill cavities, straighten or repair teeth, treat gum disease, and perform corrective surgery of the gums and supporting bones. Dentists may be general practitioners, or they may specialize in one of the areas recognized by the American Dental Association such as pediatrics, dentistry, orthodontics (straightening teeth), and prosthodontics (making artificial teeth or dentures). The majority of dentists operate a private or group practice, but some are employed at schools of dentistry.

OES 32105

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Applicant must be a graduate with a D.D.S. or D.M.D. degree from a school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association.
- Curriculum varies depending on the area of specialization.

Continuing Education

- 60 hours over a three-year period
- Continuing education relates to patient care

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Must have passed a theoretical exam such as the National Boards.

Restrictions

- Convicted of a crime involving turpitude.
- Guilty of dishonorable or unprofessional conduct
- Menace to the public health by reason of a communicable disease or by reason of unsanitary offices, practices, or techniques.
- Convicted of violating or has willfully violated the federal or state narcotic or barbiturate laws or has been committed for treatment for drug addiction to an institution.
- For additional restrictions, see State Dental Act.

License Duration

One year

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$200
- Renewal Fee \$100

Dentist

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

Western Regional Examining Board

Description

- Both written and practical
- Possible examination areas include amalgam, cast gold, periodontics, endodontics, and prosthetics.
- Possible practical examination includes performance of clinical operative procedures.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$775	June 12-15	70% Consensus Scoring

Reexamination

Reexaminations are not offered

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$32.06 - \$60 and over/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Board of Dentistry

6501 N. Broadway, #220 Oklahoma City, OK 73116 (405) 848-1364 Fax (405) 848-3279

Dietitian, Licensed

JOB DESCRIPTION

A dietitian provides nutritional care to individuals and groups by applying the principles of good nutrition to food preparation and selection. A dietitian assesses individual nutritional needs, develops nutritional programs, and evaluates the client's response to the program. Many community dietitians promote sound nutritional practices by conducting educational programs that focus on disease prevention and good health. Dietitians may direct the food service operations of hotels, hospitals, nursing homes, and institutions such as schools, prisons, and hospitals.

OES 32521

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Baccalaureate degree
- Area of specialization must include a minimum of 24 semester hours from the fields of human
 nutrition, food and nutrition, dietetics, or food management, or an equivalent course of study defined
 as a minimum of 30 semester hours specifically designated to train a person to apply and integrate
 scientific principles of human nutrition under different health, social, cultural, physical,
 psychological, and economic conditions to the proper nourishment, care, and education of individuals
 or groups through the life cycle.
- Internship normally lasts 9 to 22 months and is combined with clinical experience under the supervision of a qualified dietitian with some classroom work. Must be accredited by ADA.

Continuing Education

• A total of 75 hours must be completed within five years-preferably 15 hours annually.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Three recommendations are required. Two must be from licensed dietitians who can attest to the applicant's practice competence. The third may be from an associate who can affirm the applicant's moral and ethical attributes, or if the applicant has been employed as a dietitian previously, one must be from the applicant's last employer.

Restrictions

None

License Duration

Expires annually on October 31

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$100
- Renewal Fee \$75

Dietitian, Licensed

EXAMINATION REOUTREMENTS

Examination Title

• Registration Examination for Dietitians

Description

- Written
- Nutrition Services-40 percent (96 items); Food Service Systems-26 percent (62 items); Management-18 percent (43 items); Education and Communication-9 percent (22 items); and Evaluation and Standards-7 percent (17 items).

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$75	Twice a year in	Scaled score -
	April and October	Ranging from 25 to 50

Reexamination

• Unlimited reexaminations up to five years. Recent of education is required after five years.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$6.54 - \$16.48/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensing and Supervision P.O. Box 18256 Oklahoma City, OK 73154 (405) 848-6841

Dietitian, Licensed

JOB DESCRIPTION

A provisional licensed dietitian is responsible for the development, management, and provision of nutritional services under the direct, personal supervision of a licensed dietitian.

OES 32521

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

 Baccalaureate or post-baccalaureate degree with a major course of study in human nutrition, food and nutrition, dietetics, or food systems management

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

 Completion of an internship or preplanned professional experience program approved by the committee

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• Expires annually on October 31. (May only renew twice)

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$20
- Renewal Fee \$75

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Not applicable

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$6.54 - \$16.48/hour

Licensing Agency

Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensing and Supervision P.O.Box 18256 Oklahoma City, OK 73154 (405) 848-6841

Driver Education Instructor (Private, Parochial, and Non-Public High School)

JOB DESCRIPTION

A private, parochial, and non-public high school driver education instructor conducts classes and gives demonstrations on the operation of automobiles to students learning to drive or preparing to take an examination for a driver's license. An instructor prepares and assigns lessons, evaluates students' progress, and accompanies students while practicing skills.

OES 31317

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Valid Oklahoma secondary, elementary-secondary, library media specialist, speech-language pathology, or vocational-technical license/certificate
- Credential in driver and traffic safety education

Continuing Education

• As required to maintain necessary certificates

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Possess a valid Oklahoma driver's license
- At least 21 years of age
- Good moral character
- Driving record must meet approval of the Department of Public Safety.

Restrictions

• Conviction of a felony

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

None

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Driver License Examination

Description

- Written, skill, and visual.
- Written areas relate to motor vehicle traffic laws, road signs, and safe driving practices. Skills test is a standard road test to demonstrate expertise of motor vehicle operation.
- Standard vision test.

Driver Education Instructor (Private, Parochial, and Non-Public High School)

Examination Fee

Date

Passing Criteria 80%

No Fee

Appointment scheduled upon Receipt of application.

Reexamination

• After third failure, a three-month waiting period is required.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$6.86 - \$11.78/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Department of Public Safety - Troop N 3600 North Martin Luther King Avenue P.O. Box 11415 Oklahoma City, OK 73136 (405) 521-6223

Driver Training Commercial School Instructor

JOB DESCRIPTION

Conducts classes and gives demonstrations on the operation of automobiles to students learning to drive or preparing to take an examination for a driver's license. An instructor prepares and assigns lessons, evaluates students' progress, and accompanies students while practicing skills.

OES 31317

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- High school diploma.
- Minimum of six semester hours of Driver Education I and Driver Education II, and a minimum of three semester hours of General Safety Education at an accredited college or university, or an equivalent course approved by the Department of Public Safety and offered by a nationally recognized commercial driver instructor.

Continuing Education

Not required

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Valid Oklahoma driver's license
- At least 21 years of age
- Good moral character
- Driving record must meet approval of the Department of Public Safety.
- No felony convictions.

Restrictions

• None

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

• License Fee - \$5

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Driver's License Examination

Description

- Written, skills, and visual
- Written area relate to motor vehicle traffic laws, road signs, and safe driving practices. Skills test is a standard road test to demonstrate expertise of motor vehicle operation.
- Standard vision test

Driver Training Commercial School Instructor

Examination Fee Date Passing Criteria

Appointment scheduled upon receipt of application.

80%

Reexamination

- After third failure, a three-month waiting period is required.
- Unlimited number of exams after the waiting period.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$6.86 - \$11.78/hour

\$5

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Department of Public Safety - Troop N 3600 North Martin Luther King Avenue P.O. Box 11415 Oklahoma City, OK 73136 (405) 521-6223

Electrical Contractor (Residential)

JOB DESCRIPTION

An electrical contractor may operate as an individual, a firm, a partnership, or a corporation to engage in the electrical business or in the business of contracting for the construction of electrical facilities. Electrical contractors are responsible for furnishing labor and/or materials for the installation, repair, maintenance, or renovation of electrical facilities, according to the requirements of the Electrical License Law. Residential electrical contractors are limited to wiring buildings as defined in NFPA, 70A, Electrical Code for one- and two-family dwellings.

OES 15017

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include the National Electrical Code and electrical theory.

Continuing Education

• Six hours within one year after each code change.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 18 years of age
- 6000 hours work experience.
- A person licensed as an electrical contractor must meet specific requirements in order to use the license, such as bond, insurance company name and address, tax number on file, etc. The license may be used as a journeyman license if above requirements are not met.

Restrictions

None

License Duration

Expires annually on June 30.

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$50
- Renewal Fee \$50

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

Residential Electrical Contractor Examination

Electrical Contractor (Residential)

Description

- Both written and practical
- Possible written examination areas include 75 questions on NEC, 10 problems on use of NEC tables, and 20 questions on business and law.
- Possible practical examination areas include branch circuit wiring, control wiring, bending conduit, and the identification of 25 items of material and tools used in the electrical trade.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$5	As scheduled monthly	70% on each part (4 parts)

Reexamination

- 30-day interval between first and second examination attempts.
- 90-day interval for each subsequent examination attempt.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$14.99 - \$25.94/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Health Department

Occupational Licensing Division .0509 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-5217

Electrical Contractor (Unlimited)

JOB DESCRIPTION

An electrical contractor may operate as an individual, a firm, a partnership, or a corporation to engage in the electrical business of contracting for the construction of electrical facilities. Electrical contractors may also furnish labor and/or labor and materials for the installation, repair, maintenance, or renovation of electrical facilities, according to the requirements of the Electrical License Law. Due to the widespread need for electrical services, electrical contractors are employed in virtually every industry such as factories, offices, and construction.

OES 15107

EDUCATIONAL REOUTREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include the National Electrical Code and basic electrical theory.

Continuing Education

• Six hours within one year after each code change.

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 18 years of age
- 12,000 hours experience in electrical construction; 4000 hours must be experience in commercial/industrial construction.
- Two years as a licensed journeyman. A person licensed as an electrical contractor must meet specific requirements in order to use the license, such as bond, insurance, etc. The license may be used as a Journeyman license if above requirements are not met.

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• Expires annually on June 30.

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$50
- Renewal Fee \$50

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Electrical Contractor Examination

Electrical Contractor (Unlimited)

Description

- The exam will include 75 questions on NEC, 17 problems on the use of NEC tables, 20 questions on business and law, and practical hands-on application in the shop.
- Areas covered on the practical examination include branch circuit wiring, control wiring, bending conduit, identification of 25 items of material, tools used in electrical construction and motor connections.

Examination Fee\$50

As scheduled Monthly

Passing Criteria
70% on Each Part (4 part)

Reexamination

- 30-day intervention between first and second examination attempts
- 90-day intervention for each subsequent examination attempt
- Unlimited number of reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$14.99 - \$25.94/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Health Department

Occupational Licensing Division - 0509 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-5217

Electrical Inspector

JOB DESCRIPTION

An electrical inspector inspects the installation of electrical systems to ensure compliance with electrical codes and standards and correct functioning. During construction or remodeling, the inspector visits the site of residential, commercial, or industrial structures. The inspector normally reviews electrical plans, examines wiring and circuit capabilities, and advises construction supervisors if a violation exists. The inspector is also responsible for maintaining inspection records. Electrical inspectors are largely employed in local and state governments operating from building departments, with a small number employed in private industry.

OES 21908

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- One possible knowledge area is an understanding of the National Electrical Code.

Continuing Education

- Five hours of continuing education per year
- Continuing education includes state-approved courses in the electrical trade

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Electrical inspectors employed by cities with populations greater than 10,000 must obtain a state license.
- Successful applicants must have three years' practical experience in cities with a population larger than 4,000. Cities with a population greater than 4,000 but less than 30,000 may combine the offices of electrical inspector and plumbing inspector into a single office of electrical and plumbing inspector. If duties are combined then experience requirement is waived when inspector obtains certification as an electrical inspector and a plumbing inspector within two years of employment. The inspector must obtain certification as an electrical inspector and a plumbing inspector by a nationally recognized model code organization within two years from the inspector's date of employment.

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• One year (expires June 30 each year)

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$25
- Renewal Fee \$25 plus \$5 late charge after July 30

Electrical Inspector

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• There is no state exam. The applicant must submit certification by a National Code organization such as the Building Officials and Code Administration (BOCA), which requires the Building Officials and Code Administration Examination.

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include calculations and rule applications of the National Electrical Code, motors, special wiring conductors, and cabinets.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$75 - \$100	Monday - Friday	75%
Varies by Organization		

Reexamination

• Reexaminations may be taken each time the exam is offered.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$10.55 - \$15.43/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Health Department

Occupational Licensing Division - 0509 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-5217

Electrician Journeyman (Residential)

JOB DESCRIPTION

A journeyman electrician (residential) engages in or works at the actual installation, alteration, repair, and/or renovation of electrical facilities. The residential electrician is limited to buildings as defined in the NFPA, 70A, Electrical Code, for one- and two-family dwellings. The electrician consults with clients and follows electrical plans for proper installation. The electrician also operates and maintains hand and power tools to connect electrical components and wiring.

OES 87202

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include the National Electrical Code for one- and two-family dwellings.

Continuing Education

• Six hours within one year after each code change

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 18 years of age
- 4000 hours work experience

Restrictions

• License can be used only while licensee is employed by a licensed electrical contractor.

License Duration

License expires June 30 each year

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$15
- Renewal Fee \$15

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Residential Journeyman Electrician Examination

Description

- Both written and practical
- Possible written examination areas include 50 questions on National Electrical Code, 7 problems on design, and proper safety regulations.
- Possible practical examination areas include branch circuit wiring, control wiring, conduit bending, identification of tools and materials, and proper safety regulations.

Electrician Journeyman (Residential)

Examination Fee\$25
As Scheduled Monthly
Not available

Reexamination

- 30-day intervention between first and second examination attempts
- 90-day intervention for each subsequent examination attempt
- Unlimited number of reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$11.59 - \$18.46/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Health Department

Occupational Licensing Division - 0509 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-5217

Electrician Journeyman (Unlimited)

JOB DESCRIPTION

A journeyman electrician (unlimited) engages in the installation, alteration, repair, and/or renovation of electrical facilities. The electrician also consults with clients and follows electrical plans for proper installation. The electrician uses hand and power tools to connect electrical components and wiring. Due to the widespread need for electrical services, electricians are employed in a variety of settings such as industry, offices, and construction.

OES 87202

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include the National Electrical Code.

Continuing Education

• Six hours within one year after each code change

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 20 years of age
- 8000 hours experience; 4000 hours in commercial/industrial construction

Restrictions

• A journeyman can use the license only while the employee of an active electrical contractor.

License Duration

• License expires June 30 each year

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$15
- Renewal Fee \$15

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Journeyman Electrician Examination

Description

- Both written and practical
- Possible written examination areas include 50 questions on National Electrical Code and 10 problems on use of NEC tables.
- Possible practical examination areas include branch circuit wiring, control wiring, bending conduit, identification of 25 items of material and tools used in the electrical trade and motor connections.

Electrician Journeyman (Unlimited)

Examination Fee Date Passing Criteria \$25 As Scheduled Monthly 70% on Each Part (3 Parts)

Reexamination

- 30-day intervention between first and second examination attempts
- 90-day intervention for each subsequent examination attempt
- Unlimited number of reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$11.59 - \$18.46/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Health Department

Occupational Licensing Division - 0509 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-5217

Embalmer

JOB DESCRIPTION

An embalmer disinfects or preserves dead human remains by using chemical substances, fluids, or gases in the remains, or by introducing the same into the remains by vascular or hypodermic injection, or by direct application into organs or cavities. In addition, the embalmer may dress the deceased, deliver the deceased to the funeral and burial site, and maintain records. Embalmers are normally employed by funeral homes.

OES 39014

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- 60 accredited hours of study from an institute of higher education plus graduation from a school of mortuary science.
- Possible areas of study include embalming technique; chemistry of embalming; color harmony; discoloration and its causes, effects, and treatment; treatment of special cases; restorative art; funeral management; professional ethics; anatomy; organic and inorganic chemistry; pathology; microbiology; sanitation and hygiene; public health regulations; and mortuary law and administration.
- An embalmer is required to complete a one-year apprenticeship under the supervision of a licensed embalmer.

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 20 years of age
- Legal resident of Oklahoma.
- Citizen of the United States
- Good moral character

Restrictions

- Conviction of a felony
- Conviction of a misdemeanor related to funeral service
- Violation of any rules or regulations of the Board in administering the purpose of the Funeral Services Licensing Act
- Violation of any of the provisions of the Funeral Services Licensing Act or any violation of Sections 201 through 235 of Title 8 of the Oklahoma Statutes

License Duration

One year

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$50
- License Fee \$50
- Renewal Fee \$50

Embalmer

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

- National Examination or State Board Examination
- State Law Examination
- Oral Examination

Description

- Written
- Examination areas include embalming, anatomy, pathology, microbiology, chemistry, restorative art, and law.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
State Law - \$80	State Law and State	75%
State Board Examination - \$40	Board Examination – Business Days	
National Board	National Board	

National Board National Board Examination - \$225 Examination - Not Available

Reexamination

• Information is unavailable.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$12.54 - \$14.28

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors 4545 Lincoln Boulevard, Suite 175 Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 525-0158

Emergency Medical Technician, Basic

JOB DESCRIPTION

An emergency medical technician (EMT) administers stabilization, transportation, and medical care to sick or injured persons, working as a member of an emergency medical team. EMT's provides transportation both in a pre-hospital setting and during interfaculty transfers. An EMT is trained to determine the nature and extent of illness or injury, to follow treatment protocols issued by medical control, and to act as an extension of physicians. Depending on the level of training, an EMT may offer from basic to paramedic stages of patient care. EMT jobs are found in licensed ambulance services, hospitals, and other affiliated health care services.

QES 32508

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Approved Department of Transportation curriculum from an approved training institution.
- EMT basic training is a minimum of 144 hours (120 hours didactic and 24 hours clinical).
- Possible areas of study include legal responsibilities, anatomy, diagnostic signs, triage, cardiorespiratory system, circulatory system, basic life support, musculoskeletal system, gastrointestinal and genitourinary systems, medical emergencies, childbirth and pediatric problems, mental health problems, environmental injuries, emergency vehicles, equipment and extrication, emergency communications, and patient handling and transportation.

Continuing Education

- 48 hours of continuing education required during a two-year license period
- Continuing education adheres to the topics or subject matter covered during training or additional topics such as air ambulance care, child abuse, rape intervention, industrial accidents, explosion injuries, battered wives, rappelling, protective breathing apparatus, farm machinery extrication, and special rescue.
- In addition to continuing education, EMT Basics are required to complete a 24-hour refresher course during a two-year period.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 18 years of age
- Approved training within the past two years (state and national applications).
- Must maintain CPR certification through the American Heart Association

Restrictions

- Individual Board review by the Oklahoma State Department of Health, Emergency Medical Services Division (OSDH/EMS) for felony convictions.
- Contact OSDWEMS for additional restrictions.

License Duration

• Two years

Licensing Fees

- Application and License Fee \$50 (required prior to examination)
- Renewal Fee \$10

Emergency Medical Technician, Basic

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians - EMT Basic

Description

- Written, practical, and oral.
- Possible written examination areas include patient handling and transportation; anatomy and
 physiology; patient assessment; breathing/resuscitation; cardiac arrest and CPR; medical
 emergencies; soft tissue injuries; bleeding/shock/MAST, injuries to head, neck, face, chest, abdomen,
 and genitalia; fractures and dislocations; environmental emergencies; bums and hazardous materials;
 emergency childbirth; and psychological aspects.
- Possible practical and oral examination areas include patient assessment (4 skills), shock treatment (3 skills), CPR (4 skills), fracture immobilization (3 skills), and general knowledge (oral questions).

Examination Fee Included in License Fee

DateOne written exam is offered every month.

Passing Criteria

Written - 70%

Practical – Competency in all practical exams are given at the approved training institutions.

Reexamination

- Three reexaminations are offered for the written examination. After EMT Basic refresher, two reexaminations are offered. OSDH/EMS permission is required to retest on the sixth and final time.
- Reexamination for the practical examination is offered one time on the skills failed (if three or less). If four or more skills are failed, the entire examination must be retaken.
- Candidates may attempt the practical examination as many times as necessary.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$6.44 - \$10.76/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Department of Health Emergency Medical Service Division 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73152 (405) 271-4027 Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians P.O. Box 29233 6610 Busch Boulevard Columbus, OH 43229

Emergency Medical Technician, Intermediate

JOB DESCRIPTION

An emergency medical technician (EMT) administers stabilization, transportation, and medical care to sick or injured persons, working as a member of an emergency medical team. EMT's provides transportation both in a pre-hospital setting and during interfaculty transfers. An EMT is trained to determine the nature and extent of illness or injury, to follow treatment protocols issued by medical control, and to act as an extension of physicians. Depending on the level of training, an EMT may offer from basic through paramedic stages of patient care. EMT jobs are found in licensed ambulance services, hospitals, and other affiliated health care services.

QES 32508

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Approved Department of Transportation curriculum from an approved training institution.
- EMT Intermediate training is a minimum of 197 hours (61 hours didactic and 136 hours clinical).
- Possible areas of study include requirements of EMT Basic, administration of intravenous fluids and venipuncture, and the placement of advanced airway procedures.

Continuing Education

- 36 hours of continuing education required during the two-year license period.
- Continuing education adheres to the topics or subject matter covered during the training or additional
 topics such as air ambulance care, child abuse, rape intervention, industrial accidents, explosion
 injuries, battered wives, rappelling, protective breathing apparatus, farm machinery extrication, and
 special rescue.
- In addition to continuing education, EMT Intermediates are required to complete a 36-hour refresher course during a two-year period.
- Continued competency in specific skills must be verified to the Oklahoma State Department of Health, Emergency Medical Services Division (OSDH/EMS) in writing by a physician. Skills for EMT Intermediate include primary survey, resuscitation, secondary survey and definitive pre-hospital care, esophageal obturator airway insertion, intravenous therapy, and pneumatic anti-shock garment.

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 18 years of age
- Approved training within the past two years (state and national applications)
- Must hold an EMT Basic level license to qualify' for candidacy
- Must maintain CPR certification through the American Heart Association

Restrictions

- Individual Board review by the OSDH/EMS for felony convictions
- Contact OSDH/EMS for additional restrictions

License Duration

Two years

Licensing Fees

- Application and License Fee \$75 (required prior to examination)
- Renewal Fee \$15

Emergency Medical Technician, Intermediate

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians - EMT Intermediate

Description

- Both written and practical
- Possible written examination areas include EMT Basic reassessment, roles and responsibilities, EMS systems, medical legal, medical terms, EMS communications, general patient assessment and initial management, airway management and ventilation, and assessment and management of shock.
- Possible practical examination areas include trauma assessment/management (4 skills), IV therapy and ET/EOA (3 skills), CPR (4 skills), and fracture immobilization (3 skills).

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
Included in License Fee	Written and/or	Written – 70%
	Practical Exams	Practical- Competency in all
		are offered every other month.

Reexamination

- Three reexaminations are offered for the written examination. After EMT Intermediate refresher, two reexaminations are offered. OSDH/EMS permission is required to retest on the sixth and final time.
- Reexamination for the practical examination is offered one time on the skills failed (if four or less). If five or more skills are failed, then the entire examination must be retaken.
- Candidates may attempt the practical examination a total of three entire tests (retest are not included).

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$6.44 - \$10.76/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Department of Health

Emergency Medical Service Division 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73152 (405) 271-4027 The National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians P.O. Box 29233 6610 Busch Boulevard

Columbus, OH 43229

Emergency Medical Technician, Paramedic

JOB DESCRIPTION

An emergency medical technician (EMT) administers life support care to sick and injured persons in a pre-hospital setting as authorized and directed by a physician. Duties are as follows: Assess nature and extent of illness or injury to establish and prioritize medical procedures to be followed or need for additional assistance. Restores and stabilizes heart rhythm on pulses, non-breathing patient, using defibrillator, or as directed by physician. Initiates intravenous fluids, performs endotracheal intubation to open airways, and administers injections of medications and drugs. Administers initial treatment at emergency scene and takes and records patient's vital signs. Assists in extricating trapped victims and transports sick and injured persons to treatment center and reports to physician patient's condition and reaction to drugs, treatments, and significant incidents. May drive mobile intensive care unit to emergency scene.

OES 32508

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Approved Department of Transportation curriculum from an approved training institution.
- EMT Paramedic training is a minimum of 668 hours (310 hours didactic and 358 hours clinical).
- Areas of study should include requirements of EMT Basic and Intermediate, cardiology, pharmacology, expanded pathophysiological aspects, and treatment at all of the EMT Basic topics.

Continuing Education

- 24 hours of continuing education required during the two-year license period
- Continuing education adheres to the topics or subject matter covered during the training or additional
 topics such as air ambulance care, child abuse, rape intervention, industrial accidents, explosion
 injuries, battered wives, rappelling, protective breathing apparatus, farm machinery extrication, and
 special rescue.
- In addition to continuing education, EMT Paramedics are required to complete a 48-hour refresher course during a two-year period.
- Continued competency in specific skills must be verified to the Oklahoma State Department of Health, Emergency Medical Services Division (OSDH/EMS) in writing by a physician. Skills for an EMT Paramedic include history taking, physical examination, CPR (one- and two-rescuer), infant resuscitation, esophageal obturator placement and/or endotracheal intubation, bag-valve mask and bag-valve tube ventilation, and interpretation of oscilloscopic and hard copy electrocardiograms.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 18 years of age
- Approved training within the past two years (state and national applications)
- Must verify to OSDH/EMS proof of completion for the American Heart Association's Advanced Cardiac Life Support.
- Must hold an EMT Basic level license to qualify for candidacy.
- Must maintain CPR certification through the American Heart Association.

Restrictions

- Individual Board review by the OSDH/EMS for felony convictions
- Contact OSDH/EMS for additional restrictions.

Emergency Medical Technician, Paramedic

License Duration

• Two years

Licensing Fees

- Application and License Fee \$85 (required prior to examination)
- Renewal Fee \$20

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians - EMT Paramedic

Description

- Both written and practical
- Possible written examination areas include pre-hospital environment; preparatory; trauma; medical emergencies; cardiovascular; and obstetrics, gynecology, neonatal, and behavioral emergencies.
- Possible practical examination areas include trauma assessment/management (4 skills), static cardiology/medical emergencies (2 skills), cardiac arrest skills (4 skills), CPR (4 skills), and fracture immobilization (3 skills).

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
Included in License Fee	Written and/or practical	Written – 70% Overall
	exams are offered every	Div. 1- No minimum score
		Div. 2-60% minimum
		Div. 3-65% minimum
		Div. 4-65% minimum
		Div. 5-67% minimum
		Div. 6-53% minimum
		Practical-Competency in all

Reexamination

- Three reexaminations are offered for the written examination. After EMT Paramedic refresher, two reexaminations are offered. OSDH/EMS permission is required to retest on the sixth and final time.
- Reexamination for the practical examination is offered one time on the skills failed (if five or less). If six or more skills are failed, the entire exam must be retaken.
- Candidates may attempt the practical examination a total of three entire tests (retest are not included).

OKLAHOMA WAGE

Median Range \$6.44 - \$10.76/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oldahoma State Department of Health Emergency Medical Service Division 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73152 (405) 271-4027

Last updated January 2000

The National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians P.O. Box 29233 6610 Busch Boulevard Columbus, OH 43229

Engineer Intern

JOB DESCRIPTION

An intern engineer works under the supervision of a professional engineer to develop and design efficient and economical machinery, equipment, products, and electrical and waste systems. After a four- or six-year engineering or related college degree, the intern gains experience in planning and coordinating project development. This may include developing detailed drawings, conducting related research, consulting clients, and evaluating ideas and designs. The intern may choose to specialize in one of the 25 major areas of engineering such as civil, structural, or chemical engineering. Employment is based upon area of specialization, and interns are often employed in communication, transportation, and manufacturing industries.

OES 22502

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Educational possibilities include four-year or graduate degrees from ABET or non-ABET accredited engineering curriculums or other science-related areas.
- Applicants with an acceptable degree may, upon successful completion of the Fundamentals of Engineering, be certified as an Engineer Intern while acquiring the necessary experience to file for professional registration.
- Areas of study relate to an area of specialization
- Acceptable work experience is evaluated on an individual basis in accordance with requirements of the law.

Continuing Education

• Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Good moral character
- Resident of Oklahoma or currently registered in state of residence

Restrictions

None

Registration Duration

Two years

Registration Fees

- Application Fee \$25
- Renewal Fee \$30

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Fundamentals of Engineering – 8 Hours

Engineer Intern

Description

- Written
- Areas of examination relate to areas of specialization.
- Possible examination areas include mathematics, electrical circuits, fluid mechanics, thermodynamics, dynamics, statics, chemistry, mechanics of materials, engineering economics, materials science/structure of matter, engineering mechanics, applied mathematics, electrical circuits, engineering economics, and thermodynamics/fluid mechanics.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$50	Twice a Year in	70 %
* Subject to Change	April and October	
	(Application deadlines	
	are Feb. 15 th and Sept. 15 th)	

Reexamination

- Applicants who score 50 to 69 percent may apply for reexamination at the next scheduled examination. Applicants who score less than 50 percent must wait one year and file a new application with fees.
- Reexamination is permitted on one application, after which a new application must be filed.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$13.51 - \$20.97/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Registration for Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors 201 Northeast 27th Street, Suite 120 Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 521-2874

Engineer, Registered Professional

JOB DESCRIPTION

A professional engineer designs machinery, equipment, products, and electrical and waste systems for efficient and economic performance. The engineer plans and coordinates the activities surrounding project development. This may include drafting, developing detailed drawings, conducting preliminary research, consulting clients, and evaluating and testing ideas. Most engineers specialize in one of the 25 major areas of engineering such as structural, chemical, or civil engineering. Employment is based on area of specialization, and engineers are often employed in manufacturing, communication, and architectural services.

OES 22121 22126 22114

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Educational possibilities include four-year or graduate degrees from ABET or non-ABET accredited engineering curriculums or other science-related areas.
- Areas of study relate to area of specialization.
- Applicants with an acceptable degree and experience, upon successful completion of the Fundamentals of Engineering, and principles and practice of engineering examinations are licensed as a professional engineer.

Continuing Education

• Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Good character
- Resident of Oklahoma or currently registered in state of residence
- Acceptable work experience is evaluated on an individual basis in accordance with requirements of the law.

Restrictions

None

Registration Duration

Two years

Registration Fees

- Application Fee n- \$80
- Renewal Fee \$80

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Principles and Practice of Engineering

Engineer, Registered Professional

Description

- Written
- Areas of examination relate to area of specialization.
- Possible examination areas include chemical, civil/structural I, structural II, electrical, mechanical, agricultural, fire protection, industrial, manufacturing, metallurgical, mining/mineral, nuclear, petroleum, and environmental engineering.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$75	Twice a year in	70%
*Subject to Change	April and October	
	(Application deadlines	
	are Jan. 3 rd and Aug. 3 rd)	

Reexamination

- Applicants who score 50 to 69 percent may apply for reexamination at the next scheduled examination. Applicants who score less than 50 percent must wait one year and file a new application with fees.
- Reexamination is permitted twice on one application, after which a new application must be filed.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$19.66 - \$35.69/hour - Civil Engineer

\$22.21 - \$36.83/hour - Electronics/Electrical Engineer

\$26.11 - \$41.11/hour - Chemical Engineer

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Registration for Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors 201 Northeast 27th Street, Suite 120 Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 521-2874

Facialist

JOB DESCRIPTION

A facialist/facial operator performs skin care services; skin analysis consultations; massage, makeup application/facials; limited hair removal services (wax, depilatory and electronic tweezers procedures); and lash/brow tinting and arching. The employer assigns additional responsibilities such as client scheduling. Facialists work primarily in salons, cosmetic studios, at department store cosmetic counters, and for products companies.

OES 68095

EDUCATIONAL REOUTREMENTS

Educational Level

- Eighth-grade education or equivalent
- Possible knowledge areas include structure of skin and diseases; theory and practical training in skin
 care, makeup, and massage; hygiene, personality, salesmanship, and poise; sanitation and safety;
 electrical; chemistry and light therapy (pertaining to skin care); and cosmetology law, rules, and
 regulations.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 16 years of age to enroll in facialist course
- 17 years of age or a high school graduate for license

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• One year (expires last day of birth month).

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$15
- Renewal Fee \$15

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• The Oklahoma State Board Facialist Examination (administered by the board)

Facialist

Description

- Both written and practical
- Possible written examination areas include scientific concepts; physical services; chemistry and light therapy (includes sanitation and safety); diseases and disorders of the skin; anatomy, muscles, bones, nerves, and blood circulation; and skin care purpose and effect, supplies, and products.
- Possible practical application areas include draping/application and removal of cleansing cream and
 makeup; application of emollient creams, manipulations and removal of cream; complete daytime
 makeup application with verbal explanation of corrective makeup technique; and sanitary and safety
 procedures.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$15	Monday - Friday	75% on both the
	First Three Weeks	Written and Practical Exams.
	of Every Month	

Reexamination

- Registration is required at least 30 days prior to examination.
- If reregistered within six months of initial examination, only reexamination of failed portion is necessary.
- After two failures, work permit is not issued; after four failures, review hours are required before reregistering.

Oklahoma Ware

• Median Range \$5.88 - \$8.53/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology 2200 Classen Boulevard, Suite 1530 Oklahoma City, OK 73106 (405) 521-2441

Fire Alarm Service and Installation Company Manager

JOB DESCRIPTION

A fire alarm service and installation company manager directs the design and application of fire alarm system sales, service, repair, or installation. Although management skills vary according to the industry, many managers are responsible for employee relations, record keeping, and office/industry operations. Licensed fire alarm companies employ fire alarm service and installation managers.

OES 81002

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

Limited (restricted to residential only)

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas are the National Fire Codes and operation, service, and installation of fire alarm systems.

Unlimited

Must be NICET II or NBFAA 22-B certified.

Continuing Education

• Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 21 years of age
- Four years experience in fire alarm industry
- Security verification clearance

Restrictions

• Conviction of a felony

License Duration

One year

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$50
- Renewal Fee \$50

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

Unlimited

• Fire Alarm Manager Examination Limited

Limited

• Fire Alarm Manager Examination (restricted to residential only)

Fire Alarm Service and Installation Company Manager

Description

- Written
- Possible knowledge areas include the technical aspects of design, operation, installation and service
 of components and complete fire alarm systems and the National Fire Codes.

Examination Fee Date Passing Criteria
Free (\$25 for reexamination) Monthly, if necessary. 70%

Reexamination

- After first attempt, the exam may be retaken after a 30-day waiting period. After second and subsequent attempts, there is a 90-day waiting period between exams.
- Unlimited reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$13.26 - \$23.53/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Occupational Licensing Division - 0509

Oklahoma State Department of Health 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-5217

Fire Alarm Service and Installation Company Salesman

JOB DESCRIPTION

A fire alarm service and installation company salesman presents information to consumers regarding fire alarm products and services. The salesman explains the cost, operation, and customer responsibilities for fire alarm services and equipment. A licensed fire alarm company employs a fire alarm service and installation company salesman.

OES 43017

EDUCATIONAL REOUTREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include components and applications of fire alarm systems and services and the National Fire Codes.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Security verification clearance

Restrictions

• Conviction of a felony

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$25
- Renewal Fee \$25

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Fire Alarm Service and Installation Company Salesman Examination

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include the components and application of complete fire alarm systems and services and the National Fire Codes.

Examination Fee Date Passing Criteria
Free (\$25 each reexamination) Monthly, if necessary. 70%

Fire Alarm Service and Installation Company Salesman

Reexamination

- After first attempt, the exam may be retaken after a 30-day waiting period. After second and subsequent attempts, there is a 90-day waiting period between exams.
- Unlimited reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$9.75 - \$19.68/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Department of Health

Occupational Licensing Division .0509 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-5217

Fire Alarm Service and Installation Company Technician

JOB DESCRIPTION

A fire alarm service and installation company technician installs, repairs, and services fire alarm systems. The technician works under the direction of the employer while using hand and power tools for proper service completion. A licensed fire alarm company employs a fire alarm service and installation company technician.

QES 87202

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

Limited (restricted to residential only)

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas are the National Fire Codes and operation, service, and installation of fire alarm systems.

Unlimited (Beginning July 1,2000)

Must be NICET II or NBFAA 22-B certified

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Verified experience in the fire alarm industry
- Security verification clearance

Restrictions

• Conviction of a felony

License Duration

• One year.

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$25
- Renewal Fee \$25

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

Unlimited

• Fire Alarm Technician Examination Limited

Limited

• Fire Alarm Technician Examination (restricted to residential only)

Fire Alarm Service and Installation Company Technician

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include the technical aspects of operation, installation, and service of components and complete systems of all available sources of Fire Alarm Industry and the National Fire Codes.

Examination Fee Date Passing Criteria
Free (\$25 each reexamination) Monthly, if necessary 70%

Reexamination

- After first attempt, the exam may be retaken after a 30-day waiting period. After second and subsequent attempts, there is a 90-day waiting period between exams.
- Unlimited reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$11.59 - \$18.46/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Department of Health

Occupational Licensing Division .0509 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-5217

Fire Sprinkler Alarm Company Technician

JOB DESCRIPTION

A fire sprinkler company technician installs, repairs, and services fire sprinkler systems. The technician works under the direction of the employer while using hand and power tools for proper service completion. A licensed fire sprinkler company employs a fire sprinkler company technician.

OES 87202

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements. However, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- A possible knowledge area includes the National Fire Codes.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Verified experience working in the fire sprinkler industry

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$25
- Renewal Fee \$25

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Fire Sprinkler Technician Examination

Description

- Written
- A possible examination area includes the National Fire Codes.

Examination Fee Date Passing Criteria
Free (\$25 each reexamination) Monthly, if necessary 70%

Reexamination

- After first attempt, the exam may be retaken after a 30-day waiting period. After second and subsequent attempts, there is a 90-day waiting period between exams.
- Unlimited reexaminations

Fire Sprinkler Alarm Company Technician

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$11.59 - \$18.46/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Department of Health

Occupational Licensing Division - 0509 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-5217

Funeral Director

JOB DESCRIPTION

A funeral director engages in the preparation, direction, and supervision for the burial or disposal of dead human remains. The funeral director further maintains the funeral establishment and sells funeral service merchandise to the public. In addition, funeral directors' responsibilities may include counseling and comforting relatives and friends, casket preparation, and transportation of the deceased for services and burial.

OES 39011

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Requirements include 60 accredited hours of study from an accredited institute of higher education, plus graduation from a mortuary science program.
- Possible areas of study include mortuary management and administration, business education and business law, legal medicine, toxicology (as it pertains to funeral directing), public relations, psychology, public health, hygiene, and sanitary science.
- A funeral director is required to complete a 12-month apprenticeship under the direction of a licensed funeral director.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 20 years of age
- Legal resident of Oklahoma
- Citizen of the United States
- Good moral character

Restrictions

- Conviction of a felony
- Conviction of a misdemeanor involving funeral service
- Violation of any rules or regulations of the Board in administering the purpose of the Funeral Services Licensing Act
- Violation of any of the provisions of the Funeral Services Licensing Act or any violation of Sections 201 through 235 of Title 8 of the Oklahoma Statutes

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$50
- License Fee \$50
- Renewal Fee \$50

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

- National Board Examination or State Board Examination
- State Law Examination

Funeral Director

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include sociology, psychology, accounting, law, and mortuary management.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
State Law Exam - \$80	State Law and Board Exam -	75%
State Board Exam - \$40	Business Day	

National Board Exam - \$225 National Board Exam - N/A

Reexamination

• Information is unavailable.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$9.54 - \$17.05/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors 4545 Lincoln Boulevard, Suite 175 Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 525-0158

Groundwater and Observation Groundwater Heat Pump Water Well Driller

JOB DESCRIPTION

A groundwater and observation groundwater heat pump water well driller operates a portable drilling rig to drill groundwater wells using geotechnical boring techniques to penetrate the earth's surface. The well driller constructs the well, maintains equipment, and keeps records of the drilling process. The well driller also monitors water quality for contamination. A groundwater and observation groundwater heat pump well driller may be self-employed or employed by private industry or state and local governments.

OES 87902

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- High school diploma or GED
- Possible areas of study include basic math, physics, and chemistry.

Continuing Education

• Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 90-day residency unless reciprocity applies
- Two years experience in water well drilling or one-year experience as a licensed operator.

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• Two year

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$300
- Renewal Fee -\$300
- Indemnity Fund \$100
- Each Additional Operator \$60

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Groundwater and Observation Groundwater Heat Pump Well Drillers Examination

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include Oklahoma Water Resources Board Rules and Regulations OAC 785:35 and General Drilling Legal Descriptions.

Groundwater and Observation Groundwater Heat Pump Water Well Driller

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$50	Thursday	70%, including 50% of
	8 a.m3 p.m.	legal description questions

Reexamination

- 30-day waiting period
- Unlimited number of reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$7.25 - \$9.36/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Water Resources Board

3800 N. Classen Blvd. Oklahoma City, OK 73118 (405) 530-8800

Hearing Aid Dealer and Fitter

JOB DESCRIPTION

A hearing aid dealer and fitter examines and confers with customers about individual hearing needs and sells customers the appropriate hearing aid. A hearing aid dealer and fitter may also be responsible for demonstrating, repairing, and replacing hearing aids. Ordinarily, they are self-employed and occasionally are required to visit customers in their homes.

OES 49011

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- A high school graduate or the equivalent
- Knowledge of hearing loss measurement and the ability to make ear impressions

Continuing Education

- Eight clock hours each year
- Continuing education relates to the measurement of hearing loss and the proper fitting of hearing aids

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• 18 years of age

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

License Fee - \$50Renewal Fee - \$50

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Hearing Aid Fitness Exam

Description

- Both written and practical
- Possible examination areas include troubleshooting, ear impressions, and audiometer.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$35	Monthly, if necessary	70%

Reexamination

• Reexaminations may be taken each time the exam is offered.

Hearing Aid Dealer and Fitter

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$6.13 - \$9.39/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Department of Health

Occupational Licensing Division - 0509 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-52 173

Hoisting Engineer, Underground

JOB DESCRIPTION

A hoisting engineer operates and controls an electrically driven hoist to control the movement of cages, skips (box-like containers), and mine cars. They are also responsible for inspecting and maintaining their equipment, which may require adjustments or minor repairs. Underground hoisting engineers are employed in the mining industry to assist in the removal of minerals such as coal, ore, and copper.

QES 97941

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Knowledge of hoisting techniques and the ability to read is necessary.

Continuing Education

• Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- State resident and employment in Oklahoma
- One year of practical hoisting experience

Restrictions

• Conviction of a felony may be cause for revocation of certificate

Certificate Duration

Lifetime

Certification Fees

• Certification Fee - \$10

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

Hoisting Engineer Examination

Description

- Both written and oral
- Written and oral examination areas pertain to the requirements and qualifications of underground miners as determined necessary by the Mining Commission.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$10	Third Tuesday	76%
	of Every Month	

Reexamination

- A 60-day waiting period is required after initial exam before a reexamination can be scheduled.
- Two reexaminations are allowed.

Hoisting Engineer, Underground

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Average Range \$11.32 - \$13.64/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

State Mining Commission 4040 North Lincoln, Suite 107 Oklahoma City, OK *73105* (405) 521-3859

Horse Racing Authorized Agent

JOB DESCRIPTION

A horse racing authorized agent is given the authority to act on the behalf of an owner or trainer by a written, notarized document.

QES 79017

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• Not available

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Must be 18 years of age or older
- Authorized in writing to represent a licensed owner or trainer

Restrictions

• None

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$50
- Renewal Fee \$50

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$5.64 - \$7.55/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission

Shepherd Mall 2614 Villa Prom Oklahoma City, OK 73107 (405) 943-6472

Horse Racing Blacksmith

JOB DESCRIPTION

A horseracing blacksmith makes, repairs, and/or fits horseshoes for racehorses.

OES 85999

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.

Continuing Education

• Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Must be 18 years of age or older
- Must provide documentation of credentials
- Must provide three letters of recommendation from licensed trainers

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• Annual or Triennial

Licensing Fees

License Fee - \$50 Annual or \$120 Triennial
 Renewal Fee - \$50 Annual or \$120 Triennial

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Description

• The Commission and/or the Stewards may require the applicant to demonstrate his/her knowledge or qualifications for any license.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$9.36 - \$14.88/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission

Shepherd Mall 2614 Villa Prom Oklahoma City, OK 73107 (405) 943-6472

Horse Racing Bloodstock Agent

JOB DESCRIPTION

A horse racing bloodstock agent is approved by an organization licensee to provide a service that may include but not be limited to the buying, selling, transporting, etc., of horses within the enclosure of a racetrack.

OES 79017

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• Not available

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Must be 18 years of age or older
- Approval by an organization licensee

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$50
- Renewal Fee \$50

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$5.64 - \$7.55/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission

Shepherd Mall 2614 Villa Prom Oklahoma City, OK 73107 (405) 943-6472

Horse Racing Commission Racing Official

JOB DESCRIPTION

A racing official is employed by the Horse Racing Commission to perform the duties described in the Rules of Racing such as Steward, Official Veterinarian, or Horse Identifier.

OES 34058

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- High school diploma or GED equivalent
- Experience and physical capabilities such as eyesight and hearing abilities in accordance with the provisions of the Oklahoma Horse Racing Act

Continuing Education

• National RCI accreditation for Stewards

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Must be 18 years of age or older
- Employed by the Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission

Restrictions

- No racing official may serve in that capacity during any race meeting at which is entered a horse owned by the official or by a member of the official's family or in which the official has any financial interest.
- No person may serve as a Steward in a race where that person is the owner or part owner of the sire or dam of any horse in the race.

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fee

• None

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Average Annual Salary \$26,874.00

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission

Shepherd Mall 2614 Villa Prom Oklahoma City, OK 73107 (405) 943-6472

Horse Racing Commission Track Racing Official

JOB DESCRIPTION

The track racing official is employed by a licensed organization to perform the duties described in the Rules of Racing such as placing judge, starter, clerk of scales, or racing secretary.

OES 34058

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• As determined by the racetrack organization licensee

Continuing Education

As determined by the racetrack organization licensee

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Must be 18 years of age or older.
- Employed by a licensed racetrack.

Restrictions

- License restricted to racetrack where employed.
- No track racing official may serve in that capacity during any race meeting where a horse owned by the official or by a member of the official's family is entered or in which the official has any financial interest.

License Duration

One year

Licensing Fees

License Fee - \$50Renewal Fee - \$50

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Average Annual Salary - \$26,874.00

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission

Shepherd Mall 2614 Villa Prom Oklahoma City, OK 73107 (405) 943-6472

Horse Racing Exercise Rider

JOB DESCRIPTION

A horse racing exercise rider may ride a horse in schooling races only. This person must meet the qualifications and requirements of a jockey except for the weight requirement, which may be exceeded if approved by the stewards.

OES 34058

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

Not available

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Must be 16 years of age or older
- Required proof of a physical within the past 12 months

Restrictions

• Can ride a horse only in schooling races

License Duration

One year

Licensing Fees

License Fee - \$25Renewal Fee - \$25

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Average Annual Salary - \$26,874.00

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission

Shepherd Mall 2614 Villa Prom Oklahoma City, OK 73107 (405) 943-6472

Horse Racing Groomer/Hotwalker

JOB DESCRIPTION

A horse racing groom/hotwalker is employed by an owner or trainer to assist in the care of a horse(s) or maintenance of the stable area.

OES 79017

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• Not available

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Must be 16 years of age or older
- Employed by a licensed owner or trainer

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

License Fee - \$25Renewal Fee - \$25

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$5.64 - \$7.55/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission

Shepherd Mall 2614 Villa Prom Oklahoma City, OK 73107 (405) 943-6472

Horse Racing Pony Rider

JOB DESCRIPTION

This person is employed by the organization licensee to provide service, including but not limited to clerical, accounting, administrative, food service, housekeeping, security, mutuals, outriders, valets, parking attendants, etc.

OES 13014

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

Not available

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Must be 16 years of age or older
- Employed by the organization licensee

Restrictions

• License restricted to track where employed

License Duration

One year

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$25
- Renewal Fee \$25

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$14.38 - \$27.67/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission

Shepherd Mall 2614 Villa Prom Oklahoma City, OK 73107 (405) 943-6472

Horse Racing Pony Rider

JOB DESCRIPTION

A horse racing pony rider must have satisfactorily demonstrated before the stewards or their representative(s) the ability to pony racehorses during a race.

OES 34058

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• Not available

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Must be 16 years of age or older

Restrictions

• Not applicable

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

License Fee - \$25Renewal Fee - \$25

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Average Annual Salary - \$26,874.00

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission

Shepherd Mall 2614 Villa Prom Oklahoma City, OK 73107 (405) 943-6472

Horse Racing Track Manager

JOB DESCRIPTION

A horse racing track manager is employed by an organization licensee to fill key positions in management, including but not limited to department heads, director of security, director of operations, director of media relations, mutuals manager assistant general manager, and general manager.

OES 19005

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• Not available

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Must be 18 years of age or older
- Experience as determined by the organization licensee, the Horse Racing Commission, and the Commission's Director of Law Enforcement

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$50
- Renewal Fee \$50

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$14.12 - \$35.04/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission

Shepherd Mall 2614 Villa Prom Oklahoma City, OK 73107 (405) 943-6472

Horse Racing Vendor

JOB DESCRIPTION

A horseracing vendor is the organization's responsible party to provide goods or services to the organization licensee and who has written approval from the organization to conduct business within the racetrack enclosure.

OES 49026

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• Not available

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Must be 18 years of age or older
- Must have written approval from the organization licensee to conduct business within the racetrack enclosure.

Restrictions

- All vendor licenses are restricted to the track where employed.
- Vendors, by virtue of the types of goods or services provided, have access to restricted areas.

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$50
- Renewal Fee \$50

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$7.21 - \$9.64/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission

Shepherd Mall 2614 Villa Prom Oklahoma City, OK 73107 (405) 943-6472

Horse Racing Vendor Employee

JOB DESCRIPTION

A horse racing vendor employee is employed by a licensed vendor to deliver goods or services on behalf of the vendor within the racetrack enclosure and has the written approval of the organization licensee.

OES 49026

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

Not available

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Must be 16 years of age or older
- Employed by a licensed vendor
- Has written approval of the organization licensee

Restrictions

• Issued to employees of licensed vendors only.

License Duration

One year

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$25
- Renewal Fee \$25

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$7.21 - \$9.64/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission

Shepherd Mall 2614 Villa Prom Oklahoma City, OK 73107 (405) 943-6472

Horse Racing Veterinarian

JOB DESCRIPTION

A horseracing veterinarian must provide evidence of an Oklahoma license to practice veterinary medicine.

OES 32114

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• Must be licensed by the State of Oklahoma to practice veterinary medicine.

Continuing Education

Not available

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Evidence of Oklahoma license to practice veterinary medicine.

Restrictions

• May not be licensed as an Owner or in any other capacity while licensed by the Commission as a practicing Veterinarian.

License Duration

Annual or Triennial

Licensing Fees

License Fee - \$50 Annual or \$120 Triennial
 Renewal Fee - \$50 Annual or \$120 Triennial

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$14.15 - \$23.58/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission

Shepherd Mall 2614 Villa Prom Oklahoma City, OK 73107 (405) 943-6472

Insurance Adjuster

JOB DESCRIPTION

An insurance adjuster investigates claims against insurance companies for personal, casualty, property loss, or damages and attempts to negotiate out-of-court settlement with the claimant. To determine the extent of the company's liability, the insurance adjuster examines claim forms and hospital and police records, and interviews the claimant and/or witnesses. Insurance adjusters can be self-employed, work for independent firms, national firms, or insurance companies.

OES 53302

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include fire and allied lines, casualty, motor vehicle physical damage, workers' compensation, crime and fidelity bonds, and crop hail insurance.
- A one-year trainee registration is available.

Continuing Education

- Six clock hours per license year
- Areas of study relate to coverage for which the adjuster is licensed.

ADDITIONAL REOUTREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• 18 years of age

Restrictions

• Criminal convictions are reviewed individually.

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

• Application Fee \$15 - one line

\$25 - two or more lines

• Renewal Fee \$15 - one line

\$25 - two or more lines

EXAMINATION REOUTREMENTS

Examination Title

• Insurance Adjusters Exam

Description

- Computerized
- Possible examination areas include fire and allied lines, casualty, motor vehicle physical damage, workers' compensation, crime and fidelity bonds, and crop hail insurance.

Insurance Adjuster

Examination Fee

\$20 for only one line \$40 for 2 or more lines

Date

Monday – Thursday (Oklahoma City); Friday (Tulsa)

Passing Criteria 70%

Reexamination

- Reexamination may be taken within 30 days.
- Reexamination requires duplicate examination fee.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$15.59 - \$24.23/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

State of Oklahoma Insurance

Commission

3814 N. Santa Fe P.O. Box 53408 Oklahoma City, OK 73152-3408 (405) 521-3916

Insurance Agent

JOB DESCRIPTION

An insurance agent sells insurance policies to new and present clients that provide individuals or businesses with financial protection against loss. Insurance agents analyze client needs, recruit clientele, and calculate and quote premium rates for recommended policies. Insurance agents sell life, health, vehicle, or casualty insurance. Most insurance agents work at local company offices, independent agencies, or are self-employed.

OES 43002

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include life, accident and health, property, casualty, fraternal, and title insurance.

Continuing Education

- Sixteen clock hours biennially (including two hours on ethics) and 1 hour of health care reform
- Areas of study are related to lines of insurance for which license is held.

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• 18 years of age

Restrictions

• Conviction, plea of guilty, or nolo contendere (no contest) to a felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude

License Duration

Two years

Licensing Fees

- Fees range from \$40 to \$210 based upon line of insurance.
- Renewal fee range \$40 to \$120 based upon line of insurance.

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Insurance Agents Exam (Same as license type)

Description

- Computerized
- Possible examination areas include issues related to life, accident and health, property, casualty, vehicle, or title insurance.

Insurance Agent

Examination Fee

Date

Passing Criteria 70%

\$50 – one or more lines

Monday – Thursday (Oklahoma City); Friday (Tulsa)

Reexamination

- Reexamination may be taken within 30 days.
- Reexamination requires \$50 examination fee.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$8.66 - \$18.31/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

State of Oklahoma Insurance Commission

3814 N. Santa Fe P.O. Box 53408 Oklahoma City, OK 73 152-3408 (405) 521-3916

Insurance Consultant

JOB DESCRIPTION

An insurance consultant is an individual, partnership, or corporation that offers advice, counseling, opinions, or services related to the benefits, advantages, or disadvantages regarding possible insurance policies. The consultant analyzes the client's present circumstances and provides recommendations for action. An insurance consultant can work independently.

OES 43002

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include life, accident and health, property, casualty, and vehicle insurance.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REOPIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• 18 years of age

Restrictions

- Conviction, plea of guilty, or nolo contendere (no contest) to a felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude
- May not hold an agent's license or be affiliated with an agent, agency, or insurance company.

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$50
- Renewal Fee \$50

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Insurance Consultant's Exam

Description

- Computerized
- Possible examination areas include life, accident, health, casualty, and vehicle insurance.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$50	Monday - Thursday	70%
	(Oklahoma City);	
	Friday (Tulsa)	

Insurance Consultant

Reexamination

- Reexamination may be taken within 30 days.
- Reexamination requires original examination fee.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$8.66 - \$18.31/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

State of Oklahoma Insurance Commission 3814 N. Santa Fe P.O. Box 53408 Oklahoma City, OK 73152-3408 (405) 521-3916

Insurance Representative (Limited)

JOB DESCRIPTION

A limited insurance representative is an individual, partnership, or corporation that is authorized by the Insurance Commission to solicit or negotiate contracts for a particular line of insurance, such as operating as a ticket-selling agent of a common carrier or engaging in the sale of limited travel accident insurance; credit life, accident, or health insurance; vehicle/auto rental; and/or personal property floater (credit property) insurance with a credit transaction under \$5,000. Limited insurance representatives are largely employed by insurance companies and may be stationed for sales in a variety of settings such as department stores and airports.

OES 53302

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include credit life/accident and health, travel, prepaid dental, prepaid legal liability, motor club, job loss, credit property, and crop hail insurance.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• 18 years of age.

Restrictions

• Conviction, plea of guilty, or nolo contendere (no contest) to a felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude

License Duration

• Two years

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$40
- Renewal Fee \$40

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

Limited Insurance Representatives Exam

Description

- Computerized
- Possible examination areas include credit life/accident and health, credit property, and crop hail insurance.
- Credit life/accident and health do not test.

Insurance Representative (Limited)

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$50	Monday - Thursday	70%
	(Oklahoma City);	
	Friday (Tulsa)	

Reexamination

- Reexamination may be taken within 30 days.
- Reexamination requires \$50 examination fee.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$15.59 - \$24.23/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

State of Oklahoma Insurance Commission 3814N. Santa Fe P.O. Box 53408 Oklahoma City, OK 73 152-3408 (405) 521-3916

Investment Advisor Representative

JOB DESCRIPTION

An investment advisor representative provides guidance to clients regarding the value of securities such as stocks and bonds. Duties of an investment advisor representative include educating and counseling clients on the sale or purchase of securities. The representative also analyzes and reports securities information to clients personally or through written communication. Investment advisor representatives are employed by business entities holding an investment advisor license. Such firms may be broker-dealers or independent investment advisor firms.

OES 25315

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Not applicable

Restrictions

- Conviction of **a** felony
- Violation of securities laws

License Duration

• One year - expires annually on December 31

Licensing Fees

License Fee - \$50Renewal Fee - \$50

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examinations

• Request examination packets from the Oklahoma Department of Securities.

Description

• Written

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
Available in	Daily	70% on Each
Examination packet		Exam taken

Reexamination

- Candidates who fail exams, make less than 70%, may retake the exam.
- A waiting period is required.

Investment Advisor Representative

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$15.29 - \$23.73/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Department of Securities Licensing Division First National Center, Suite 860 Oklahoma City, OK 73102 (405) 280-7700

Issuer Agent

JOB DESCRIPTION

An issuer agent represents private or institutional clients in financial issues. The issuer agent negotiates the purchase or sale of securities, bonds, or other specialized financial products. The issuer agent reviews and analyzes clients' financial portfolios and recommends specific action. This often requires educating and counseling clients in trading practices. An issuer agent works for or represents an issuer of securities.

OES 43014

EDUCATIONAL REOUTREMENTS

Educational Level

• There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.

Continuing Education

• Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Not applicable

Restrictions

- Conviction of a felony
- Violation of securities laws

License Duration

• One year -- expires 12 months from the date issued.

Licensing Fees

License Fee - \$50Renewal Fee - \$50

EXAMINATION REOUTREMENTS

Examinations

• Request examination packets from the Oklahoma Department of Securities.

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include the Uniform State Securities Law and general securities knowledge.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
Available in	Upon Receipt of	70% on Each
Examination Packet	Application	Exam Taken

Reexamination

• Candidates who fail exams, make less than 70%, may retake the exam after a given waiting period.

Issuer Agent

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$14.92 - \$39.64/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Department of Securities Licensing Division First National Center, Suite 860 Oklahoma City, OK 73102

Last updated January 2000

(405) 280-7700

Jockey

JOB DESCRIPTION

A jockey rides racehorses at the racetrack and confers with training personnel to plan strategy for the race, based on the ability and peculiarities of their own and other horses in competition. A jockey mounts the horse in the paddock after weighing-in and rides the horse to a specified numbered stall of the starting gate. A jockey races from the starting gate to the finish line and talks to training personnel after the race to analyze the horse's performance.

OES 34058

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.

Continuing Education

• Not available

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 16 years of age or older
- Proof of physical examination within the past 12 months
- Weight not to exceed 130 pounds at time of licensure
- Has ridden more than 40 winners or for a period of more than three years
- Registered with the Board of Stewards

Restrictions

- Individuals on probation for controlled dangerous substances or controlled weapons. Conviction cases are reviewed individually.
- A jockey may not be licensed in any other capacity while holding an Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission jockey license.

License Duration

• Annual or Triennial

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$50 Annual or \$120 Triennial
- Renewal Fee \$50 Annual or \$120 Triennial

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Average Annual Salary - \$26,874.00

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission

Shepherd Mall 2614 Villa Prom Oklahoma City, OK 73107 (405) 943-6472

Jockey Agent

JOB DESCRIPTION

A jockey agent represents riders of racehorses in negotiations with owners to arrange for riding engagements at racetracks. A jockey agent contacts riders to ascertain races and dates they are available for hire, confers with owners of horses scheduled to race to inform them of riders available, and negotiates with owners for riding fees. A jockey agent records the name of the owner, horse, date, and the number of the race in an engagement book. A jockey agent notifies riders of contracted engagements and terms agreed on, notifies riders to report to the owner for briefing on horse's temperament and behavior and other riding instruction, and collects hiring fees from riders.

OES 39999

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Must be 18 years of age or older
- Authorized by a licensed jockey
- Must register with the steward as jockey agent
- May require written jockey agent examination

Restrictions

- No jockey agent shall represent more than two jockeys and one apprentice jockey at the same time.
- A jockey agent shall not give to anyone, directly or indirectly, any information or advice pertaining to a race or engage in the practice commonly known as "touting" for the purpose of influencing any person or do anything that would tend to do so in the making of a wager on the result of any race.

License Duration

Annual

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$50
- Renewal Fee \$50

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$10.40 - \$23.23/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission

Shepherd Mall 2614 Villa Prom Oklahoma City, OK 73107 (405) 943-6472

Jockey, Apprentice

JOB DESCRIPTION

A person who has met the qualifications of a jockey and who (1) has ridden less than 40 winners or (2) has ridden for a period of less than three years since first having been licensed in any racing jurisdiction.

OES 34058

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.

Continuing Education

• Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 16 years of age or older
- Proof of physical examination within the past 12 months
- Weight not to exceed 130 pounds at time of licensure
- Has ridden less than 40 winners or less than three years since first having been licensed in any racing jurisdiction

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• Annual or Triennial

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$50 annual or \$120 triennial
- Renewal Fee \$50 annual or \$120 triennial

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Average Annual Salary - \$26,874.00

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission

Shepherd Mall 2614 Villa Prom Oklahoma City, OK 73107 (405) 943-6472

Land Surveyor, Intern

JOB DESCRIPTION

A land surveyor intern works under the supervision of a land surveyor to determine official land and water boundaries by establishing measurement points, elevation lines, areas, and land contours. The intern also plans fieldwork for survey parties, researches survey documents, and prepares charts and reports for clients. The intern has many of the same responsibilities of the land surveyor; however, an intern is unable to sign or seal plates and specifications. Most intern land surveyors are employed by engineering, architectural, and survey firms or by public utility companies.

OES 22521

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Educational possibilities include land-surveying degrees from land surveying curriculums, ABET-accredited, and civil engineering degrees.
- Registration may also be based on experience and examination.
- Possible areas of study relate to degree selected.
- Applicants with an acceptable degree may, upon successful completion of the fundamentals of land surveying, be certified as a land surveyor intern while acquiring the necessary experience to file for professional registration.

Continuing Education

• Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Good character
- Resident of Oklahoma or currently registered state of residence
- Acceptable work experience evaluated on an individual basis in accordance with requirements of the law

Restrictions

None

License Duration

Two years

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$25
- Renewal Fee \$30

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Fundamentals of Land Surveying - 8 Hours

Land Surveyor, Intern

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include trigonometry, algebra, optics, definitions of terms, economics, surveying (instruments, orientation, horizontal-vertical-angular measurements, triangulation, note keeping, route surveying, etc.), and plane coordinate calculations.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$65	Twice a year - in	70 points
* Subject to change	April and October	
	(Application deadlines	
	are Feb. 15 th and Sep. 15 th)	

Reexamination

- Applicants who make 50 to 69 percent may apply for reexamination at the next scheduled examination. Applicants who make less than 50 percent must wait one year and file a new application with fees.
- Reexamination is permitted twice on one application, after which a new application must be filed.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$9.07 - \$16.13/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Registration for Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors 201 Northeast 27th Street, Suite 120 Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 521-2874

Land Surveyor, Registered

JOB DESCRIPTION

Land surveyors establish official land and water boundaries; write descriptions of land for deeds, leases, and other legal documents; and measure construction and mineral sites. They plan the fieldwork, select survey reference points, and determine the precise location of natural and constructed features of the survey project area. Land surveyors also record results of the survey and verify accuracy of the data through research and often prepare plans, maps, charts, and reports for legal documents. Engineering architectural and surveying firms, state and local agencies, or public utility companies employ most land surveyors.

OES 22311

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Educational possibilities include land surveying degrees from land surveying curriculums and ABETaccredited civil engineering degrees.
- Registration may also be based on experience and examination or on long-established practice and examination.
- Possible areas of study relate to educational selection.
- Applicants with an acceptable degree may, upon successful completion of the fundamentals of land surveying, be certified as a land surveyor intern while acquiring the necessary experience to file for professional registration.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Good character.
- Resident of Oklahoma or currently registered in state of residence
- Work experience is evaluated on an individual basis in accordance with requirements of the law

Restrictions

None

License Duration

Two years

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$50
- Renewal Fee \$50

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

- Fundamentals of Land Surveying 8 Hours
- Principles of Land Surveying and Public Domain 7 Hours
- Oklahoma Examination 1 Hour

Land Surveyor, Registered

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas covered on the Fundamentals of Land Surveying exam include trigonometry, algebra, optics, definitions of terms, economics, surveying (instruments, orientation, horizontal-vertical-angular measurements, triangulation, note keeping, route surveying, etc.), and plane coordinate calculations.
- Possible examination areas covered on the Principles of Land Surveying and Public Domain exam
 include professional principles, property surveys, property survey descriptions, and subdivision
 planning and design.

Examination Fee
* Fundamentals of

Twice a year - in

To points

Reexamination

- Applicants who make 50 to 69 percent may apply for reexamination at the next scheduled examination. Applicants who make less than 50 percent must wait one year and file a new application with fees.
- Reexamination is permitted twice on one application, after which a new application must be filed.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$9.94 - \$ 18.52/hour

* Subject to change

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Registration for Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors 201 Northeast 27th Street, Suite 120 Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 521-2874

Landscape Architect

JOB DESCRIPTION

A landscape architect plans and designs the development of land areas such as residential and recreational areas, parks, and public facilities. A landscape architect strives to develop land areas that are attractive, functional, and environmentally appropriate for the site. The landscape architect analyzes the natural elements such as climate, drainage, soil, and vegetation to develop a detailed proposal for clients. The landscape architect draws or constructs a three-dimensional plan indicating new topography, vegetation, walkways, and landscape amenities. Various types of firms such as; private landscape architect firms, and construction contractors employ landscape architects.

OES 22302

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Applicants graduating after July 1, 1989 must have an accredited degree in landscape architecture and three years of approved training. If the candidate met statutory requirement prior to July 1, 1986, a degree is not required, but three years of approved training are required.
- Major areas of study include the history and theory of landscape architecture, horticulture, agriculture, engineering, etc.
- An internship of three years of training under the direct supervision of a landscape architect is required. Partial credit may be earned under an architect, engineer, land surveyor, or planner.

Continuing Education

• Twelve hours in health, safety, welfare a year. 24 hours every two years.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Good moral character
- 21 years of age
- Legal resident of Oklahoma (if applying for initial registration)

Restrictions

- Fraud, deception, or misrepresentation in applying for a certificate of registration, certificate of authority, or in taking the examinations
- Noncompliance with statutory, rule, and regulation requirements for qualifying for licensure
- Violating the State Architectural Act or any rule, regulation, or order issued by the Board
- Conviction of a felony
- Mentally impaired
- Gross incompetence
- For additional grounds for denial, revocation, suspension, refusal to renew, orders, injunctions, civil and/or criminal penalties, see the Oklahoma Administrative Code, Title 55, of the Board of Governors of the Licensed Architects and Landscape Architects of Oklahoma.

License Duration

• All licenses expire June 30 and are renewed every two years.

Landscape Architect

Licensing Fees

• Application Fee - \$100 for reciprocal license

• License Fee - \$100 in even years, \$200 in odd years

• Renewal Fee - \$200

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Landscape Architectural Registration Exam (L.A.R.E.)

Description

• Both written and practical

- Written examination areas include legal and administrative aspects of practice, programming and environmental analysis, conceptualization and communication, design synthesis, integration of technical and design requirements, grading and drainage, implementation of design through construction process, and state exam component - Oklahoma Plant Materials.
- Possible practical examination areas include conceptualization and communication, design synthesis, integration of technical and design requirements, and grading and drainage sections that require graphic presentations of exam questions and problems.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$525 plus \$75	Once a year	75% on each section
Administration Fee (1994)	in mid-June	
* Subject to change	Graphic sections	
	in December.	

Reexamination

- Candidate must pass all sections in six attempts or all credits are forfeited and the candidate must take the complete examination over.
- If a candidate fails to set for exams for six consecutive years, reapplication is necessary.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$17.02 - \$24.38/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Board of Governors of the Licensed Architects and Landscape Architects of Oklahoma 11212 N. May Avenue, #110 Oklahoma City, OK 73 120-6335

(405) 751-6512

Lead-Based Paint Abatement Worker

JOB DESCRIPTION

A lead-based paint abatement worker conducts abatement activities in accordance with the procedures and requirements of the pre-abatement plan.

OES 87899

EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• Successful completion of a DEQ accredited Lead-Based Paint Abatement Worker training course.

Continuing Education

 Successful completion of an annual DEQ accredited Lead-Based Paint Abatement Worker Refresher training course.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

None

Certification Duration

• Certifications are valid from date of authorization until March 31 immediately following the authorization.

Certification Fee

- Initial Fee \$30
- Renewal \$15

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination

• No exam required

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$7.60 - \$12.63/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Department of Environmental Quality

Attention: LBP Program Staff P.O. Box 1677, Suite 4100 Oklahoma City, OK 73 101-1677

Lead-Based Paint Inspector

JOB DESCRIPTION

A lead-based paint inspector measures the concentration of lead in paint through a surface-by-surface investigation. The inspector determines the exact locations of lead-based paint and performs clearance testing.

OES 21908

EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

Successful completion of an annual DEQ accredited Lead-Based Paint Inspector training course.

Continuing Education

- Successful completion of an annual DEQ accredited Lead-Based Paint Inspector Refresher training course.
- Successful completion of a Lead-Based Paint Inspector Exam is required every three years.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• No additional experience requirements are necessary.

Certification Duration

• Certifications are valid from the date of authorization until March 31 immediately following the authorization.

Certification Fee

- Initial Certification \$200
- Certification Renewal \$100

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Lead-Based Paint Inspector Certification Exam

Description

• 100 multiple choice questions

Examination Fee

• \$50 per certification exam per individual

Reexamination

• Every three years: must score 75% or better on exam.

Lead-Based Paint Inspector

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$10.55 - \$15.43/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Department of Environmental Quality

Attention: LBP Program Staff P.O. Box 1677, Suite 4100 Oklahoma City, OK 73 101-1677

Lead-Based Paint Inspector/Risk Assessor

JOB DESCRIPTION

A lead-based paint inspector measures the concentration of lead in paint through a surface-by-surface investigation. Determines exact locations of lead-based paint. Focuses on deteriorated lead-based paint. Identifies lead-based paint hazards. Considers resident and owner use patterns. Considers management and maintenance practices that will affect the paint. Identifies existence, nature, severity, source, and location of hazards. Recommends options to control hazards. May take dust and soil samples.

OES 21908

EDUCATION REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

 Successful completion of a DEQ accredited Lead-Based Paint Inspector training course and a DEQ accredited Lead-Based Paint Risk Assessor training course.

Continuing Education

- Successful completion of an annual DEQ accredited Lead-Based Paint Inspector/Risk Assessor Refresher training course.
- Successful completion of a Lead-Based Paint Inspector/Risk Assessor Exam is required every three
 years.

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

One of the following education/experience requirements must be met:

- Bachelor's degree and one year of experience in a related field (e.g., lead, asbestos, environmental remediation work, or construction)
- Associate's degree and two years of experience in a related field (e.g., lead, asbestos, environmental remediation work, or construction)
- Certification as an industrial hygienist, professional engineer, registered architect and/or certification in a related engineering/health/environmental field (e.g., safety professional, environmental scientist)
- A high school diploma (or equivalent), and at least three years of experience in a related field (e.g., lead, asbestos, environmental remediation work, or construction)

Certification Duration

• Certifications are valid from the date of authorization until March 31 immediately following the authorization.

Certification Fee

- Initial Certification \$300
- Certification Renewal \$150

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

Lead-Based Paint Inspector/Risk Assessor Certification Exam

Description

• 100 multiple choice questions

Lead-Based Paint Inspector/Risk Assessor

Examination Fee

• \$50 per certification exam per individual

Reexamination

• Every 3 years. Passing is a score of 78% or better on exam.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$10.55 - \$15.43

LICENSING AGENCY

Department of Environmental Quality

Attention: LBP Program Staff P.O. Box 1677, Suite 4100 Oklahoma City, OK 73101-1677

Lead-Based Paint Project Designer

JOB DESCRIPTION

A lead-based paint project designer designs abatement projects for target housing buildings with 10 or more units and all projects in public buildings. Prepares a pre-abatement plan for all designed projects. For large-scale abatement projects: develops and implements an occupant protection plan; develops lead-based paint abatement and lead-based paint hazard reduction methods, including restricted practices; develops interior dust abatement/cleanup or lead hazard control and reduction methods; develops clearance standards and testing; and formulates the integration of lead-based paint abatement methods with modernization and rehabilitation projects.

OES 22128

EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

Successful completion of a DEQ accredited Lead-Based Paint Supervisor training course and a DEQ accredited Lead-Based Paint Project Designer training course.

Continuing Education

 Successful completion of an annual DEQ accredited Lead-Based Paint Project Design Refresher course.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Bachelor's degree in engineering, architecture, or a related profession, and one year of experience in building construction and design or a related field; or
- Four years experience in building construction and design or a related field.

Certification Duration

 Certifications are valid from the date of authorization until March 31 immediately following the authorization.

Certification Fees

Initial Fee - \$500
Certification Renewal - \$250

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• No exam required

OKLAHOMA WAGE

Median Range \$19.76 - \$35.26/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Department of Environmental Quality

Attention: LBP Program Staff P.O. Box 1677, Suite 4100 Oklahoma City, OK 73101-1677

Lead-Based Paint Supervisor

JOB DESCRIPTION

A lead-based supervisor ensures that abatement activities are conducted in accordance with regulatory requirements. In projects involving the abatement of less than 10 units, develops a written pre-abatement planned abatement report for each assigned unit. Maintains accessibility at all times when abatement activities are being conducted. Ensures completion of all abatement activities according to applicable standards. Develops and implements an occupant protection plan.

OES 15017

EDUCATION REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

Successful completion of a DEQ accredited Lead-Based Paint Supervisor training course.

Continuing Education

- Successful completion of an annual DEQ accredited Lead-Based Paint Supervisor Refresher training course.
- Successful completion of the Lead-Based Paint Supervisor Exam is required every three years.

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualification/Experience

One of the following education/experience requirements must be met:

- One year of experience as a certified lead-based paint abatement worker; or
- At least two years of experience in a related field (e.g., lead, asbestos, environmental remediation work, or construction) or in the building trades

Certification Duration

• Certifications are valid from the date of authorization until March 31 immediately following the authorization.

Certification Fee

Initial Certification - \$150
Certification Renewal - \$75

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Lead-Based Paint Supervisor Certification Exam

Description

• 100 multiple choice questions

Examination Fee

• \$50 per certification exam per individual.

Reexamination

• Every three years. Passing criteria is a sore of 80% or better on exam.

Lead-Based Paint Supervisor

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$14.99 - \$25.94/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Department of Environmental Quality

Attention: LBP Program Staff P.O. Box 1677, Suite 4100 Oklahoma City, OK 73 101-1677

Manicurist

JOB DESCRIPTION

A manicurist cleans and shapes fingernails and toenails using appropriate remover and swabs, scissors, files, and emery boards. Also, a manicurist softens cuticles with cosmetic preparations such as water and oil and polishes fingernails and toenails using powdered polish and buffer. Manicurists are often responsible for cleaning and maintaining their equipment, organization of their work area, and client recruitment and scheduling. Most manicurists work in beauty salons, barbershops, and department stores. Many manicurists also practice cosmetology.

OES 68008

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Eighth-grade education or equivalent
- 600 clock hours at an approved beauty school or 1200 clock hours covering beauty school curriculum.
- Possible areas of study include nail structure, composition and diseases, hygiene, personality, salesmanship, poise, and sanitation and safety procedures specific to manicuring and pedicuring.
 Theory and clinic practice includes artificial nail application and care, cosmetology law, and board rules and regulations.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 16 years of age to enroll in manicurist course
- 17 years of age or a high school graduate for license

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$15
- Renewal Fee \$15

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

 National Manicuring and Sculptured Nail Test (administered by the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology)

Manicurist

Description

- Both written and practical
- Possible written examination areas include scientific concepts, manicuring skills, and artificial nails (includes sanitation, nail structure, and growth; irregularities and nail disease, skin, muscles, bones, nerves, and blood circulation; manicuring purpose and effect, supplies, and products; and varied procedures).
- Possible practical applications include arrangement of table (implements, sanitation, and sterilization); removal of polish, filing, and shaping of nails; treatment of cuticle; proper use of implements; application of emollient cream and hand arm massage; and application of two sculptured nails and polish.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$15	Monday - Thursday	75% on both the
	First Three Weeks	Written and Practical Exam.
	of the Month.	

Reexamination

- Registration is required at least 30 days prior to reexamination.
- If reregistered within six months of initial examination, only reexamination of the failed portion of exam is necessary (written or practical).
- After second failure, work permit is not issued; after four failures, review hours are required before reregistering.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$5.64 - \$7.92/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology 2200 Classen Boulevard, Suite 1530 Oklahoma City, OK 73106 (405) 521-2441

Marital and Family Therapist, Licensed

JOB DESCRIPTION

Marital and family therapy means the treatment of disorders, whether cognitive, affective, or behavioral, within the context of marital and family systems. Marital and family therapy involves the professional application of family systems theories and techniques in the delivery of services to individuals, marital pairs, and families for the purpose of treating such disorders. Such services are offered to the general public directly or through public and private organizations, for a fee, monetary or otherwise.

OES 27108

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

 Minimum of a master's degree in marital and family therapy or equivalent. Areas of study include theoretical foundations, assessment and treatment, human development, abnormal human behavior, ethics and professional studies, and research. Internship consisting of 300 clock hours under university supervision in a counseling setting.

Continuing Education

• 20 clock hours for each 12 months preceding renewal. Continuing education must relate to academic areas of theoretical foundations, assessment and treatment, ethics and professional studies, human development and research. Continuing education must be targeted toward a professional audience and must be presented by a licensed or certified presenter.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 21 years of age
- Good moral character
- Work experience includes two years of full-time marital and family therapy under the supervision of an approved supervisor.

Restrictions

• Each complaint evaluated individually by the Licensed Marital and Family Therapy Advisory Board.

License Duration

• The first licensing period is for two years; licenses must be renewed annually thereafter.

Licensing Fees

Application Fee - \$200
License Fee - \$100
Renewal Fee - \$100

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Examination in Marital and Family Therapy

Marital and Family Therapist, Licensed

Description

- Written national exam
- Oral exam covering Oklahoma Licensed Marital and Family Therapy Law and Regulations and psychopathology.

Examination Fee\$100
April and November

Passing Criteria
64%

Reexamination

- Six-month interval after first examination attempt
- After second examination attempt, applicant must wait two years before reapplying to take exam.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$12.49 - \$21.08/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Licensed Marital and Family Therapy1000 Northeast 10th Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299
(405) 271-7265

Mechanical Contractor

JOB DESCRIPTION

A mechanical contractor works on the installation, assembly, or repair of heating and air conditioning, gas piping, sheet metal, or refrigeration systems. Mechanical contractors supervise and manage activities or personnel, supply material, and solicit mechanical contracts. A mechanical contractor may operate as an individual, firm, partnership, or corporation installing mechanical equipment in residential, commercial, and industrial buildings.

OES 85902

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include mechanical and electrical requirements for heating, air conditioning, refrigeration, duct fabrication and installation, and natural gas piping.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 20 years of age
- Four years' experience in the field
- Two years' experience may be substituted for approved classroom training

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$50
- Renewal Fee \$50

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

Mechanical Contractor Examination

Description

- Written
- Possible written examination components relate to the International Mechanical Code, including heating requirements, air conditioning requirements, duct requirements, refrigeration requirements, natural gas piping requirements, business laws and regulations.

Mechanical Contractor

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$50	Once a month,	70%
	except in June.	

Reexamination

- 30-day waiting period between first and second exams; 90-day waiting period between all subsequent exams.
- Unlimited reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$9.13 - \$15.03/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Health Department

Occupational Licensing Division - 0509 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-5217

Mechanical Inspector

JOB DESCRIPTION

A mechanical inspector specializes in the inspection of heating and air conditioning, gas piping, sheet metal, or refrigeration systems. The inspector examines and operates installed mechanical equipment, appliances, and devices to determine proper functioning and compliance with construction standards and codes. Generally, the inspector inspects the condition and position of assembled parts, quality of workmanship, and the compliance of assembly plants. Local and state governments often employ mechanical inspectors.

OES 21908

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- One possible knowledge area is an understanding of the International Mechanical Code.

Continuing Education

- Five hours of continuing education annually.
- Continuing education includes state-approved courses in the mechanical trade.

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Mechanical inspectors employed by cities with populations greater than 10,000 must obtain a state license.

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• One year (expires June 30 each year).

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$25
- Renewal Fee \$25 plus \$5 late charge after July 30

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• There is no state exam. The applicant must submit certification by a National Code organization, such as the Building Officials and Code Administration (BOCA), which requires the BOCA Examination.

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include calculations and rule applications of the Model Mechanical Code gas requirements; venting of appliances; and installation of refrigeration, heating, and air conditioning.

Mechanical Inspector

Examination Fee \$75 - \$105 Varies by Organization **Date** Monday – Friday Passing Criteria 75%

Reexamination

• Reexaminations may be taken each time the exam is offered.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$10.55 - \$15.43/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Health Department

Occupational Licensing Division - 0509 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-5217

Mechanical Journeyman

JOB DESCRIPTION

A mechanical journeyman specializes in the installation, alteration, and repair of heating and air conditioning, gas piping, sheet metal, or refrigeration systems. The mechanical journeyman uses hand and power tools to connect and assemble mechanical components. Mechanical journeymen also follow design and assembly plans and test mechanical functioning. Mechanical journeymen must be employed by a mechanical contractor and may work on residential, commercial, and industrial installations.

OES 98102

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include heating, air conditioning, ducts, refrigeration, and natural gas piping.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 19 years of age
- Three years experience in the field
- Two years experience may be substituted for approved classroom training

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$25
- Renewal Fee \$25

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Journeyman Mechanical Exam

Description

- Written
- Possible written examination areas include heating, air conditioning, ducts, refrigeration, natural gas piping, Laws and regulations.

Mechanical Journeyman

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$25	Once a Month,	70%
	except in June.	

Reexamination

- 30-day waiting period between first and second exams; 90-day waiting period between all subsequent exams.
- Unlimited reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$6.90 - \$9.81/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Health Department

Occupational Licensing Division - 0509 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-5217

Mine Fire Boss (Underground)

JOB DESCRIPTION

A fire boss inspects underground mines, work sites, intake/return air passageways, and travel ways before each work shift to ensure that there is no collection of mine gases. The fire boss also must make daily reports on all findings. A fire boss works in the mining industry in a variety of underground mines such as coal and copper mines.

OES 21911

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include mine gases, ventilation, apparatus and instruments, electricity as
 applied to mining, mine explosions and fires, explosives and blasting, general mining, and first aid to
 the injured.
- Students who have completed an accredited two-year or four-year mining program are credited one year of experience toward a fire boss.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- State resident and employment in Oklahoma
- Must hold a first-aid certificate issued within one year prior to the date of the examination by an organization recognized by the State Mining Commission.
- Two years of practical underground experience

Restrictions

- Conviction of a felony may be cause for revocation of certificate.
 - Violations of restrictions on the handling of explosives as per BATF P4500.7.

Certificate Duration

Lifetime

Certification Fees

• Certification Fee - \$10

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Fire Boss Examination

Mine Fire Boss (Underground)

Description

- Both written and oral
- Written and oral examinations pertain to the requirements and qualifications of Underground Miners.
- Possible examination areas include mine gases, ventilation, apparatus and instruments, electricity as applied to mining, mine explosions and fires, explosives and blasting, general mining, first aid to the injured, Code of Federal Regulation-30 (CFR-30), and Title 45 Oklahoma Mining Statutes.

Examination Fee Date Passing Criteria \$10 Third Tuesday 76% of Every Month.

Reexamination

- A 60-day waiting period is required after initial exam before a reexamination can be scheduled.
- Two reexaminations are permitted.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$11.74 - \$19.00/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

State Mining Commission 4040 North Lincoln, Suite 107 Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 521-3859

Mine Foreman (Underground)

JOB DESCRIPTION

A mine foreman coordinates the activities of personnel, inspects mines, and instructs supervisors to take necessary measures to improve production and working conditions. A mine foreman also directs the opening of new underground rooms and passageways and the construction and installation of equipment as designated by the mine superintendent. Mine foremen in the mining industry often concentrate on one area such as coal, copper, or metallic ore mining.

OES 15021

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include mine gases, ventilation, apparatus and instruments, electricity as
 applied to mining, mine explosions and fires, explosives and blasting, general mining, and first aid
 application.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Resident of the state of Oklahoma and employed in Oklahoma
- Must hold a first-aid certificate issued within one year prior to the date of the examination by an organization recognized by the State Mining Commission.
- A student who has completed an accredited two-year or four-year mining program shall be credited one year of experience.
- Three years of practical underground experience

Restrictions

- Conviction of a felony may be cause for revocation of certificate.
- Violations of restrictions on the handling of explosives as per BATF P4500.7

Certificate Duration

Lifetime

Certification Fees

• Certification Fee - \$15

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Mine Foreman Certificate of Competency

Mine Foreman (Underground)

Description

- Both written and oral
- Examination areas relate to requirements and qualifications of Underground Miners covering areas such as mine gases, ventilation, apparatus and instruments, electricity as applied to mining, mine explosions and fires, explosives and blasting, general mining, first aid, Code of Federal Regulation-30 (CFR-30), and Title 45 Oklahoma Mining Statutes.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$15	Third Tuesday	76%
	of Every Month.	

Reexamination

- A 60-day waiting period is required after initial exam before a reexamination can be scheduled.
- Two reexaminations are allowed.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$14.17 - \$34.91/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

State Mining Commission 4040 North Lincoln, Suite 107 Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 521-3859

Mine Shot Firer (Underground)

JOB DESCRIPTION

A mine shot firer determines strength and pattern of blast required, then charges and detonates explosives to fracture or separate stone or minerals from solid formations. The mine shot firer must prepare the work site for the explosion, including determining the appropriate location, installing explosives, and ensuring all safety laws are followed. An underground mine shot firer works in underground mines, pits, or quarries.

OES 87905

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Knowledge areas are related to requirements and qualifications of underground miners.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 21 years of age
- Must hold a first-aid certificate issued within one year prior to the date of the examination by an organization recognized by the State Mining Commission.
- One year of practical underground experience

Restrictions

- Conviction of a felony
- Violations of restrictions on the handling of explosives as per BATF P4500.7.

Certificate Duration

• Lifetime

Certification Fees

• Certification Fee - \$10

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Shot Firer Examination

Description

- Both written and oral
- Examination areas are related to the requirements and qualifications of Underground Miners.

Mine Shot Firer (Underground)

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$10	Third Tuesday	76%
	of Every Month.	

Reexamination

- A 60-day waiting period is required after initial exam before a reexamination can be scheduled.
- Two reexaminations are allowed.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$5.75 - \$ 12.00/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

State Mining Commission 4040 North Lincoln, Suite 107 Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 521-3859

Mine Superintendent (Underground)

JOB DESCRIPTION

A mine superintendent plans and coordinates activities of mining personnel. The superintendent studies survey data and confers with engineers and mining personnel to determine the excavation and operation plans for the development of the mine. Monitoring the observance of mining laws, safety procedures, and excavation is also the responsibility of the underground superintendent. Underground superintendents are normally employed in the mining industry and supervise the excavation of minerals such as coal, ore, or rock.

OES 15021

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include mine gases, ventilation, apparatus and instruments, electricity as
 applied to mining, mine explosions and fires, explosives and blasting, general mining, and first-aid
 application.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Resident of the state of Oklahoma and employed in Oklahoma
- Must hold a first-aid certificate issued within one year prior to the date of the examination by an
 organization recognized by the State Mining Commission.
- A student who has completed an accredited two-year or four-year mining program shall be credited one year of experience.
- Five years of practical underground experience

Restrictions

- Conviction of a felony may be cause for revocation of certificate.
- Violations of restriction on the handling of explosives as per BATF P4500.7

Certificate Duration

Lifetime

Certification Fee

Certification Fee - \$20

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Superintendent Examination

Mine Superintendent (Underground)

Description

- Both written and oral
- Examination questions relate to requirements and qualifications of Underground Miners and cover such areas as mine gases, ventilation, apparatus and instruments, electricity as applied to mining, mine explosions and fires, explosives and blasting, general mining, first aid, Code of Federal Regulation-30 (CFR-30), and Title 45 Oklahoma Mining Statutes.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$20	Third Tuesday	76%
	of Every Month.	

Reexamination

- A 60-day waiting period is required after initial exam before a reexamination can be scheduled.
- Two reexaminations are allowed.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$14.71 - \$34.91/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

State Mining Commission 4040 North Lincoln, Suite 107 Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 521-3859

Mine Surface Supervisor

JOB DESCRIPTION

A surface supervisor coordinates the activities of mine or quarry workers operating equipment used to move personnel, machinery, and supplies to various levels at a mine. The supervisor is responsible for personnel management, monitoring of machinery maintenance, and enforcement of safety procedures and practices. Surface supervisors work in the mining industry and often concentrate on the extraction of rock.

OES 81011

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include foreman responsibilities, ground control and fire prevention, explosives and drilling, transportation and travel ways, electricity, equipment operation, personal protection, auger mining general rules, first aid, mine gases, principles of mine rescue, and reclamation.

Continuing Education

• Refresher classes are given annually for supervisors.

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Must hold a first-aid certificate issued within one year prior to the date of the examination by an organization recognized by the State Mining Commission.
- One year experience working in the mining industry

Restrictions

• Conviction of a felony may be cause for revocation of certificate.

Certificate Duration

- Coal One year.
- Non-Coal Two years.

Certification Fee

• Certification Fee - \$5

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Surface Supervisor Certification Examination

Description

- Written
- A possible examination area is Title 45, Mining Statutes (Oklahoma).

Mine Surface Supervisor

Examination Fee

Fee Date

Passing Criteria 75%

\$5

Monthly as required at the Oklahoma Miner Training Institute and at the request of mine companies.

Reexamination

• Unlimited reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$11.66 - \$19.12/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

State Mining Commission 4040 North Lincoln, Suite 107 Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 521-3859

Miner, Practical (Underground)

JOB DESCRIPTION

A practical miner extracts minerals from underground mines. The miner uses hand or power tools and explosives to expose the minerals, then secures the area by installing supportive wall structures. The practical miner also makes it possible to accommodate equipment by laying mining tracks. A practical miner is employed in the mining industry and may specialize in the extraction of one mineral such as ore, coal, or rock.

OES 87989

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include mine gases, ventilation, apparatus and instruments, electricity as
 applied to mining, mine explosions and fires, explosives and blasting, general mining, and first-aid
 application.
- One year of practical experience as an underground miner.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Resident of the state of Oklahoma and employed in Oklahoma
- Must hold a first-aid certificate issued within one year prior to the date of the examination by an organization recognized by the State Mining Commission.
- One year of practical experience as a miner or equivalent experience as defined by the Mining Commission.

Restrictions

- Conviction of a felony may be cause for revocation of certificate.
- Violations of handling of explosives as per BATF P4500.7

Certificate Duration

Lifetime

Certification Fee

• Certification Fee - \$5

EXAMINATION REOLJIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Practical Miner Certificate of Competency

Monitoring Well and Geotechnical Boring Driller

Description

- Both written and oral
- Examination questions relate to requirements and qualifications of Underground Miners, covering such areas asmine gases, ventilation, apparatus and instruments, electricity as applied to mining, mine explosions and fires, explosives and blasting, general mining, first aid, Code of Federal Regulation-30 (CFR-30), and Title 45 Oklahoma Mining Statutes.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$5	Third Tuesday	76%
	of Every Month.	

Reexamination

- A 60-day waiting period is required after initial exam before a reexamination can be scheduled.
- Two reexaminations are allowed.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$8.79 - \$13.21/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

State Mining Commission 4040 North Lincoln, Suite 107 Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 521-3859

Monitoring Well and Geotechnical Boring Driller

JOB DESCRIPTION

A monitoring well and geotechnical boring driller operates a portable drilling rig to drill wells using geotechnical boring techniques to penetrate the earth's surface. The well driller deals with construction of the well, equipment maintenance, record keeping of the drilling process, and geological data. The well driller also monitors water quality for contamination by collecting and inspecting core samples for pollutants. A monitoring well driller may be self-employed or employed by private industry or state and local governments.

OES 87902

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

 There are no specific educational requirements; however, knowledge of math, physics, science, and safety is necessary.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 90-day residency unless reciprocity applies
- Two years experience in monitoring well drilling or one year experience as a licensed operator.

Restrictions

None

License Duration

Two years

Licensing Fees

Application Fee - \$300
Renewal Fee - \$300
Indemnity Fund Fee - \$100

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

Monitoring Well and Geotechnical Boring Drillers Examination

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include Oklahoma Water Resources Board rules and regulations, general drilling knowledge, monitoring well drilling, and legal descriptions.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$50	Every Thursday	70%, including 50% of Legal
	8:00 - 3:00	Description Questions

Monitoring Well and Geotechnical Boring Driller

Reexamination

- 30-day waiting period Unlimited number of reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

Median Range \$7.25 - \$9.36/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Water Resources Board

3800 N. Classen Blvd. Oklahoma City, OK 73118 (405) 530-8800

Motorcycle Training School Instructor, Commercial

JOB DESCRIPTION

A motorcycle training school instructor conducts classes and demonstrates the operation of motorcycles for new or experienced riders so they can obtain a license and/or become safer riders. An instructor prepares and assigns lessons, evaluates student progress, and observes students practicing skills.

0ES 31317

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- High school diploma or equivalent
- Instructor's certificate issued by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation

Continuing Education

• Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Valid Oklahoma driver's license with motorcycle endorsement
- At least 21 years of age
- Good moral character
- Driving record must meet approval of the Department of Public Safety.

Restrictions

Conviction of a felony

License Duration

One year.

Licensing Fees

• Licensure Fee - \$5

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Written vision and driving test every two years

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$6.86 - \$11.78/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Department of Public Safety 3600 N. Martin Luther King Ave. Oklahoma City, OK 73136 (405) 521-6223

Nurse Anesthetist, Certified Registered

JOB DESCRIPTION

A certified registered nurse anesthetist (CRNA) is a registered nurse qualified to administer intravenous, spinal, and other anesthetics to prevent pain during surgical operations, deliveries, or other medical and dental procedures. The CRNA must administer prescribed anesthetic in accordance with own authority or a doctor's prescription and monitor patient's preoperative, operative, and postoperative condition. A CRNA also informs the physician of the patient's condition. CRNAs are normally employed in hospitals, health care centers, offices of dentistry, and surgery centers.

OES 32502

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Completion of an educational program of a school of nurse anesthetists accredited by the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists.
- Possible areas of study include anatomy, physiology, microbiology, chemistry, nutrition, psychology, and behavioral sciences.
- Supervised clinical experience in health facilities
- Completion of licensing requirements for a registered nurse

Continuing Education

- 40 hours of continuing education over a two-year period, required by national certifying body.
- Continuing education must be related to the field of anesthesiology.
- 15 units in administration of anesthesia (optional prescriptive authority initial application), 8 units for renewal, approved by AANA.

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Current Oklahoma license to practice registered nursing
- Current certificate of recognition from Oklahoma Board of Nursing

Restrictions

Individual Board review for Board violations

National Certification Duration

Two years.

National Certification Fee

 Renewal fee established by the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists Council on Certification/Re-certification.

Certificate of Recognition fees

- \$50 initial certification of recognition
- \$20 renewal
- \$50 optional prescriptive authority
- \$20 renewal prescriptive authority

Nurse Anesthetist, Certified Registered

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Certifying exam for Nurse Anesthetist

Description

- Computerized
- Possible examination areas include anatomy, physiology, chemistry, psychology, pharmacology, and principles of professional practice.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
Not available	As Scheduled	Determined by the
	with Testing Center	American Association of
		Nurse Anesthetists
		Council on Certification

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$14.61 - \$19.42/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Recognition of Occupation by the licensing Board for registered nurses.

Oklahoma Board of Nursing

2915 North Classen Boulevard, Suite 524 Oklahoma City, OK 73106 (405) 962-1800

Nurse, Licensed Practical

JOB DESCRIPTION

A licensed practical nurse (LPN) cares for ill, injured, convalescent, and/or handicapped patients under the direction of physicians, dentists, or registered nurses. LPN's are often responsible for taking and recording a patient's temperature, blood pressure, and pulse. An LPN may also be required to assist with patient care by dressing wounds, bathing, or administering prescribed medications. Licensed practical nurses are employed in hospitals, clinics, private homes, long-term care facilities, and home health agencies.

OES 32505

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Completion of a state-approved practical nurse program.
- Areas of study include nursing courses, body structure and function, basic nutrition, and personal/vocational relationships.
- Supervised clinical experience.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• High school diploma, GED equivalent, or meet criteria for an adult high school diploma.

Restrictions

- Individual Board review for felony convictions.
- Individual Board review for previous disciplinary action on any other health care license.

License Duration

Two years

Licensing Fees

- Application and License Fee \$55
- Renewal Fee \$50

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• National Council Licensing Examination for Practical Nurses

Description

- Computerized
- Examination areas include nursing, body structure and function, medications, and basic nutrition.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$120 Testing Service	Individually	Pass/Fail
\$55 Application	Scheduled	

Nurse, Licensed Practical

Reexamination

• Unlimited reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$9.76 - \$12.48/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Board of Nursing

2915 North Classen Boulevard, Suite 524 Oklahoma City, OK 73106 (405) 962-1800

Nurse-Midwife, Certified

JOB DESCRIPTION

A nurse-midwife is a registered nurse who has successfully completed a recognized program of study and clinical experience in obstetrics and is qualified to provide care for expectant mothers whose pregnancies are apparently normal. The nurse-midwife furnishes professional medical care during the pregnancy, labor, delivery, and after-birth phases for both the mother and newborn infant. Midwives normally operate out of specialized health care facilities or work independently.

OES 32502

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Completion of a program of nurse midwifery accredited by the American College of Nurse-Midwives
- Possible areas of study include anatomy, physiology, chemistry, labor and delivery, family planning and gynecology, postpartum, and newborn and professional issues.
- Completion of licensing requirements for a registered nurse

Continuing Education

- Required to maintain national certification
- Continuing education areas must be approved by the American College of Nurse-Midwives and be related to the field of study.
- 45 contact hours in pharmocotherapeutics (optional prescriptive authority) initial application, 15 hours for renewal

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Currently hold Oklahoma Registered Nurse License (see RN requirements).
- Current certificate of recognition from the Oklahoma Board of Nursing

Restrictions

• Individual Board review for Board violations

National Certification Duration

• Lifetime

National Certification Fee

- Application fee \$50 must maintain Oklahoma RN licensure
- Renewal fee \$20 every two years
- Prescriptive authority initial application fee \$50
- Prescriptive authority renewal fee \$20 every two years

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• American College of Nurse-Midwives Certification Exam

Nurse-Midwife, Certified

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include prenatal, postnatal, labor and delivery, family planning and gynecology, newborn, and professional issues.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
Not Provided	Once a Year	Based on Individual
		Review, Standard Scale.

Reexamination

• Three reexaminations are offered within six months of notification.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$14.61 - \$19.42/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Board of Nursing

2915 North Classen Boulevard, Suite 524 Oklahoma City, OK 73106 (405) 962-1800

Nurse Practitioner, Advanced Registered

JOB DESCRIPTION

An advanced registered nurse practitioner (ARNP) is a registered nurse with advanced educational preparation that is qualified to perform in an expanded nursing role. An advanced registered nurse practitioner often performs physical examinations and orders and interprets diagnostic tests, records findings, and discusses these with physicians. The ARNP usually specializes in one of several areas: primary care, family practice, pediatric care, adult health care, or gerontological care. The ARNP normally treats patients in facilities such as public or private clinics, health centers and agencies, and private practices.

OES 32502

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Completion of a formal educational nurse practitioner program
- Possible knowledge areas include communication, interviewing, basic physical exam, pathophysiology, health maintenance, management of chronic illness, and health teaching and counseling.
- A five-month internship under the tutorship of another practitioner or physician is required.

Continuing Education

• 45 contact hours or equivalent or initial prescriptive authority (optional), 15 contact hours (or renewal of prescriptive authority).

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Must be licensed to practice registered nursing in Oklahoma

Certificate of Recognition Fees

- Application Fee \$50 Must maintain Oklahoma RN licensure
- Renewal Fee \$20 every two years
- Prescriptive authority initial application fee \$50
- Prescriptive authority renewal fee \$20 every two years.

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Varies depending upon national certifying body

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$14.61 - \$19.42/hour

Nurse Practitioner, Advanced Registered

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Board of Nursing 2915 North Classen Boulevard, Suite 524 Oklahoma City, OK 73106 (405) 962-1800

Nurse, Registered

JOB DESCRIPTION

A registered nurse (RN) provides services for purposes of nursing diagnosis and treatment of human responses to actual or potential health problems consistent with educational preparation. Knowledge and skill are the basis for assessment, analysis, planning, intervention, and evaluation used in the promotion and maintenance of health and nursing management of illness, injury, infirmity, restoration or optimal function, or death with dignity. Registered nurses may work in hospitals, nursing homes, clinics, schools, retirement communities, health maintenance organizations, industry, private homes, home health or any other setting which may require nursing knowledge.

OES 32502

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Associate or Bachelor's Degree in nursing from a state-approved school
- Possible areas of study include biological and physical sciences, social and behavioral sciences, in addition to nursing courses.
- Supervised clinical experience

Continuing Education

• Not Applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• High school diploma or equivalent

Restrictions

- Individual Board review of felony convictions
- Individual Board review of previous disciplinary action on any other health care license

License Duration

Two years

Licensing Fees

- Application and License Fee \$55
- Renewal Fee \$50

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• National Council Licensing Examination for Registered Nurses

Description

- Computerized
- Possible examination areas include mental health, pharmacology, nutrition, body structure and function, pathophysiology, asepsis, growth and development, documentation, communication, and teaching in addition to all areas of nursing.

Nurse, Registered

Examination Fee \$120 Testing Service \$55 Application

Date Individually Scheduled

Passing Criteria Pass/Fail

Reexamination

• Unlimited reexamination

OKALAHOMA WAGEMedian Range \$14.61 - 9

Median Range \$14.61 - \$19.42/hour

Licensing Agency

Oklahoma Board of Nursing 2915 North Classen Boulevard, Suite 524 Oklahoma City, OK 73106

Nurse Specialist, Clinical

JOB DESCRIPTION

A Nurse Specialist is a registered nurse with a master's degree in nursing who provides direct nursing care to a selected population of patients and manages the care of patients with complicated nursing problems.

OES 32502

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

(Recognition as an Advanced Practice Nurse)

Educational Level

• Master's Degree in Nursing

Continuing Education

• As required by national certifying body

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Current license to practice registered nursing in Oklahoma
- Certificate of recognition from the Oklahoma Board of Nursing

Restrictions

- Individual Board review for Board violations.
- Prescriptive Authority Approval (optional)
- 320 clock hours preceptorship
- 2 academic hours pharmacotheapeutics or equivalent
- 45 contact course hours in pharmacotherapeutic within 3 years immediately preceding application date
- Current RN license & recognition

Renewal

• 15 contact hours or one academic hour in pharmacotherapeutics

Licensing Fees

- Initial recognition fee \$50
- Renewal fee \$20 every two years
- Prescriptive authority initial application fee \$50
- Prescriptive authority renewal fee \$20 every two years
- RN licensure renewal \$50 every two years
- Certificate of recognition initial fee: \$50; renewal fee: \$20 every two years.

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• National Certification required - varies according to specialty

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$14.61 - \$19.42/hour

Nurse Specialist, Clinical

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Board of Nursing 2915 North Classen Boulevard, Suite 524 Oklahoma City, OK 73106

Nursing Home Administrator

JOB DESCRIPTION

A nursing home administrator directs the medical, nursing, and administrative activities of a nursing home to ensure that patients receive quality care and staff have the facilities, equipment, and support necessary to meet that goal. An administrator is responsible for developing policies and procedures for nursing home activities, establishing and following budgeting guidelines, and personnel management. The majority of nursing home administrators are employed at private nursing homes.

OES 15008

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- High school graduate (College degree required in 2001.)
- Successful completion of a course of study for a degree, or certificate in lieu of a degree, in nursing home administration or in a related health care administration field approved by the Board.
- Successful completion of a program in nursing home administration prescribed, adopted, and required by the Board.
- Possible areas of study include community health and related resource programs/relationships; nursing home law; nursing home economics and finance; the physical, psychological, and social aspects of aging; personnel management and group dynamics; nursing home administration; special health studies and health care delivery; and inter-professional relationships.

Continuing Education

- 20 hours a year.
- Oklahoma State Board of Examiners must approve continuing education hours for Nursing Home Administrators or by NAB.
- The Oklahoma State Board of Examiners must approve continuing education hours for Nursing Home Administrators or by NAB.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 21 years of age
- Sound physical and mental health
- After passing the National Association of Board (NAB) and State Standards Test, board interview is required.

Restrictions

- Obtaining or attempting to obtain a license by fraud or deceit
- Habitual indulgence in the use of narcotic drugs or alcohol
- Judicial determination of incompetence
- Gross negligence, fraud, dishonesty, malfeasance, or cheating in the management of a nursing home
- Suffering from an illness or injury for which the Health Department prohibits engagement in the practice of Nursing Home Administration and as approved by the Board

License Duration

One year

Nursing Home Administrator

Licensing Fees

• Application Fee - \$150

• License Fee- \$150

• Renewal Fee - \$150

• Original License - \$200

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

 National Association of Board of Nursing Home Administrators Examination and State Standards and Review

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include patient care, personnel management, financial management, marketing, public relations, physical resource management and law, and Codes Governing Board.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$150 - NAB Exam	Available	75% on both
\$100 - NAB Standards Review	Four Times a Year	
\$55 - State Standards Exam		
\$45 - State Standards Review		

Reexamination

Available four times a year

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$17.11 - \$25.48/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators 3033 North Walnut,. Suite IOOE Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 521-0991

Occupational Therapist

JOB DESCRIPTION

An occupational therapist is a registered health professional who plans, organizes, and provides a program of services to individuals whose lives have been impaired by physical, psychological, or developmental problems. The therapist usually works as part of a medical team to analyze patients' needs and to select appropriate activities designed to help patients develop independence, return to work, restore basic functions, and adjust to disabilities. Occupational therapists are employed largely in hospitals, schools, nursing homes, community health centers, and residential care facilities.

OES 32305

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Successful completion of an educational program in occupational therapy accredited by the Committee on Allied Health Education/American Medical Association in collaboration with the American Occupational Therapy Certification Board.
- Possible areas of study include physical, biological, and behavioral sciences and the application of occupational therapy theory and skills.
- Six months of supervised fieldwork

Continuing Education

• Twenty contact hours every two years

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Three recommendations are required. Two must be from licensed occupational therapists that can attest to the applicant's practical competence; the third must be from an associate who can affirm the applicant's moral and ethical attributes.

Restrictions

• Policy violations are reviewed individually by the American Occupational Therapy Certifying Board.

License Duration

• Expires annually on October 31.

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$100
- Renewal Fee \$75

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Certified Occupational Therapist Examination

Description

- Written
- Possible examination components include sensory motor components, cognitive component, psychosocial components, independent living-daily living skills, and program support.

Occupational Therapist

Examination Fee

\$250

Date

Twice a year - 4th Saturday of January and July

Passing Criteria Score of 450 or higher

Reexamination

• Unlimited reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$11.58 - \$25.68/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensing and Supervision P.O. Box 18256 Oklahoma City, OK 73154 (405) 848-6841

Occupational Therapist Assistant

JOB DESCRIPTION

An occupational therapy assistant works under the direction of a professional occupational therapist in carrying out rehabilitation programs. The assistant helps the therapist plan and carry out educational, vocational, and recreational activities aimed at helping patients regain use of those capacities impaired. Occupational therapy assistants are employed largely in hospitals, schools, nursing homes, community health centers, and residential care facilities.

OES 66021

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Successful completion of a program in occupational therapy approved by the American Occupational Therapy Association, verified by a photocopy of American Occupational Therapy Certification Board card.
- Possible areas of study include physical, biological, and behavioral sciences and application of occupational therapy theory and skills.
- Two months of supervised fieldwork

Continuing Education

Twenty contact hours every two years

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

Three recommendations are required. Two must be from licensed occupational therapists that can
attest to the applicant's practical competence; the third must be from an associate who can affirm the
applicant's moral and ethical attributes.

Restrictions

Policy violations are reviewed individually by the American Occupational Therapy Certifying Board.

License Duration

• Expires annually on October 31.

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$100
- Renewal Fee \$75

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Certified Occupational Therapy Assistant Examination

Description

- Written
- Possible examination components include independent living-daily living; physical, psychological, and emotional independent living-daily living; independent living-daily living: work; independent living-daily living: play-leisure; sensory motor components; psychosocial components; cognitive components; and program support.

Occupational Therapist Assistant

Examination Fee \$250

DateTwice a Year –
4th Saturday of
January and July

Passing Criteria Score of 450 or higher

Reexamination

• Unlimited reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$8.97 - \$17.65/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensing and Supervision P.O. Box 18256 Oklahoma City, OK 73154 (405) 848-6841

Operation and Maintenance (O&M) Contractor

JOB DESCRIPTION

A special, restricted contractor's license may be issued to a facility owner for the purpose of asbestos abatement for operation and maintenance purposes only. Any such asbestos abatement activity performed under an operation and maintenance license shall be limited to the scope of work described, in a site-specific operations and maintenance program, approved by, and at the discretion of the Commissioner.

OES 81005

EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

The responsible party, designated by the applicant, must have successfully completed and have
documentation provided for an asbestos abatement supervisor course supplied by providers accredited
by the EPA and all subsequent refresher training.

Continuing Education

• Responsible parties must complete required refresher training.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

 Contractor must have a respirator program meeting all requirements of the OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Administration) of the United States Department of Labor and of the DOL (Oklahoma State Department of Labor).

Restrictions

- The applicant shall designate one responsible party to be named on the license.
- Responsible parties shall be issued, at no charge, a DOL identification card, which must be available at the job site for inspection by the Department of Labor.

Licensing Duration

 One year. No asbestos abatement will be permitted after the expiration of a contractor's O&M license.

Licensing Fee

• Responsible parties may be changed or added to the license at any time by paying a fee of \$50 per change and addition.

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

(For Responsible Parties)

Examination Title

• Asbestos Abatement Supervisor's Exam

Description

Varies depending upon school.

Examination Fee

Included in course fee

Operation and Maintenance (O&M) Contractor

Reexamination

• Not available

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$12.87 - \$20.75/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Department of Labor Asbestos Division4001 N. Lincoln Blvd.
Oklahoma, OK 73105-5212
(405) 528-1500

Operation and Maintenance (O&M) Worker

JOB DESCRIPTION

An operation and maintenance (O&M) worker is involved in small-scale, short duration asbestos projects.

OES 87899

EDUCATION REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Successful completion and documentation for an asbestos abatement worker's course and subsequent refresher courses.
- O&M workers who perform only small-scale, short duration activities may be licensed as O&M workers by completion of an approved O&M course.

Continuing Education

Refresher courses accredited and related to asbestos abatement

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

None

Restrictions

- Must take required refresher course within two years of previous training or refresher course, or repeat the asbestos worker training requirements.
- License shall be issued in the name of the applicant and will be valid only when working for a licensed contractor.
- License cards must be at the job site for inspection by the Department of Labor.

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

Asbestos Abatement Workers Exam

Description

Varies depending upon school.

Examination Fee

- Varies depending upon school
- Included in course fee

Reexamination

• Not available

Operation and Maintenance (O&M) Worker

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$7.60 - \$12.63/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Department of Labor

Asbestos Division 4001 N. Lincoln Blvd. Oklahoma City, OK 73 105-5212 (405) 528-1500

Optometrist

JOB DESCRIPTION

An optometrist examines, diagnoses, and treats conditions of the visual system. Optometrists prescribe corrective procedures to improve and correct vision, utilizing vision therapy and training, corrective lenses, and control of the visual environment. Optometrists also examine patients for visual pathology or ocular manifestations of systematic disease and refer those pathological conditions to a medical practitioner or appropriate specialist. Optometrists normally work in groups or private practice, vision care centers, or elect to teach at schools of optometry.

OES 32108

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Doctor of Optometry degree from a COE accredited school of optometry.
- Possible areas of study include general and ocular pharmacology, anatomy of the eyes, use of the ophthalmoscope, retinoscope and the use of trial lenses, general anatomy, physiology, physics, chemistry, biology, bacteriology, ocularpathology, ocular neurology, ocular myology, psychology, physiological optics, optometrical mechanics, clinical optometry, visual field charting and orthoptics, general laws of optics and refraction, and CPR. Optometrists desiring to use ocular topical pharmaceutical agents shall have satisfactorily completed courses in general and ocular pharmacology.

Continuing Education

- Any three-day or more course in an optometry college accredited by the American Optometric Council on Education, or
- Any three or more day educational course sponsored by the American Optometric Association, or an affiliate of the American Optometric Association, or
- Up to eight hours annually of any course given by Vision Educational Foundation Eye Center(s) of Oklahoma.
 - Annual convention of the American Optometric Association
 - Annual convention of the Oklahoma Association of Optometric Physicians
 - Session of a regional congress of an Optometric Extension Program
 - State seminar of the graduate Clinic Foundation of O.E.P.
 - Post-graduate course of any class A college or university teaching optometry
 - Annual convention of any of the various State Optometric Associations of the U.S.
 - Post-graduate course sponsored by the American Academy of Optometrists
 - Southwest Council of Optometry
 - Southwest Contact Lens Society
 - Hear of America Contact Lens and Primary Care Congress
 - The Council on Optometric Practitioner Education (COPE) approved courses

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 21 years of age
- Good moral character

Optometrist

Restrictions

• The board shall have the power to revoke or suspend any certificate granted by it pursuant to the provisions of the board for fraud, conviction of crime, unprofessional and unethical conduct, habitual drunkenness, exorbitant charges, false representation of goods, gross incompetence, contagious disease, or any violation of any rule or regulation promulgated by the board.

License Duration

• One year.

Licensing Fees

- License Fee- \$150
- Renewal Fee- \$150

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

Examination required by Board of Examiners in Optometry

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include general and ocular pharmacology; anatomy of the eyes; use of the
 opthalmoscope, retinoscope, and trial lenses; general and ocular pharmacology; general anatomy;
 physiology; physics; chemistry; biology; bacteriology; ocular pathology; ocular neurology; ocular
 myology; psychology; physiological optics, optometrical mechanics, clinical optometry, visual field
 charting and orthoptics, the general laws of optics and refraction, and CPR.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$150	Third weekend in	75%
	July for examination.	
	Fourth weekend in January	
	for reexamination.	

Reexamination

- Reexamination is offered on the subjects failed at the next regular examination for one-half of the examination fee.
- If passing grades are not made on the second examination, a new application for the entire examination is required with an examination fee of \$150.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$23.64 - \$29.93/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Board of Examiners in Optometry 6912 E. Reno #302 Midwest City, OK 73110

Osteopathic Physician (D.O.)

JOB DESCRIPTION

Osteopathic physicians diagnose and treat disorders of the human body. Osteopathic medicine holds that the body is capable of making its own remedies against disease and other toxic conditions when it is in normal structural relationship and has favorable environmental conditions and adequate nutrition. Osteopathic physicians use generally accepted physical, pharmacological, and surgical methods of diagnosis and therapy while placing strong emphasis on the importance of body mechanics and manipulative methods to detect and correct faulty structure and function.

OES 32102

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine degree (D.O.)
- The curriculum includes all subjects commonly and generally taught by an accredited college of osteopathic medicine.
- A one-year, AOA-approved rotating internship or the equivalent thereof is also required.

Continuing Education

• Sixteen hours of American Osteopathic Association category 1-A continuing medical education is required annually.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 21 years of age
- Good moral character
- Postgraduate training

Restrictions

None

License Duration

Permanent with annual renewal

Licensing Fees

- Application/License Fee \$400
- License Renewal Fee \$200

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• COMLEX-USA (National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners)

Description

 Three-part comprehensive examination addressing basic sciences, clinical science, and clinical competence.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
Not available	Not available	75%

Osteopathic Physician (D.O.)

Reexamination

• Not available

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$55.04 and over/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Board of Osteopathic Examiners 4848 North Lincoln Blvd., Suite 100

4848 North Lincoln Blvd., Suite 100 Oklahoma City, OK 73 105-3321 (405) 528-8625

Peace Officer

JOB DESCRIPTION

A peace officer is defined as an appointed or elected officer whose duties are to preserve the public peace, protect life and property, prevent crime, serve warrants, and enforce laws and ordinances of the state or any political subdivision thereof.

OES 63014

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- High school diploma or GED
- Some law enforcement agencies within the state require a minimum number of college hours or a degree for employment.

Continuing Education

 Active, full-time peace officers must attend fifteen hours of continuing education approved by CLEET and one hour of mental health training annually.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 21 years of age
- Psychological examination
- All trainees shall be capable of full participation in all Basic Academy activities.
- Any trainee unable to physically or academically participate in all aspects of the Basic Academy shall not be able to satisfactorily complete the requirements for basic peace officer certification.

Restrictions

- Conviction of a felony or crime involving moral turpitude would disqualify participant.
- Individuals must be employed as a peace officer to attend the state-conducted academy.
- Conviction of domestic violence misdemeanor restricts the carrying of firearms.

Certificate Duration

Not available

Certification Fees

Not available.

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

Oklahoma Basic Peace Officer Certification Examination

Description

• This examination is a final comprehensive examination administered to each trainee who otherwise successfully completes all phases of the Basic Academy. No person shall receive peace officer certification until satisfactorily passing such examination.

Peace Officer

Examination FeeNo fee

Date
Upon Successful
Completion of the Unit

Passing Criteria 70%

Reexamination

• Trainees who fail the certification examination will be permitted to retake the examination within 10 working days. If a trainee fails the certification examination a second time, the trainee's agency head must petition the director in writing to request a third attempt.

Examination Title

- Basic Peace Officer Block Examination Description
- Each topic of instruction is taught as a separate unit within the functional area and a test method will
 be administered at designated intervals during the academy to determine the trainee's achievement of
 objectives.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
No fee	Upon Successful	First Aid - 80%; All
	Completion of the Unit	Other Examinations and
		Proficiency Tests - 70%

Reexamination

• Any trainee who fails a specific block examination will be permitted to retake that block examination a second time within five days of the first examination. If the trainee fails the block examination a second time, the trainee will be required to repeat the entire block of instruction and the block examination. If the trainee fails the block examination a third time, the trainee's agency head must petition the director stating the reasons why the trainee should be permitted to take the block examination a fourth time or repeat the block of instruction a third time.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$8.99 - \$13.66/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training 3530 North Martin Luther King Blvd. Oklahoma City, OK 73136 (405) 425-2758

Additional Information:

Effective July 1, 1994, a new program known as the Collegiate Officer Program (COP) was
implemented. This program is designed to provide an alternative route to peace officer certification
through COP courses, which are sponsored by interested colleges and universities. By participating in
Collegiate Officer Programs, criminal justice/police science students will have an opportunity to
complete mandatory peace officer training prior to being commissioned by a municipal, county, or
state entity of government.

Perfusionist, Licensed

JOB DESCRIPTION

A licensed perfusionist is involved in the functions necessary for the support, treatment, measurement, and supplementation of the cardiovascular system, circulatory, and respiratory systems to ensure the safe management of physiologic functions by monitoring the parameters of the system under the supervision of a physician.

OES 32925

Educational Level

• Completion of a perfusion education program approved by the Board.

Continuing Education

• Required for renewal.

Qualifications/Experience

None

Licensing Duration

• Renewed annually.

Licensing Fees

• \$400

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Certification of examination given by the American Board of Cardiovascular Perfusionist.

Description

Not available

Examination Fee

• The American Board of Cardiovascular Perfusionists assesses the cost of the examination.

Reexamination

• Not available

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$9.81 - \$19.02/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

State Board of Examiners of Perfusionists P.O. Box 18256 Oklahoma City, OK 73154 (405) 848-6841

Pesticide Applicator. Commercial (Certified)

JOB DESCRIPTION

A certified pesticide applicator applies pesticide to kill pests that infest buildings, surrounding areas, and agricultural settings. The pesticide applicator applies the pesticide through chemical spraying, dusting, or spreading granular materials. The pesticide applicator may also clean areas that harbor pests, select appropriate extermination methods and chemicals, and counsel clients on prevention and control of pests. A pesticide applicator certified to work the commercial sector travels to commercial properties such as restaurants, office buildings, educational institutions, or agricultural settings. A pesticide applicator may be self-employed or operate from an established firm.

OES 67008

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary for examination.
- Applicant must pass both the written and practical examinations.
- Possible areas of study include pesticide laws, rules, safety, use, disposal, worker protection, ground water, and endangered species.

Continuing Education

- Continuing education varies as to category of pest control (from 5 to 20 hours for each certification period)
- Areas of study for continuing education should relate to laws and regulations, pesticides, application
 equipment, pests, handling and storage, ground water, endangered species, worker protection, and
 identification of hazardous areas.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Applicants are required to hold a certified applicator license.

Restrictions

• Violation of state law or of regulations or standards prescribed by the board.

License Duration

• One year renewable December 31 each year.

Licensing Fees

- License/Certification/Registration Fee \$50
- Renewal Fee \$50

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• General Certification Exam and "Category" Exam

Pesticide Applicator. Commercial (Certified)

Description

- Both written and practical
- Possible examination areas include pesticide laws, rules, safety, use, disposal, worker protection, ground water, and endangered species.
- Some areas of certification require actual hands-on demonstration of skills and on-the-job observation.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$20 - Each Category	Every Wednesday	70%
	8 a.m. to 3 p.m.	
	Except on Holidays	

Reexamination

• Must wait 30 days before reexamination.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$7.83 - \$14.03/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Department of Agriculture 2800 North Lincoln Blvd. Oklahoma City, OK 73105-4298 (405) 521-3864

Pesticide Applicator, Non-Commercial (Certified)

JOB DESCRIPTION

A certified pesticide applicator applies pesticide to kill pests that infest buildings and surrounding areas. The pesticide applicator applies the pesticide through chemical spraying, dusting, or spreading granular materials. The pesticide applicator may also clean areas that harbor pests, select appropriate extermination methods and chemicals, and counsel clients on prevention and control of pests. A pesticide applicator certified to work non-commercially may utilize pesticides only in residences and other specified areas. A pesticide applicator may be self-employed or operate from an established firm.

OES 67008

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible areas of study include pesticide laws, rules, safety, pesticide use, disposal, worker protection, ground water, and endangered species.

Continuing Education

- Continuing education varies as to category of pest control (from 5 to 20 hours for each re-certification period).
- Areas of study for continuing education should relate to laws and regulations, pesticides, application
 equipment, pests, handling and storage, ground water, endangered species, worker protection, and
 identification of hazardous areas.

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

Applicants are required to hold a certified applicator license

Restrictions

• Violation of state law or of regulations or standards prescribed by the board

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$20
- Renewal Fee \$20

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• General Certification Exam and "Category" Exam

Pesticide Applicator, Non-Commercial (Certified)

Description

- Both written and practical
- Possible examination areas include pesticide laws, rules, safety, use, disposal, worker protection, ground water, and endangered species.
- Some areas of certification require actual hands-on demonstration of skills and on-the-job observation.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$20 - Each Category	Every Wednesday	70%
	8 a.m. to 3 p.m.	
	Except on Holidays	

Reexamination

• Must wait 30 days before reexamination.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$7.83 - \$14.03/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Department of Agriculture 2800 North Lincoln Blvd. Oklahoma City, OK 73 105-4298 (405) 521-3864

Pharmacist

JOB DESCRIPTION

A pharmacist interprets prescriptions, compounds medications, and dispenses medications ordered by physicians, dentists, or other authorized prescriptions to customers. A pharmacist may be asked to advise customers on the therapeutic values, contents, and uses of drugs and related devices. A pharmacist is also responsible for maintenance and review of the customer's prescription records and the storing and preservation of medications. The majority of pharmacists practice in community pharmacies, which are independently or nationally owned. Others choose to work in hospitals or be self-employed.

OES 32517

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Requirements include a bachelor's degree in pharmacy from an accredited and approved school or college of pharmacy and 1,500 hours of experience (750 hours or more must be obtained while not actively registered in class work in an accredited school or college of pharmacy).
- Possible areas of study include mathematics and basic sciences, such as chemistry, biology, and
 physics. Graduate work may include studies in pharmaceutical chemistry, pharmacology, pharmacy
 practice, and additional subjects.

Continuing Education

 Fifteen clock hours of continuing education must be obtained through the satisfactory completion of an accredited program of continuing professional education for annual renewal of certificate and license.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Good moral character
- Non-impaired (e.g., alcohol or drugs)

Restrictions

- Any drug or alcohol related convictions under any federal, state, or local law.
- Suspension or revocation by federal, state, or local government of any license for the distribution of any drugs including CDS
- False or fraudulent material made to the Board

License Duration

• Renew annually on or before July 1.

Licensing Fees

- Licensure by Examination \$100 plus purchase price of the exam
- Licensure by Reciprocity \$200
- Licensure by score transfer \$200
- Annual Renewal of Pharmacist License \$50
- Inactive Renewal Certificate (RPH) \$50
- Senior, inactive (over 65 years) annual renewal of Pharmacist \$20
- Intern License \$30

Pharmacist

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• NAPLEX (North American Pharmacist Licensure Exam)

Description

- Computer administered
- Examination areas relate to curriculum

Examination Fee \$100 plus Price of Examination

Date Not available Passing Criteria Not available

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$21.33 - \$36.15/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy 4545 Lincoln Boulevard, Suite 112 Oklahoma City, OK 73105-3488 (405) 521-3815

Pharmacy Technician

JOB DESCRIPTION

A pharmacy technician performs any combination of the following nonjudgmental duties to assist a pharmacist in a hospital or retail establishment: (1) fill bottles with prescribed tablets and capsules, and type labels for bottles, (2) assists the pharmacist to dispense medication, (3) receives and stores incoming supplies, (4) counts stock and enters data in the computer to maintain inventory records, (5) process records of medication and equipment dispensed to hospital patients, computes charges, and enters data in computer, (6) prepackages (e.g. unit doses) and properly labels medication, (7) reconstitutes medication (e.g. liquid antibiotics), (8) limited bulk compounding, and (9) limited functions in preparation of parental products while using sterile technique.

OES 32518

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- High school graduate or GED
- Complete Phase I of the Board-approved on-the-job training program.

Continuing Education

- Complete Phase II of the Board-approved pharmacy technician on-the-job training (OJT) program within 90 days after receipt of the pharmacy technician permit
- Participates in continuous on-the-job-training

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 18 years of age
- Good moral character
- Non-impaired (e.g., alcohol or drugs)
- Compliance with permitting requirements under previously granted permits, if any
- Adequate education to perform assigned duties
- Verification from pharmacy manager or designated pharmacist of satisfactorily completing Phase I of a Board-approved pharmacy technician OJT program meeting the minimum standards set out by the Board in the "Pharmacy Technician Training Guidelines."

Restrictions

- Any drug or alcohol-related convictions under any federal, state, or local laws
- Suspension or revocation by federal, state, or local government of any license currently or previously held by the applicant for the distribution of any drugs, including controlled substances
- False or fraudulent material in any application made to the Board

Permit Duration

• Renew annually on or before February 1

Permit Fee

• Permit Fee - \$25

Pharmacy Technician

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$7.13 - \$9.68/hour

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

• The Board shall have the right to deny a permit to an applicant if it determines that the granting of such a permit would not be consistent with the public health and safety.

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy 4545 Lincoln Boulevard, Suite 112 Oklahoma City, OK 73 105-3488 (405) 521-3815

Physical Therapist

JOB DESCRIPTION

A physical therapist is a professional health-care practitioner who plans, monitors, and administers physical therapy for patients to restore bodily functions, relieve pain, and prevent disability due to disease, injury, or other disabilities. After physician referral, the therapist reviews and evaluates a patient's medical records and often consults with the patient's physician in determining treatment. A variety of methods are used by the therapist in treatment such as exercise, massage, or the application of electrical impulses or ultraviolet rays. Physical therapists work at hospitals, rehabilitation centers, nursing homes, home-health agencies, or in private practice.

OES 32308

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Graduation from a school of physical therapy approved by a national accrediting body recognized by the Board.
- Possible areas of study include anatomy, physiology, neuroanatomy, and neurophysiology along with specialized courses such as biomechanics, human growth and development, manifestations of disease and trauma, and therapeutic procedures.
- Students receive supervised clinical experience in hospitals and other treatment centers.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Good moral character
- Three recommendations are required: two from licensed physical therapists who can attest to the applicant's clinical competence and the third from an associate who can affirm the applicant's moral and ethical attributes.

Restrictions

Individual board review of license violations

License Duration

• Expires annually on January 31

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$125
- Renewal Fee \$75

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• American Physical Therapy Association Examination

Description

- Written
- Examination areas relate to curriculum

Physical Therapist

Examination Fee

\$185

DateComputerized:
Applicants Set-up

Exam Time.

Cri

Passing Criteria Criterion Reference: 600 out of 800

Reexamination

• The examination may be taken three times.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$18.62 - \$34.07/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensing and Supervision P.O. Box 18256 Oklahoma City, OK 73154 (405) 848-6841

Physical Therapy Assistant

JOB DESCRIPTION

A physical therapy assistant is a skilled practitioner who administers physical therapy under the direction of a qualified physical therapist to patients in treatment programs. The assistant helps patients with exercise therapy and applies massage and/or electrical or ultraviolet ray treatment to a patient's afflicted area. The assistant may also monitor and report the patient's progress to the therapist or physician. Physical therapy assistants work in hospitals, rehabilitation centers, nursing homes, and home-health agencies.

OES 66017

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Graduation from an approved program for physical therapy assistants consisting of at least a two-year program approved by a national accrediting body recognized by the Board.
- Possible areas of study include anatomy, physiology, neuroanatomy, and neurophysiology along with specialized courses such as biomechanics, human growth and development, manifestations of disease and trauma, and therapeutic procedures.
- Students receive supervised clinical experience in hospitals and other treatment centers.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Three recommendations are required: two from licensed physical therapists who can attest to the applicant's clinical competence and the third from an associate who can affirm the applicant's moral and ethical attributes.

Restrictions

• Individual Board review of license violations.

License Duration

• Expires annually on January 31

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$125
- Renewal Fee \$50

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• American Physical Therapy Association Examination

Description

- Written
- Examination areas relate to curriculum

Physical Therapy Assistant

Examination Fee

\$185

Date

Computerized: Applicants Set-up Exam Time. Passing Criteria

Criterion Reference: 600 out of 800

Reexamination

• The examination may be taken three times.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$6.33 - \$10.65/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Medical

Licensing and Supervision P.O. Box 18256 Oklahoma City, OK 73154 (405) 848-6841

Physician Assistant

JOB DESCRIPTION

A physician assistant provides health care services in any patient setting at the direction and under the supervision of a physician or group of physicians.

OES 32511

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• Graduation from an accredited physician assistant program recognized by the State Board of Medical Licensing and Supervision.

Continuing Education

- 20 hours of Category I CME hours must be earned each calendar year.
- At least one hour of Category I CME related to the recognition and treatment of the chemically dependent person must be earned each calendar year.

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Good moral character
- Graduation from accredited program. Passing score on examination.

Restrictions

None

Certificate Duration

• Expires annually on March 31

Certification Fees

- Application Fee \$100
- Renewal Fee \$75

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Physician Assistant National Certifying Examination administered by the National Commission on the Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA).

Description

- General multiple-choice component 250 questions
- Clinical skill problems component one-hour assessment on the basis of selecting and performing the appropriate physical examination steps
- At least one extended core component: Extended Core Primary Care component 180 multiplechoice questions and/or Extended Core - Surgery component - 180 multiple-choice questions

Physician Assistant

Examination Fee \$95 Nonrefundable Application Fee \$250 Examination Fee \$80 Additional Extended Core Component **Date** Not available Passing Criteria
Evaluated
Annually

Reexamination

 Candidates may apply for reexamination at the time of the next administration and must retake all required components.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$6.39 - \$33.38/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensing and Supervision P.O. Box 18256 Oklahoma City, OK 73154 (405) 848-6841

Physician/Surgeon (M.D.)

JOB DESCRIPTION

A physician diagnoses and treats disease and disorders of the human body. A physician examines patients and uses medical equipment, instruments, and tests following standard medical procedures. Following the diagnosis, the physician also prescribes and administers medications as needed. Physicians specializing in surgery perform surgery to correct deformities, repair injuries, prevent diseases, and to improve the patient's functioning. A physician/surgeon may specialize in a particular surgical area. Generally, physicians/surgeons work in-group or private medical practices, health clinics, maintenance organizations, and hospitals.

OES 32102

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Doctor of Medicine Degree
- Although the areas of study may vary according to the school, many programs include anatomy, biochemistry, physiology, pharmacology, microbiology, and pathology.
- Students receive one year of supervised clinical experience in hospitals and other treatment centers.

Continuing Education

• Continuing education requirements include 150 hours within the next three years.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Good moral character
- Mentally and physically capable of practicing medicine
- Licensure in another state of the U.S. or its territories or Canada is acceptable as a basis for licensure if a licensure exam acceptable by the Oklahoma Board has been passed.

Restrictions

Individual board review of board violations

License Duration

Licenses expire annually on the first of the month in which the license was issued.

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$400
- Renewal Fee \$150

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• United States Medical Licensing Examination (U.S.M.L.E.)

Description

- Computerized
- Examination areas related to medical science curriculum

Physician/Surgeon (M.D.)

Examination Fee\$365

As scheduled

Passing Criteria
75%

Reexamination

• Applicant must not have failed any part of the USMLE three times.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$55.04 - \$60.000 and over/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensing and Supervision P.O. Box 18256 Oklahoma City, OK 73154 (405) 848-6841

Plumber, Journeyman

JOB DESCRIPTION

A journeyman plumber installs, alters, and repairs pipes, fittings, and fixtures for supplying water, heating water, and disposing of sewage in structures. The journeyman plumber must follow building plans and instructions from supervisors, lay out the job, and work with hand and power tools. Journeyman plumbers work for plumbing contractors engaged in residential, commercial, or industrial work.

OES 87502

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include materials, sizing, plumbing system design, and installation requirements outlined in the International Plumbing Code and International Mechanical Code.
- A three-year internship as a plumber's apprentice. Classroom training in a recognized plumbing program may be substituted for half of the required internship.

Continuing Education

• Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 18 years of age
- A plumbing contractor must employ a journeyman plumber. He can work without supervision after passing the state Journeyman Plumbing Examination.
- Must have three years experience in the plumbing trade
- 1 1/2 years experience may be substituted for approved classroom training.

Restrictions

• None

License Duration

• Expires annually on June 30

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$30
- Renewal Fee \$30 plus \$30 late fee after July 30

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Journeyman Plumber Examination

Plumber, Journeyman

Description

- Written examination
- Written examination areas are related to the International Plumbing Code and International Mechanical Code.
- Possible examination areas include plumbing design, names of fittings, materials, sizing, laws, regulations and installation requirements.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$25	First Thursday	70%
	of Every Month	
	Except June	

Reexamination

- 30-day intervention between first and second examination attempts
- 90-day intervention for each subsequent examination attempt
- Unlimited number of reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$10.04 - \$18.09/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Department of Health

Occupational Licensing Division 0509 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-5217

JOB DESCRIPTION

A plumbing contractor installs, repairs, maintains, and/or renovates plumbing systems. This requires the plumbing contractor to plan and organize all activities for completion, including furnishing material and/or labor. The plumbing contractor also consults with clients and plans personnel development. A plumbing contractor may operate as an individual, firm, partnership, or corporation and work in a variety of settings such as residential, commercial, and industrial construction.

OES 87502

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation and the ability to calculate plumbing costs is necessary.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 18 years of age
- Must have four years experience in the plumbing trade.
- Two years experience may be substituted for approved classroom training.

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• Expires annually on June 30

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$100
- Renewal Fee \$100 plus \$100 late fee after July 30

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Plumbing Contractor Examination

Description

- Written examination
- Possible examination areas include law, regulations, designing plumbing systems (water supply and drainage, waste and vent, and natural gas piping), identifying fittings, and questions on the International Plumbing Code and International Mechanical Code.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$50	First Thursday	70%
	of Every Month	
	Except June	

Reexamination

- 30-day intervention between first and second examination attempts.
- 90-day intervention for each subsequent examination attempt.
- Unlimited number of reexaminations.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$10.04 - \$18.09/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Department of Health

Occupational Licensing Division 0509 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-5217

JOB DESCRIPTION

A plumbing inspector inspects plumbing installations for conformance to governmental codes, sanitation standards, and construction specifications. Inspects commercial and industrial plumbing systems for conformance to plumbing laws and codes and approved plans and specifications. Inspects water-supply systems, drainage and sewer systems, water heater installations, and air and gas piping systems for approved materials, specified pipe sizes and connections, required grade and fitting, approved back-flow prevention devices, required bracing, ventilation, and air-and-water tightness. Inspects building sites for soil type to determine fill conditions, water table level, site layout, seepage rate, and other conditions. Interviews plumbers (construction) working in jurisdiction to determine possession of valid occupational licenses. Reviews plumbing permit applications and verifies payment of fees. Reviews complaints concerning alleged violations of the plumbing code, gathers evidence, and appears in court as a witness. Keeps records of inspections performed, actions taken, and corrections recommended and secured.

OES 21908

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- One possible knowledge area is an understanding of the International Plumbing Code.

Continuing Education

- Five hours of continuing education per year
- Continuing education includes state-approved courses in the plumbing trade

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Plumbing inspectors working in cities with populations greater than 10,000 must obtain a state license.
- Successful applicants must have three years practical experience in cities with a population larger than 4,000, or cities with a population greater than 4,000 but less than 30,000 may combine the offices of plumbing inspector and electrical inspector into a single office of plumbing and electrical inspector. If duties are combined then the experience requirement is waived when the inspector obtains certification as an electrical inspector and a plumbing inspector within two years of initial employment. The inspector must obtain certification as a plumbing inspector and an electrical inspector by a nationally recognized model code organization within two years from the inspector's date of employment.

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• One year (expires June 30 each year)

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$25
- Renewal Fee \$25 plus \$5 late charge after July 30

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• There is no state exam. The applicant must submit certification by a National Code organization such as Building Officials and Code Administration (BOCA) which requires the BOCA Examination.

Description

- Written.
- Possible examination areas include the Model Plumbing Codes, requirements for water supply, waste, venting, special requirements, calculations, and rule applications.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$75 - \$105	Monday – Friday	75%
Varies by Organization		

Reexamination

• Reexaminations may be taken each time the exam is offered.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$10.55 - \$15.43/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Department of Health

Occupational Licensing Division 0509 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-5217

Podiatrist

JOB DESCRIPTION

A podiatrist diagnoses and treats foot and lower leg diseases and disorders by performing basic medical and surgical procedures. A podiatrist examines the foot and lower leg and diagnoses ailments using diagnostic aids such as urinalysis, blood tests, and X-rays. Depending on the diagnosis, the podiatrist may treat the patient using corrective devices, medication, physical therapy, or surgery. The majority of podiatrists operate a private practice. Others are employed by hospitals, nursing homes, and health maintenance organizations.

OES 32111

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Doctor of Podiatric Medicine Degree.
- Possible areas of study include anatomy, chemistry, pathology, pharmacology, and specialized courses for podiatry.
- Clinical rotation is required in different practice settings, including private practice, hospitals, and clinics.

Continuing Education

- 30 hours of continuing education is required annually.
- 15 of the required hours should be obtained in Oklahoma in a field related to podiatry.
- Continuing education credit hours must be obtained in the 12-month period immediately preceding the year the license is to be renewed.

ADDITIONAL REOUTREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 30-day training period under the supervision of a podiatrist licensed in Oklahoma
- 21 years of age
- Good moral character
- Free of infectious disease
- Resident of Oklahoma or planning residency

Restrictions

• Individual board review of license violations

License Duration

• Expires annually on June 30

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$200
- Renewal Fee \$75

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

Oklahoma State Exam and Podiatry National Board Examination

Podiatrist

Description

• Both written and oral

• The written and oral examinations relate to podiatry curriculum.

Examination Fee Date Passing Criteria \$200 (Included Every June 75% in License Fee)

Reexamination

• Reexaminations available

OKLAHOMA WAGE

Not Available

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Podiatry P.O. Box 18256 Oklahoma City, OK 73154 (405) 848-6841

Polygraph Examiner

JOB DESCRIPTION

A polygraph examiner gathers information used for questioning and evaluates individual responses to key questions recorded on the graph. Once the examination is complete, the polygraph examiner is responsible for preparing reports and keeping records on the polygraph examinations. Some examiners instruct classes in polygraph interrogation techniques and methods; others are employed by law enforcement agencies.

OES 39999

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Bachelor's degree or high school diploma and five years of consecutive investigative experience.
- Possible areas of study relate to investigative procedures: interviewing and interrogations, psychology, physiology, test construction, instrumentation, Oklahoma Licensing Law, and test formulation.
- Six-month internship program.

Continuing Education

- Six hours per calendar year
- Continuing education areas relate to conducting polygraph and examinations.

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Resident of Oklahoma
- 21 years of age
- Investigative experience
- Five years experience in investigative law enforcement

Restrictions

• Conviction of a felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

• License Fee - \$100

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• State of Oklahoma Board of Polygraph Examiners Exam

Description

- Written
- Examination areas relate to investigative procedures: interviewing and interrogations, psychology, physiology, test construction, instrumentation, Oklahoma Licensing Law, and test formulation.
- Must submit charts for board review and approval.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$50	Upon Request	70%

Polygraph Examiner

Reexamination

• The exam may be taken three times, each with a 60-day waiting period between examinations. A one-year waiting period is required after the third attempt.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$10.40 - \$23.23/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

State of Oklahoma Board of Polygraph ExaminersP.O. Box 11476 Cimarron Station
Oklahoma City, OK 73136
(405) 946-7230

Polygraph Intern

JOB DESCRIPTION

A polygraph intern is a person who is studying polygraph examination under the personal supervision and control of a polygraph examiner in accordance with a course of study prescribed by the Board. A polygraph intern may assist the examiner in gathering information for interrogation and evaluating responses. Most polygraph internships are conducted at law enforcement agencies.

OES 39999

EDUCATIONAL REOUTREMENTS

Educational Level

- A bachelor's degree or a high school diploma from an accredited high school plus five years of
 consecutive investigative experience.
- Possible areas of study relate to investigative procedures, interviewing interrogations, psychology, physiology, test construction, instrumentation, Oklahoma Licensing Law, and test formulation.
- There is a six-month internship program.

Continuing Education

- Six hours annually
- Continuing education areas of study should relate to polygraph and examinations.

ADDITIONAL REOUTREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Resident of Oklahoma
- 21 years of age
- No felony record or convictions
- Investigative experience

Restrictions

• Conviction of a felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude

License Duration

One year

Licensing Fees

• License Fee - \$100

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• State of Oklahoma Board of Polygraph Examiners Exam

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas relate to investigative procedures: interviewing and interrogations, psychology, physiology, test construction, instrumentation, Oklahoma Licensing Law, and test formulation.
- Must submit charts for board review and approval.

Polygraph Intern

Examination Fee\$50
Upon Request

Passing Criteria
70%

Reexamination

• Three reexaminations are offered, each with a 60-day waiting period between exams. A one-year waiting period is required after the third attempt.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$10.40 - \$23.23/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

State of Oklahoma Board of Polygraph ExaminersP.O. Box 11476 Cimarron Station
Oklahoma City, OK 73136
(405) 946-7230

Private Investigator

JOB DESCRIPTION

A private investigator conducts investigations that provide clients with information relating to the location of missing persons, divorce or domestic investigation, or potential or pending civil or criminal litigation. During an investigation, a private investigator may conduct surveillance of suspects, examine background information, and analyze evidence. The investigator then reports his/her findings to the client in written and/or verbal form. A private investigator may be self-employed or either contracted with or employed by an investigation agency.

OES 63035

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

There are no specific educational requirements; however, candidates must be able to read and write.

Continuing Education

 Private investigators must complete four hours of continuing education from an approved source each year to maintain their license.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Unarmed private investigator 18 years of age
- Armed private investigator 21 years of age
- Good character and reputation
- One year experience working for a licensed investigator
- Successful completion of state mandated training; 57 hours unarmed, plus additional 24 hours if armed

Restrictions

- Convicted felons restricted from carrying firearms
- Convictions for crimes of moral turpitude
- Conviction of domestic violence misdemeanor restricts the carrying of firearms

License Duration

Two years

Licensing Fees

- License Fee
 - \$60 Unarmed
 - \$110- Armed
- Renewal Fee
 - \$25 Unarmed
 - \$75 Armed

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Oklahoma State Licensing Examination for Private Investigators

Private Investigator

Description

- Both written and practical
- Possible examination areas for the unarmed private investigator include interpretation of the Oklahoma Security Guard and Private Investigator Act, administration of first aid, operation of a fire extinguisher, writing field notes, writing reports, interpretation of legal powers and limitations, public relations, post duties, patrolling, and investigation.
- Possible examination areas for the armed private investigator include understanding responsibilities to
 clients, interpreting laws of private investigations, understanding the Fair Credit Reporting Act,
 techniques of investigation and surveillance, securing and relaying information, safety, revolver
 nomenclature and maintenance, inspection of revolvers and holsters, fundamentals of revolver
 shooting, legal issues and deadly force, and range procedures and tower commands.
- Armed private investigators require shooting demonstration of a qualifying score of 70%.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
No Fee	First and Third Tuesdays	Curriculum Exams - 85%
	Oklahoma City	Licensing Exams - 70%
	Second and Fourth Tuesdays	-
	Broken Arrow	

Reexamination

- Curriculum reexaminations are set by individual school policies.
- Reexamination is offered after a two-week waiting period.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$7.27 - \$8.35/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training 3530 North Martin Luther King Boulevard Oklahoma City, OK 73136 (405) 425-2758

Psychologist

JOB DESCRIPTION

A psychologist studies individual and group behaviors or mental processes in order to gain an understanding and explanation about behavior to assist in positive change. To guide this study, a psychologist often interviews and evaluates individuals, conducts research and experiments, and counsels clients. Depending on interest, a psychologist may choose to specialize in areas such as developmental, clinical, educational, or experimental psychology. Psychologists are normally employed in hospitals, mental health clinics, university faculty positions, or in private practice.

OES 27108

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Psychology doctoral degree from a regionally accredited university
- Possible areas of study include 42 hours of course work that is psychological in nature. Twenty-four hours must be from at least five areas of psychology, such as experimental, developmental, individual differences, tests and measurements, social statistics, history and systems, experimental design, personality theory, learning, physiological, abnormal, comparative, motivation, and perception.
- One year full-time internship with three supervisors in area of doctoral training
- As of July 1, 1997, doctoral program must be APA approved.

Continuing Education

- Twenty hours per year
- Continuing education relates to areas that would be helpful to the individual psychologist, including course work, symposiums, teaching, etc.
- Three of required twenty hours must be in ethics

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 21 years of age
- Good moral character

Restrictions

• Individual application review. (A candidate is judged at the time of application.)

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$300
- Renewal Fee \$200

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Examination for the Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP), an oral exam, and a Jurisprudence exam.

Psychologist

Description

- Both written and practical
- Possible written examination areas include problem definition/diagnosis, design, implementation, assessment of intervention; research and measurement, professional/ethical/legal issues, and application to social systems.
- Possible practical examination areas include oral examination and case study discussion.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
Included in Application	April and October	70% - EPPP Exam
And Licensure Fee	of Every Year for EPPP	70% - Jurisprudence
	and Jurisprudence Exam;	_
	June and December of	Pass/Fail on Oral Exam
	Every Year for Oral Exam	

Reexamination

• Reexamination is offered every six months.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$12.49 - \$21.08/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

State Board of Examiners of Psychologists 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-6118

Pump Installer

JOB DESCRIPTION

A water well pump installer installs and adjusts groundwater well pumps to regulate water pressure for private residences and industrial/commercial properties. The installer uses hand and electric tools to cut threads and pipes, adjust pump level, and connect duets and couplings. The installer is often requested for repair work and may be required to order parts and equipment needed for adjustments to improve operations. The pump installer may be self-employed or employed in private industry.

OES 85999

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include basic math, science, plumbing, electricity, and sanitation.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- A 90-day residency is required unless reciprocity applies.
- Qualifications include two years experience in pump installation or one year as a licensed operator or equivalent knowledge.

Restrictions

None

License Duration

Two years

Licensing Fees

Application and License Fee - \$300
Renewal Fee - \$300
Indemnity Fund Fee - \$100
Testing Fee - \$50

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Pump Installers Examination

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include rules and regulations, general pump installation, and legal description.

Pump Installer

Examination Fee \$50

Date Thursday 8:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. **Passing Criteria** 70%; 50% of Legal Description Questions

Reexamination

- 30-day waiting period
- Unlimited reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$9.36 - \$14.88/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Water Resources Board 3800 N. Classen Blvd. Oklahoma City, OK 73118 (405) 530-8800

Racehorse Owner

JOB DESCRIPTION

A racehorse owner is a person who is sole or part owner of record or lessee of a properly registered racehorse, which the person intends to race in Oklahoma and is in the care of a licensed trainer. Both lessee and lessor must be licensed horse owners when a lease is involved.

OES 79016

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Must be 16 years of age or older
- Good standing in all racing jurisdictions

Restrictions

- No commissioner, commission employee, or person licensed by the commission as a jockey, practicing veterinarian, racing official, assistant starter, official veterinarian and his/her assistants, jockey room custodian, or valet shall be licensed as a horse owner.
- Individuals on probation for controlled dangerous substances or controlled weapons. Conviction cases are reviewed individually.

License Duration

Annual or Triennial

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$50 Annual or \$120 Triennial
- Renewal Fee \$50 Annual or \$120 Triennial

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$7.53 - \$10.74/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission

Shepherd Mall 2614 Villa Prom Oklahoma City, OK 73107 (405) 943-6472

Racehorse Owner/Assistant Trainer

JOB DESCRIPTION

A racehorse owner/assistant trainer has met the qualifications of both an owner and trainer, is employed by a licensed trainer as an assistant trainer, and may be the authorized representative of such trainer.

OES 79016

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary for satisfactory completion of the trainer's examination.
- Possible knowledge areas include anatomy of a horse, conditions of a race, training equipment,
 Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission (OHRC) Rules of Racing, and provisions of the Oklahoma
 Horse Racing Act.

Continuing Education

Not Applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 18 years of age or older
- Good standing in all racing jurisdictions
- Licensed in prior two years as a trainer or assistant trainer in a pan-mutual state.
- Employed by a licensed trainer and is considered to be an authorized representative of such trainer.

Restrictions

• Not available

License Duration

Annual

License Fees

- License Fee \$50 Annual
- Renewal Fee \$50 Annual

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission Trainers Examination

Description

Areas covered on the exam are the anatomy of a horse, conditions of a race, training equipment,
 OHRC Rules of Racing, and provisions of the Oklahoma Horse Racing Act. A hands-on test may be required.

Racehorse Owner/Assistant Trainer

Examination Fee Included in License Fee

Date Not Available Passing Criteria 80% - Written exam Pass/Fail – Hands-on test

Reexamination

• Not available

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$7.53 - \$10.74/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission Shepherd Mall 2614 Villa Prom Oklahoma City, OK 73107 (405) 943-6472

Racehorse Owner/Trainer

JOB DESCRIPTION

A racehorse owner/trainer is a qualified trainer who trains a properly registered racehorse(s) for racing in Oklahoma and is (1) the owner of record or (2) has an ownership interest.

OES 79016

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- There are no specific educational requirements; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary for satisfactory completion of the trainer's examination.
- Possible knowledge areas include anatomy of a horse; the feeding, caring, training, and racing
 preparation of a horse; conditions of a race; training equipment; Oklahoma Horse Racing
 Commission (OHRC) Rules of Racing; and provisions of the Oklahoma HorseRacing Act.

Continuing Education

Not Applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 18 years of age or older
- Good standing in all racing jurisdictions
- Licensed in prior two years as a trainer in a pan-mutual state
- Sole or part owner of record or lessee of a properly registered racehorse

Restrictions

• Individuals on probation for controlled dangerous substances or controlled weapons. Conviction cases are reviewed individually.

License Duration

• Annual or Triennial

License Fees

- License Fee \$50 Annual or \$120 Triennial
- Renewal Fee \$50 Annual or \$120 Triennial

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission Trainers Examination

Description

 Areas covered on the exam are anatomy of a horse, conditions of a race, training equipment, OHRC Rules of Racing, and provisions of the Oklahoma Horse Racing Act. A hands-on test is also required.

Racehorse Owner/Trainer

Examination FeeIncluded in License Fee

Date Not available Passing Criteria 80% Written exam Pass/Fail Hands-on test

Reexamination

• There is a 30-day waiting period after the first examination and a six-month waiting period after the second examination.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$7.53 - \$10.74/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission Shepherd Mall 2614 Villa Prom Oklahoma City, OK 73107 (405) 943-6472

Real Estate Sales Associate

JOB DESCRIPTION

A real estate sales associate operates under the supervision of a real estate broker who rents, buys, and sells property for clients on a commission basis. A real estate sales associate reviews property listings regularly and keeps abreast of marketing conditions and property values. In order to sell property, the real estate sales associate often accompanies clients to property sites, quotes purchase price, and compiles real estate contracts such as deeds, leases, and mortgages. Real estate sales associate normally work independently or are employed by an established real estate agency.

OES 43008

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Completion of course entitled "Real Estate Principles" (45 clock hours, equivalent to 3 hours of college credit).
- Possible areas of study include nature and description of property, rights and interests in real property, transfer of rights, contract law, finance, value and appraisal, law of agency, real estate brokerage, and Oklahoma real estate license code and rules.

Continuing Education

- 21 clock hours per three-year license period unless license is on inactive status.
- Nine clock hours also required. Possible areas of study include laws affecting real estate practice, trust accounts, contract law, investigations, or fair housing.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Applicant must be 18 years of age or older
- Good moral character

Restrictions

• Individual case review is given to convictions and bankruptcy involving criminal intent.

License Duration

Three years

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$40
- License Fee \$75 plus \$15 education and recovery fund

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

- Real Estate Sales Associate Pre-License Examination
- No examination if provisional sales associate has met requirements to upgrade to a sales associate license.

Real Estate Sales Associate

Description

Computerized

Possible examination areas include nature and description of property, rights and interests in real
property, transfer of rights, contract law, finance, value and appraisal, law of agency, real estate
brokerage, and Oklahoma real estate license code and rules.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$40	Monday - Friday	75%
	Except Holidays	

Reexamination

- Available every business day
- Unlimited reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$8.05 - \$16.69/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Real Estate Commission 4040 North Lincoln Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 521-3387

Real Estate Appraiser

JOB DESCRIPTION

A real estate appraiser evaluates real property to determine its value for purchase, sale, investment, mortgage, or loan purposes. The appraiser conducts on-site visits to property locations to obtain measurements and examine property for construction, condition, and functional design. The appraiser also researches variables such as trends, surrounding property values, leases, and other transactions. The appraiser further prepares a written report that presents the rationale for appraisal decisions, along with supporting evidence. Real estate appraisers are normally employed by real estate agencies.

OES 43011

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Licensed Real Property 75 classroom hours
- Certified Residential 120 classroom hours
- Certified General Real Property 180 classroom hours
- Possible areas of study include principles of land economics, standards for appraisals, theories of depreciation, cost estimating, methods of capitalization, mathematics of appraisals, and real estate law
- Total classroom hours include 15 hours of Uniform Standards of Professional Appraised Practice and must pass exam pertinent to all educational courses.

Continuing Education

- 42 total hours 14 hours per year for each year during the period preceding renewal.
- Possible areas of study include real property appraisal theory, practices, and techniques.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Licensed Real Property no experience required.
- Certified Residential 2500 hours obtained over a period of 24 months or less.
- Certified General Real Property 3,000 hours, including a minimum of 1500 hours of non-residential appraisal work, completed in a period of not less than 30 months

Restrictions

None

Certificate Duration

• Three years

Annual Fees

- License/Certification Fee \$175
- Renewal Fee \$175

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

- Licensed Real Property
- Certified Residential
- Certified General Real Property

Real Estate Appraiser

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include principles of land economics, standards for appraisals, theories of depreciation, cost estimating, methods of capitalization, mathematics of appraisals, and real estate law.

Reexamination

• \$150 fee

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Average Annual Salary - \$34,390.00

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Insurance Commission c/o Oklahoma Real Estate Appraisal Board P.O.Box 53408 Oklahoma City, OK 73152 (405) 521-2828 (405) 521-6636

JOB DESCRIPTION

A real estate broker manages or works for real estate offices that buy, sell, and rent real estate property for clients on a commission basis. Real estate brokers negotiate sales transactions, manage rental properties, make appraisals, and provide purchasing information. The majority of real estate brokers work independently or out of a branch office. Many real estate brokers have a franchise agreement with a national or regional real estate organization.

OES 43005

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Completion of 75 clock hours in advanced real estate courses or five college credit hours that are equivalent.
- Possible areas of study include nature and description of property, transfer of rights, contract law, finance, value and appraisal, investment and taxation, brokerage practice, and license law.

Continuing Education

- A total of 21 clock hours is required during a three-year license period.
- Continuing education courses relate to real estate practices and issues.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 18 years of age
- Good moral character
- Completion of a two-year licensure as a sales associate.

Restrictions

- Bankruptcy with criminal intent
- Convictions

License Duration

• Three years

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$50
- License Fee \$105 plus \$15 Education and Recovery Fund
 Renewal Fee \$105 plus \$15 Education and Recovery Fund

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Real Estate Broker Pre-Licensing Examination

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include nature and description of property, transfer of rights, contract law, finance, value and appraisal, investment and taxation, brokerage practice, and license law.

Examination Fee \$50

Date Monday – Friday Excluding Holiday Passing Criteria 75%

Reexamination

• Unlimited reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$15.84 - \$43.87/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Real Estate Commission 4040 North Lincoln

Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 521-3387

JOB DESCRIPTION

A real estate provisional sales associate operates under the supervision of a real estate broker who rents, buys, and sells property for clients on a commission basis and reviews property listings regularly and keeps abreast of marketing conditions and property values. In order to sell property, the real estate provisional sales associate often accompanies clients to property sites, quotes purchase price, and compiles real estate contracts such as deeds, leases, and mortgages. Real estate provisional sales associates normally work independently or are employed by an established real estate agency.

OES 43008

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Completion of a basic real estate instruction course (45 clock hours, equivalent to three hours of college credit)
- Possible areas of study include nature and description of property, rights and interests in real
 property, transfer of rights, contract law, finance and appraisal, law of agency, real estate brokerage,
 and Oklahoma real estate license code and rules.

Continuing Education

• Completion of post-education real estate instruction (45 clock hours, equivalent to three hours of college credit) prior to expiration (within three years of obtaining a license).

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 18 years of age or older
- Good moral character

Restrictions

• Individual case review is given to felony convictions and bankruptcy involving criminal intent.

License Duration

Three-year nonrenewable license (Sales associate license is issued after requirements are met.)

Licensing Fees

• License Fee - \$75 plus \$15 education and recovery fund

EXAMINATION REOUTREMENTS

Examination Title

Provisional Real Estate Sales Associate Pre-License Examination

Description

- Computerized
- Possible examination areas include nature and description of property, rights and interest in real property, transfer of rights, contract law, finance, law of agency, brokerage, and Oklahoma law.

Examination Fee \$40

Date Monday – Friday Excluding Holidays Passing Criteria 75%

Reexamination

• Available every business day. Unlimited reexaminations allowed.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$8.05 - \$16.69/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Real Estate Commission 4040 North Lincoln Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 521-3387

Registered Electrologist

JOB DESCRIPTION

Removes hair from skin of patron by electrolysis: Positions sterile bulbous or round-tipped needled into holders (electrodes) of galvanic or short wave electrical equipment. Places secondary electrode in hand or immerses fingers or hand of patron in water-filled electrode cup to complete circuit and stabilize amount of electricity when equipment is operating. Swabs skin area with antiseptic solution to sterilize it. Inserts needle or needles into hair follicle and into organ beneath hair root (papilla). Presses switch and adjusts timing and rheostat controls of equipment that regulate amount of electricity flowing through needle hair from follicle, using tweezers.

OES 68005

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• Bachelor's Degree

Continuing Education

• 1.0 CEU during three year period

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• One-year internship that includes 600 hours of study and clinical practice under an Oklahoma licensed electrologist.

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

License Application - \$50.00Annual renewal - \$40.00

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

State Exam

Description

• Covers human anatomy, human physiology, microbiology, general chemistry, aecmatology, hygiene, sterilization, electricity, and electrolysis.

Examination Fees Date Passing Criteria
\$65.00 Not Available 75% on Total Exam; No less than 50% in each subject

Registered Electrologist

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$5.88 - \$8.53/hour

LICENSING AGENCY
State Board of Medical Licensing
and Supervision
P.O. Box 18256
Oklahoma City, OK 73154
(405) 848-6841

Respiratory Care Practitioner

JOB DESCRIPTION

A respiratory care practitioner administers respiratory therapy care and life support to patients with deficiencies and abnormalities of the cardiopulmonary system, under supervision of physician and by prescription.

OES 32302

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• Completion of the Respiratory Therapist Program

Continuing Education

• Twelve credits in each successive two-year period

ADDITIONAL REOUTREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

Examination

Restrictions

Not available

Licensing Duration

• Renewed biennially

Licensing Fee

• \$75

Renewal Fee

• \$75

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• National Board of Respiratory Care Examination

Description

• Not available

Examination Fee

• Not available

Reexamination

Not available

Respiratory Care Practitioner

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• MedianRange\$12.19 - \$16.17/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensing and Supervision P.O. Box 18256 Oklahoma City, OK 73154 (405) 848-6841

Sanitarian, Registered

JOB DESCRIPTION

A registered sanitarian is a public health professional uniquely qualified by education in the arts and sciences, specialized training, and creditable field experience to effectively plan, organize, manage, execute, and evaluate one or more of the many diverse elements comprising the field of environmental health. The term "sanitarian" may be interpreted to mean "environmentalist," "environmental sanitarian," or "environmental specialist." To ensure that food, water, and air meet governmental standards, a registered sanitarian constructs and utilizes environmental health programs. A registered sanitarian also determines and sets health and sanitation standards for schools, hospitals, parks, motels, restaurants, and other public facilities to ensure that proper controls on waste, refuse, noise, insects, and other hazardous substances and products are maintained. The majority of sanitarians are employed by various branches of the state or federal government, while a small portion are finding employment in private sectors in hospitals or other service areas.

OES 21911 81008

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Bachelor of Science or a Bachelor of Arts degree
- Possible areas of study include environmental health and science and the physical, natural, biological, or agricultural sciences.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Two years of postgraduate full-time experience in the field of environmental health

Restrictions

Conviction of a felony

Certificate Duration

• One year

Certification Fees

- Certification Fee \$20
- Renewal Fee \$7.50

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Professional Entrance Exam (unless same is taken for Sanitarian-in-Training)

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include environmental health/environmental science principles and physical, chemical, and biological aspects of protection of health and environment.

Sanitarian, Registered

Examination FeeNo Fee

Date Every Two Month After February 1st Passing Criteria 60%

Reexamination

• Reexamination is possible at each meeting of the governing board.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

Median Range

\$11.74 - \$1 9.00/hour - Compliance Officers and Enforcement Inspectors \$11.31 - \$1 9.79/hour - Sanitarian Supervisor

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Department of Health

Occupational Licensing Division - 0509 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-5217

Sanitarian-In-Training

JOB DESCRIPTION

A sanitarian-in-training is one who meets all requirements except that of experience to effectively plan, organize, manage, execute, and evaluate one or more of the many diverse elements comprising the field of environmental health. Sanitarian-In-Training may be training to be an environmentalist, an environmental sanitarian, or an environmental program specialist. Employment for a sanitarian-in-training is normally in various branches of the state and federal government.

OES 21911

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Bachelor of Science or a Bachelor of Arts Degree
- Possible areas of study include environmental health and science, and the physical, natural, biological, or agricultural sciences.

Continuing Education

Not applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Two years of postgraduate, full-time experience in the field of environmental health

Restrictions

• Conviction of a felony

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$10.00
- Renewal Fee \$7.50

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Professional Entrance Exam

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include environmental health/environmental science principles and physical, chemical, and biological aspects of protection of health and environment.

Sanitarian-In-Training

Examination Fee

Date

Passing Criteria 60%

No Fee

Every Two Month After February 1st

Reexamination

• Reexamination is possible at each meeting of the governing board.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$11.74 - \$19.00/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Department of Health

Occupational Licensing Division - 0509 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-5217

School Teacher, Elementary

JOB DESCRIPTION

An elementary teacher conducts educational programs for young children from first-to-eighth grade. The teacher's duties include planning and presenting programs of instruction using materials and methods appropriate to age and learning style. At this age level, the teacher introduces children to science, numbers, language, and social studies and develops the children's capabilities in these subjects while fostering curiosity and interest in learning. Elementary teachers are employed in accredited public, private, or parochial schools.

OES 31305

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Bachelor of Science Degree in Elementary Education
- Areas of study relate to general education, the area of specialization, and a professional education, subject area concentrations, which allow qualification as a generalist.
- Student teaching at an accredited school in the area of specialization is also required.

Continuing Education

- Continuing education requirements are established by individual school districts; however, 75 professional development points over a five-year period are a common requirement.
- Continuing education is based upon the identified needs of the district and related to areas of specialization.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Not applicable

Restrictions

- Insufficient grade point average
- Felony conviction

License/Certificate Duration

- License One year (issued prior to entry year residency program expires June 30).
- Standard Certificate Five years (issued after successful completion of residency program expires June 30).

License/Certification Fees

• License Fee - \$10

• Certification Fee - \$30 (Initial Fee)

All other transactions - \$10Renewal Fee- \$10

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

- Oklahoma General Education Test (OGET)
- Oklahoma Professional Teaching Examination (OPTE)
- Oklahoma Subject Area Test (OSAT)

School Teacher, Elementary

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include language arts, social studies, mathematics, and science, in addition to sub-areas such as art, music, and developmental activities for students.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$60 for OSAT	Five Times/Year	Scaled Sore of 240
\$45 for OGET		(100-300 scale)
\$140 for OPTE		
Registration \$25		
(OSAT & OGET only)		

Reexamination

• Unlimited reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Average Annual Salary - \$29,557

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Department of Education Professional Standards Section, Suite 212 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 521-3337

School Teacher, Kindergarten Through Twelfth Grade

JOB DESCRIPTION

A kindergarten through twelfth grade (K-12) schoolteacher instructs students from kindergarten through twelfth-grade in one or more specialized subject matter areas such as art, music, or health. The teacher utilizes lecture, demonstration, and audiovisual aids to convey concepts propitiate to the age group in these areas. Routinely, the teacher prepares lesson plans, assigns lessons, and evaluates students' progress by administering examinations and reviewing students' work. A K-12 teacher must also report students' progress to parents and organize and supervise extracurricular activities with student organizations. K-12 teachers are employed in elementary and secondary accredited private, parochial, or public schools.

OES 31308

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Bachelor of Science Degree in Elementary/Secondary education
- Areas of study relate to general education, the area of specialization, and a professional education.
- Elementary and secondary student teaching at an accredited school in the area of specialization

Continuing Education

- Continuing education requirements are established by individual school districts; however, 75 professional development points over a five-year period are a common requirement.
- Continuing education is based upon the identified needs of the district and related to areas of specialization.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Not applicable

Restrictions

- Insufficient grade point average
- Felony conviction

License/Certificate Duration

- Certification License One year (issued prior to entry year).
- Standard Certificate Five years (issued after successful completion of residency program expires June 30).

License/Certification Fees

- License Fee \$10
- Certification Fee \$30 (Initial Fee)
- All other transactions \$10
 Renewal Fee \$10

School Teacher, Kindergarten Through Twelfth Grade

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

- Oklahoma General Education Test (OGET)
- Oklahoma Professional Teaching Examination (OPTE)
- Oklahoma Subject Area Test (OSAT)

Description

- Written
- Examination areas relate to the area of specialization

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$60 for OSAT	Five Times/Year	Scaled Sore of 240
\$45 for OGET		(100-300 scale)
\$140 for OPTE		
Registration \$25		
(OSAT & OGET only)		

Reexamination

• Unlimited reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Average Annual Salary - \$30,410.00

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Department of Education Professional Standards Section, Suite 212 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 521-3337

School Teacher, PK Through Third Grade

JOB DESCRIPTION

A pre-kindergarten (PK) through third-grade schoolteacher instructs young children in the basic skills, utilizing a variety of teaching methods such as demonstration and discovery. The teacher must plan and develop lessons that are appropriate for the students' age and address class and individual needs. Evaluating and reporting student progress to parents is also a responsibility of the teacher. Teachers also supervise extracurricular activities, attend faculty meetings, and often meet with parents after school. PK through third-grade teachers are employed in accredited public, private, or parochial schools.

OES 31308

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Bachelor of Science Degree in early Childhood Education
- Areas of study relate to general education, the area of specialization, and a professional education subject area concentrations, which allow qualification as a generalist.
- Student teaching at an accredited school in the area of specialization

Continuing Education

- Continuing education requirements are established by individual school districts; however, 75 professional development points over a five-year period are a common requirement.
- Continuing education is based upon the identified needs of the district and related to areas of specialization.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

Not applicable

Restrictions

- Insufficient grade point average
- Felony conviction

License/Certificate Duration

- License One year (issued prior to entry year residency program expires June 30)
- Standard Certificate Five years (issued after successful completion of residency program expires June 30)

License/Certification Fees

• License Fee - \$10

• Certification Fee - \$30 (Initial Fee)

All other transactions - \$10
Renewal Fee - \$10

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

- Oklahoma General Education Test (OGET)
- Oklahoma Professional Teaching Examination (OPTE)
- Oklahoma Subject Area Test (OSAT)

School Teacher, PK Through Third Grade

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include language arts, social studies, mathematics, science, and childhood development in addition to sub-areas such as art, music, and nutrition.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$60 for OSAT	Five Times/Year	Scaled Sore of 240
\$45 for OGET		(100-300 scale)
\$140 for OPTE		
Registration \$25		
(OSAT & OGET only)		

Reexamination

• Unlimited reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Average Annual Salary - \$30,410.00

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Department of Education Professional Standards Section, Suite 212 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 521-3337

School Teacher, Secondary

JOB DESCRIPTION

A secondary school teacher instructs students in one or more subject areas of specialization, such as English, agriculture, driver's education, mathematics, or social studies utilizing lecture, demonstration, audiovisual aids, etc. Routinely, the teacher prepares lesson plans, assigns lessons, and evaluates students' progress by administering tests and reviewing assignments. A secondary teacher also reports students' progress tests to evaluate students' progress to parents and participates socially in school activities and student organizations. Secondary teachers work in an accredited private, parochial, or public secondary school.

OES 31308

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Bachelor of Science Degree
- Areas of study should relate to general education, the area of specialization, and a professional education
- Student teaching at an accredited school in the area of specialization is also required.

Continuing Education

- Continuing education requirements are established by individual school districts; however, 75 professional development points over a five-year period are a common requirement.
- Continuing education is based upon the identified needs of the district and related to areas of specialization.

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

Not Applicable

Restrictions

- Insufficient grade point average
- Felony conviction

License/Certificate Duration

- License One year (issued prior to entry year residency program expires June 30)
- Standard Certificate Five years (issued after successful completion of residency program expires June 30)

License/Certification Fees

• License Fee - \$10

• Certification Fee - \$30 (Initial Fee)

All other transactions - \$10
Renewal Fee - \$10

School Teacher, Secondary

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

- Oklahoma General Education Test (OGET)
- Oklahoma Professional Teaching Examination (OPTE)
- Oklahoma Subject Area Test (OSAT)

Description

- Written
- Examination areas relate to areas of concentration

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$60 for OSAT	Five Times/Year	Scaled Sore of 240
\$45 for OGET		(100-300 scale)
\$140 for OPTE		
Registration \$25		
(OSAT & OGET only)		

Reexamination

Unlimited reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Average Annual Salary - \$30,410.00

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Department of Education Professional Standards Section, Suite 212 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 521-3337

Security Guard/Armed Security Guard

JOB DESCRIPTION

A security guard protects commercial or industrial property against trespassing, theft, vandalism, misappropriation, and/or wrongful concealment of merchandise, goods, money, or other tangible items. To ensure property protection, a security guard often patrols buildings and grounds, monitors security and surveillance devices, and regulates traffic flow by checking visitors' credentials. Armed security guards are authorized to carry a firearm. A security guard works in a variety of settings such as banks, office buildings, hospitals, and airports. Security guards are employed by or contracted with a security agency, individuals, or private business.

OES 63047

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

There are no specific educational requirements; however, candidates must be able to read and write.

Continuing Education

Not Applicable

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Unarmed 18 years of age
- Armed 21 years of age
- Good character and reputation
- Successful completion of state mandated training; 40 hours for unarmed and an additional 24 hours for armed.

Restrictions

- Convicted felons restricted from carrying firearms
- Convictions for crimes of moral turpitude
- Conviction of domestic violence misdemeanor restricts the carrying of firearms

License Duration

Two years

Licensing Fee

• Licensing Fee \$60 – Unarmed

\$85 - Armed

Renewal Fee \$25 – Unarmed

\$50 - Armed

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

State Licensing Examination

Security Guard/Armed Security Guard

Description

- Both written and practical
- Possible examination areas for the unarmed security guard include interpretation of the Oklahoma Security Guard and Private Investigator Act, administration of first aid, operation of a fire extinguisher, writing field notes, writing reports, interpretation of legal powers and limitations, public relations, post duties, patrolling, and investigation.
- Possible examination areas for the armed security guard include safety, revolver nomenclature and
 maintenance, inspection of revolvers and holsters, fundamentals of revolver shooting, legal issues and
 deadly force, and range procedures and tower commands.
- Armed security guards require shooting demonstration of a qualifying score of 70%.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
No Fee	First and Third Tuesdays	Curriculum
	(Oklahoma City);	Exams - 85%
	Second and Fourth Tuesdays	Licensing
	(Broken Arrow)	Exams - 70%

Reexamination

- Curriculum reexaminations are set by school policies.
- Reexaminations are offered after a two-week waiting period.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$6.32 - \$8.68/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training 3530 North Martin Luther King Boulevard Oklahoma City, OK 73136 (405) 425-2758

Self Defense Act Instructor

JOB DESCRIPTION

No Description provided. Contact Licensing Agency for further information.

OES 31321

EDUCATIONAL REOIJIREMENTS

None

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 23 years of age
- State resident for 6 months.
- Must complete at least 16 hour training class such as NRA, CLEET, Military, etc.

Restrictions

• Clean criminal background

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

• \$100

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

None

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$8.55 - \$17.24/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training

3530 North Martin Luther King Boulevard Oklahoma City, OK 73136 (405) 425 - 2758

Shorthand Reporter, Certified

JOB DESCRIPTION

Records examination, testimony, judicial opinions, judge's charge to jury, judgement or sentence of court, or other proceedings in court of law by machine shorthand [Stenotype Operator (clerical)], takes shorthand notes, or reports proceedings into steno-mask. Reads portions of transcript during trial on judge's request, and asks speakers to clarify inaudible statements. Operates typewriter to transcribe recorded material, or dictates material into recording machine. May record proceedings of quasi-judicial hearings and formal and informal meetings and be designated Hearings Reporter (clerical). May be self-employed, performing duties in court of law or at hearings and meetings, and be designated Freelance Reporter (clerical).

OES 55302

EDUCATIONAL REOPIREMENTS

Educational Level

• High school diploma and the ability to pass the examination

Continuing Education

• Four hours of training in Oklahoma Court rules and procedures

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Not Applicable

Restrictions

• Have the requisite standards of ethical fitness

License Duration

Two years

Licensing Fees

• Application Fee \$75 - in state

\$150 - out of state

• Renewal Fee \$40 every two years

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Certified Shorthand Reporter Test

Description

- Practical examination requires the ability to write the examination by machine or pen, and then type
 the examination in a one-hour period. A separate examination is given pertaining to proficiency and a
 jury charge. Examination requirements include 200 words per minute dictation for five minutes and
 jury charge at 180 and Oklahoma court rules and procedures.
- The examination is graded on the following standards: English, spelling, typing, and legal and medical terminology.

Shorthand Reporter, Certified

Examination Fee

\$75 - in state \$150 - out of state **Date**March and
September

Passing Criteria 50 Errors are Allowed, 95% is Passing

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$8.14 - \$13.46/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Board of Examiners Official Shorthand Reporters 1915 North Stiles, Room 305 Oklahoma City, OK 73105 (405) 521-2450

Social Worker, Licensed

JOB DESCRIPTION

Licensed social workers help individuals, families, and groups cope with problems through counseling and/or referral to other specialists. They plan and coordinate activities for different age groups to combat personal and community problems. Licensed social workers are responsible for client management, which requires investigation and analysis of current circumstances, assisting in the location and receipt of human resource services, and monitoring client progress. Licensed social workers are qualified to work only in the public sector. Many are employed in departments of human resources, social services, mental health, housing, education, and corrections.

OES 27305

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Doctoral or Master's Degree in Social Work from a program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education is required.
- Two years experience in the practice of social work under professional supervision of a licensed social worker (or a person eligible for licensed social worker licensure if supervision was prior to June 1, 1983) is also required.
- Possible areas of study include human development and behavior; social, economic, and cultural institutions and forces; and the interaction of all of these factors.

Continuing Education

• The Board determines continuing education requirements.

ADDITIONAL REOUTREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

Not Applicable

Restrictions

- The following restrictions are enforced under the Social Workers Licensing Act (H.B. 1910, 1980 Oklahoma Legislature):
- Has been convicted of a felony and, after investigation, the Board finds that he/she has not been sufficiently rehabilitated to merit the public trust.
- Has been found guilty of fraud or deceit in connection with services rendered or in establishing needed qualifications under this act.
- Has knowingly aided or abetted a person, not licensed under these provisions, in representing himself/herself as licensed in this state.
- Has been found guilty of unprofessional conduct as defined by rules established by the Board.
- Has been found guilty of negligence or wrongful actions in the performance of his/her duties.

License Duration

One year

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$75
- Renewal Fee \$50

Social Worker, Licensed

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

Advanced exam

Description

- Ex Pro
- Examination areas relate to the field of study.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$110	Monday - Sunday	70%

Reexamination

• Applicants may retake the exam as many times as needed; however, applicants must repay the license fee with each time examination is taken.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$9.58 - \$13.15/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Licensed Social Workers 3535 NW 58th, #765 Oklahoma City, OK 73112 (405) 946-7230

Social Worker Associate, Licensed

JOB DESCRIPTION

Licensed social worker associates help individuals, families, and groups cope with problems by providing counseling services and/or referrals to other specialists. They plan and coordinate activities for different age groups to combat personal and community problems. Licensed social worker associates are responsible for client management, which requires investigating and analyzing current circumstances, assisting in the location and receipt of human resource services, and monitoring client progress. Social workers in the public sector are employed primarily in departments of human resources, social services, mental health, housing, education, and corrections.

OES 27305

EDUCATIONAL REOUTREMENTS

Educational Level

- Bachelor's Degree in Social Work from a program accredited by the Council on Social Work
- Education plus two years experience in the practice of social work under professional supervision of a licensed social worker (or a person eligible for licensed social worker licensure if supervision was prior to June 1, 1983).
- Doctoral or Master's Degree in Social Work from an institution with a program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education may be substituted in lieu of two years practical experience.
- Possible areas of study include human development and behavior; social, economic, and cultural institutions and forces; and the interaction of all of these factors.

Continuing Education

• The Board determines continuing education requirements.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Not Applicable

Restrictions

- The following restrictions are enforced under the Social Workers Licensing Act (H.B. 1910, 1980 Oklahoma Legislature):
- Has been convicted of a felony and, after investigation, the Board finds that he/she has not been sufficiently rehabilitated to merit the public's trust.
- Has been found guilty of fraud or deceit in connection with services rendered or in establishing needed qualifications under this act.
- Has knowingly aided or abetted a person, not licensed under these provisions, in representing himself/herself as licensed in this state.
- Has been found guilty of unprofessional conduct as defined by rules established by the Board.
- Has been found guilty of negligence or wrongful actions in the performance of his/her duties.

License Duration

One year

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$75
- Renewal Fee \$40

Social Worker Associate, Licensed

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Dependent upon area of specialization

Description

- Written
- Examination areas relate to the area of specialization.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$110	Monday - Sunday	70%

Reexamination

• Applicants may retake the exam as many times as needed; however, applicants must repay the license fee with each time examination is taken.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$9.58 - \$13.15/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Licensed social Workers 3535 NW 58th, #765 Oklahoma City, OK 73112 (405) 946-7230

Social Worker with Specialty Certification, Licensed

JOB DESCRIPTION

Licensed social workers with specialty certification are qualified to engage in both public and independent private practice of social work. Their specialty certification must be clinical social work practice, social work administration, social planning, or community organization. Licensed social workers help individuals, families, and groups cope with problems through counseling and/or referral to other specialists. They plan and coordinate activities for different age groups to combat personal and community problems. Licensed social workers are responsible for client management, which requires investigating and analyzing current circumstances, assisting in the location and receipt of human resource services, and monitoring client progress.

OES 27305

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Doctoral or Master's Degree in Social Work from an institution with a program accredited by the Council of Social Work Education is required.
- Possible areas of study include human development and behavior; social, economic, and cultural institutions and forces; and the interaction of all of these factors.
- Two years experience in the practice of social work under professional supervision of a person licensed under Board provisions is also required.

Continuing Education

- Sixteen clock hours annually
- The Board determines areas of study.

ADDITIONAL REOUTREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Not Applicable

Restrictions

- The following restrictions are enforced under the Social Workers Licensing Act (H.B. 1910, 1980 Oklahoma Legislature):
- Has been convicted of a felony and, after investigation, the Board finds that he/she has not been sufficiently rehabilitated to merit the public's trust.
- Has been found guilty of fraud or deceit in connection with services rendered or in establishing needed qualifications under this act.
- Has knowingly aided or abetted a person, not licensed under these provisions, in representing himself/herself as licensed in this state.
- Has been found guilty of unprofessional conduct as defined by rules established by the Board.
- Has been found guilty of negligence or wrongful actions in the performance of his/her duties.

License Duration

One year

Licensing Fees

- Application Fee \$50
- Renewal Fee \$50

Social Worker with Specialty Certification, Licensed

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Clinical Licensing Examination

Description

- Ex Pro
- Examination areas relate to the field of study.

Examination Fee Date Passing Criteria \$110 Monday - Sunday 70%

Reexamination

• Applicants may retake the exam as many times as needed; however, applicants must repay the license fee with each time examination is taken.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$9.58 - \$13.15/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma State Board of Licensed Social Workers 3535 NW 58th, #765 Oklahoma City, OK 73112 (405) 946-7230

Speech Pathologist

JOB DESCRIPTION

A speech pathologist examines, counsels, and provides rehabilitative services to persons who have or are suspected of having speech, language, and voice disorders. The speech pathologist diagnoses and evaluates an individual's speech and language abilities and then plans, directs, and conducts treatment programs to restore or develop the patient's communication skills. Patient treatment often includes the use of audiovisual equipment and microcomputers to analyze individual speech characteristics and provide stimulation and care for practice. Speech pathologists are largely employed in educational institutions; speech, language, and hearing clinics; or health care institutions.

OES 32314

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Master's Degree with an emphasis in speech pathology or audiology.
- Submit evidence of the completion of 60 semester hours of academic credit (constituting a well-integrated program in this field of study) from one or more accredited colleges or universities.
- Submit evidence of the completion of 275 clock hours of directly supervised clinical practice with cases representative of a wide spectrum of ages and communication disorders; the experience must be obtained within the accredited academic institution or in one of its cooperating programs.
- Submit evidence of no less than nine months of full-time paid clinical experience in the area for which a license is requested, obtained under the supervision of one or more licensed speech pathologists or audiologists. "Full-time" is defined as at least 30 hours per week; the nine months of full-time paid experience must be obtained within a period of 24 consecutive months. This requirement may also be fulfilled by 18 months of half time paid experience of at least 15 hours per week, which must be completed within a period of 36 consecutive months.
- Supervised clinical training in communication disorders is required for degree candidates.

Continuing Education

• 20 clock hours per two-year interval

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Passing score National Examination for Speech-Language Pathology & Audiology.
- Successful completion of supervised Clinical Experience year
- Minimum of three references from licensed audiologists/speech-language pathologists

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

- License Fee \$75
- Renewal Fee \$60

Speech Pathologist

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

National Examination for Speech-Language Pathology & Audiology

Description

- 150 multiple choice item examination 2 hour limit
- Examination areas relate to normal speech and development, communication disorders, professional issues and ethics, speech acoustics, anatomy, and physiology.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$45	March, July, and November	600

Reexamination

• Upon payment of examination fee

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median range - \$13.80 - \$22.28/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

State Board of Examinations for Speech-Language Pathology and AudiologyP.O. Box 53592
Oklahoma City, OK 73152
(405) 840-2774

Sports Official, High School

JOB DESCRIPTION

A high school sports official officiates competitive athletic events through observation to determine violations of rules or established regulations. High school sports officials obtain licensing for each individual sport. For example, a sports official may choose to obtain licensing to officiate basketball, baseball, football, or other sporting events.

OES 34058

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Must be at least a senior in high school but cannot officiate varsity games
- Possible knowledge areas include the rules and mechanics of conducting an athletic contest for each specified sport.

Continuing Education

• Officials must attend one state and at least three local rules meetings each year.

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

Not Applicable

Restrictions

• Cannot enroll persons who are registered with the Oklahoma Sex Offenders Act

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

• License Fee \$25 for first sport

\$15 for each additional sport

• Renewal Fee \$25 for first sport

\$15 for each additional sport

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Examinations given according to sport, such as Football Rules Exam, Basketball Rules Exam, etc.

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include game rules, regulations, and mechanics of conducting athletic contests for each specified sport.

Sports Official, High School

Examination Fee

Date

Passing Criteria

No Fee

Prior to the beginning of each sport season.

75%

Reexamination

• One reexamination available

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Average Annual Salary - \$26,874.00

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma secondary Schools activities association 7300 N. Broadway Ext. Oklahoma City, OK 73116 (405) 840-1116

Truck Driver Training School Instructor, Commercial

JOB DESCRIPTION

Conducts classes and gives demonstrations on the operation of commercial motor vehicles to students learning to drive or preparing to take an examination for a commercial driver's license. A driving instructor prepares and assigns lessons, evaluates students' progress, and accompanies students while practicing skills.

OES 31314

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• High school diploma or equivalent and a minimum of five years verifiable experience in the type of vehicles used by the school for instructional purposes.

Continuing Education

• Not required

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Valid Oklahoma driver's license
- At least 21 years of age
- Good moral character
- Driving record must meet approval of the Department of Public Safety.
- Minimum of 20/40 vision in each eye corrected or uncorrected.

Restrictions

• Conviction of a felony

License Duration

One year

Licensing Fees

• \$5

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

- Driver's Examination (Class A)
- Vision Test
- Standard Road Test

Description

- Written, skill, and visual
- Written examination relates to traffic laws, signs, and safe operation of a commercial motor vehicle.
- Skill: Standard Class A Road Test.
- Visual: Standard Vision Screening.

Truck Driver Training School Instructor, Commercial

Examination Fee

\$5

Date
Appointment
Established upon Request

Passing Criteria
80% - Written
80% - Driving Test
Vision- Minimum of application
20/40 in each eye with or
without corrective lenses.

Reexamination

- After initial test, a one-week waiting period is required.
- After third failure, a three-month waiting period is required.
- Unlimited number of exams can be taken after the waiting period.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$13.86 - \$19.46/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Department of Public Safety - Troop N 3600 North Martin Luther King Avenue P.O. Box 11415 Oklahoma City, OK 73136 (405) 521-6223

Underground Storage Tank Certified Consultant

JOB DESCRIPTION

Firms, corporations, and individuals doing business in Oklahoma as an Underground Storage Tank (UST) consultant should have a certified UST consultant on staff and in supervisory control of job sites during UST sampling, sampling at UST closure, investigations and remediations or other activities directed by the Oklahoma Corporation Commission for any work performed after January 1, 1994.

OES 21911

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• Four-year degree from accredited college or university in a physical, natural, biological science or engineering field.

Continuing Education

• Must have completed the 40-hour OSHA training course (Hazwoper) (2910.120) and any eight-hour refresher courses.

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Three years of total environmental experience with two years at regulated UST facilities for degreed personnel.
- Seven years of experience with two years at a regulated UST facility for personnel without a degree.
- Provide proof of attending an ORBCA (Oklahoma Risk-Based Corrective Action) School.

Restrictions

• If a person is a registered PE, only two years of experience at a regulated UST facility will be required.

Certificate Duration

• Two years

Certification Fees

- Application Fee \$25
- Two-year License \$50

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Exam for UST Certified Consultant

Description

• 100 multiple-choice questions covering health and safety, investigations, regulatory issues, remediation, and hydrology.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$25	Any Time	70%

Underground Storage Tank Certified Consultant

Reexamination

• At any time - \$25 additional for each reexamination

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$11.74 - \$19.00/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Corporation Commission

Fuel Storage Department, Room 250 P.O. Box 52000-2000 Oklahoma City, OK 73152-2000 (405) 521-3107

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Must apply on special state-supplied application form. References must be listed and will be contacted by mail with a questionnaire.

Underground Storage Tank Installer

JOB DESCRIPTION

An underground storage tank (UST) installer places tanks that contain regulated substances such as petroleum and chemical products in underground storage facilities. The installer may supervise the tank installation or may act as the level-off foreman who operates installation equipment. Hand and machine operated equipment are used by the installer to connect piping from the tank to the dispensing unit or to install monitoring wells on the tank's backfill area. After the installation is complete, the installer conducts integrating testing on the system. Contractors or service station equipment vendors normally employ underground storage tank installers.

OES 879999

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- No formal education is required; however, a working knowledge of the occupation is necessary.
- Possible knowledge areas include the standards and codes for underground storage.

Continuing Education

Not Applicable

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Two years of related work experience
- Experience in three UST activities, two of which must be installations

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• Two years

Licensing Fees

• Application Fee - \$50 (includes exam fee)

License Fee - \$50Renewal Fee - \$50

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Underground Storage Tank Licensing Exam #0470

Description

- Written
- The 110 examination questions cover such areas as tank installation, piping installation, corrosion protection, and monitoring well installation.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$35 (Included in Application Fee)	Daily	80%

Underground Storage Tank Installer

Reexamination

• Reexamination fee is required.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$7.99 - \$12.14/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Corporation Commission

Fuel Storage Department, Room 250 P.O. Box 52000-2000 Oklahoma City, OK 73152-2000 (405) 521-3107

Veterinarian

JOB DESCRIPTION

A veterinarian diagnoses and treats animal diseases, disorders, and injuries. To determine treatment, the veterinarian examines the animal patient using a variety of techniques such as blood tests, X-rays, and observation. After evaluation, veterinarians through the prescription and administration of drugs and medicine, or using surgical procedures treat animal patients. Veterinarians may focus their practice on one type of animal such as pets, livestock, or zoo animals, and may work in a private or group practice. Veterinarians can also find employment in research, food inspection, or education.

OES 32114

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Graduate from an accredited college with a doctor of veterinary medicine degree
- Possible areas of study include physical and biological sciences and veterinary medicine.
- Professional training includes considerable practical experience through rotations that provide experience in diagnosing and treating animal diseases, performing surgery, and performing laboratory work in anatomy, biochemistry, and other medical and scientific subjects.

Continuing Education

• Twenty hours of continuing education in veterinary medicine is required each year.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- Three recommendations must be submitted. The recommendations must be a representation of clinical skills and competence and authored by a colleague who is currently licensed in a state of the United States and in good standing with licensing jurisdiction of that state.
- Good moral character
- At least 21 years of age

Restrictions

• Individual board review of board violations

License Duration

One year

Licensing Fees

• Renewal Fee - \$100

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

- National Board Exam
- Clinical Competency Test
- Oklahoma State Board Examination

Veterinarian

Description

- Both written and oral
- Oklahoma State Board exam includes a written portion, an oral portion, and a jurisprudence portion related to the laws of veterinary medicine in Oklahoma

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$265 - National Board Exam	Offered Twice	70% - Each examination
\$240 - Clinical Competency	Annually in April	requires a score as high or
\$150 - Oklahoma State	and December	higher than the minimum
		passing score established
		for the exam.

Reexamination

• Re-qualifying criteria after twice failing any licensing examination.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$14.15 - \$23.58/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners P.O. Box 54556 Oklahoma City, OK 73154 (405) 843-0843

Veterinarian Technician

JOB DESCRIPTION

A veterinary technician works under the supervision of a veterinarian to perform routine animal care, surgical preparation, laboratory analysis, and other animal-related activities. Often the technician's duties include grooming and feeding animals, organizing surgical instruments, and assisting with scheduling appointments. Veterinarians may also request the technician to assist them in administering medication and conducting research. Animal technicians normally work for privately owned veterinary clinics, colleges, or universities.

OES 79806

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- Associate's Degree in Applied Science
- Possible areas of study include a basic core of English, history, and government. Subjects related to this field include physiology, nutrition, laboratory techniques, animal nursing, pharmacology, and radiology. Eight-week preceptor at a veterinary clinic under a licensed veterinarian.

Continuing Education

- Six hours of continuing education is required each year.
- Continuing education areas of study related to field or subjects scientific in nature.

ADDITIONAL REOUTREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

Not Applicable.

Restrictions

- Conviction of a Felony
- Individual review of Board violations

License Duration

One year

Licensing Fees

• Application Fee - \$200 (for national exam and application fee total)

• Renewal Fee - \$25

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

 National Professional Examination Service Veterinary Technician Exam and Oklahoma State Examination

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include basic science application, skilled nursing, and laboratory science.

Veterinarian Technician

Examination Fee

Date

Passing Criteria 70%

\$200 (Included in Application)

Offered Twice Annually in January and June

Reexamination

Unlimited reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$5.65 \$6.74/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners P.O. Box 54556 Oklahoma City, OK 73154 (405) 843-0843

Waste-Water Laboratory Operator, Class A

JOB DESCRIPTION

No description provided. Conduct Licensing Agency for further information.

OES 24505

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• 20 semester hours of college chemistry

Continuing Education

• Four hours of continuing education each year in related subjects

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Minimum experience: 8 years and class B lab must include 3 years of actual lab experience.

Restrictions

None

License Duration

One year

Licensing Fees

Application Fee - \$40.00Renewal Fee - \$30.00

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Water Laboratory Examination, Class A

Description

- Written
- Possible areas of examination include feral coliform, gas chromatography, suspended solids, and biomonitoring.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$40.00 (Included	Once a Month	70% and Above
in Application Fee)		

- 30 day waiting period must intervene between reexamination unless additional training received.
- Unlimited reexaminations

Waste-Water Laboratory Operator, Class A

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$11.06 - \$19.83/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Water Resources Board 3800 N. Classen Blvd. Oklahoma City, OK 73118 (405) 530-8800

Waste- Water Laboratory Operator, Class B

JOB DESCRIPTION

No description provided. Contact Licensing Agency for further information.

OES 24505

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• 64 hours of lab training

Continuing Education

• 4 hours of continuing education each year in related subjects

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Minimum experience: 3 years and class C lab must include 2 years of actual lab experience.

Restrictions

None

License Duration

One year

Licensing Fees

Application Fee - \$40.00Renewal Fee - \$30.00

EXAMINATION REOUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Water Laboratory Examination, Class B

Description

- Written
- Possible areas of examination include laboratory glassurance, standard solutions, solids, fecal coliform, pH, and alkalinity.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$40.00 (Included	Once a Month	70% and Above
in Application Fee)		

- 30 day waiting period must intervene between reexamination unless additional training received.
- Unlimited reexaminations

Waste- Water Laboratory Operator, Class B

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$11.06 - \$19.83/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Water Resources Board 3800 N. Classen Blvd. Oklahoma City, OK 73118 (405) 530-8800

Waste- Water Laboratory Operator, Class C

JOB DESCRIPTION

No description provided. Contact Licensing Agency for further information.

OES 24505

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• 32 hours of related subject training

Continuing Education

• 4 hours of renewal training each year in related subjects

ADDITIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 18 years of age
- Ability to read and write
- Good physical condition

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

• Application Fee - \$40.00 • Renewal Fee - \$30.00

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Water Laboratory Examination, Class C

Description

- Written
- Possible areas of examination include dissolved oxygen, general laboratory, pH, laboratory glassware, solids, and alkalinity.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$40.00 (Included	Once a Month	70% and Above
in Application Fee)		

- 30 day waiting period must intervene between reexamination unless additional training received.
- Unlimited reexaminations

Waste- Water Laboratory Operator, Class C

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$11.06 - \$19.83/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Water Resources Board 3800 N. Classen Blvd. Oklahoma City, OK 73118 (405) 530-8800

Waste- Water Operator

JOB DESCRIPTION

A wastewater operator operates sewage treatment, sludge processing equipment, or disposal equipment in a wastewater (sewage) treatment plant to control the flow and processing of sewage. The operator monitors and regulates the flow of sewage by adjusting equipment valves and gates manually or by remote control through the filtering, settling, aerating, and sludge digestion processes. A wastewater operator also keeps a log of operations, maintains equipment, and directs other attendants. The majority of waste water operators work for local governments and private water supply and sanitary service companies.

OES 95002

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- 16 to 200 hours of related subject training.
- Possible areas of study include general treatment processes, state regulations, mechanical treatment, sludge digestion, and sludge management.

Continuing Education

• Four hours of continuing education each year in related subjects

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 18 years of age
- High school education or equivalent

Restrictions

None

Certificate Duration

One year

Certification Fees

- Application Fee \$40
- Renewal Fee \$30

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Waste Water Operator Examination A, B, C, D

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include general treatment process, state regulations, mechanical treatment, sludge digestion, and sludge management.

Water Laboratory Operator, Class A

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$40 (Included	Once a Month – Oklahoma City Area	70%
in Application Fee)	As Scheduled – Statewide	

Reexamination

- 30-day waiting period must intervene between reexamination unless additional training has been received.
- Unlimited reexamination

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$8.06 - \$11.22/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Department of Environment Quality 707 N. Robinson St. Oklahoma City, OK 73101-1677 (405) 702-8100

Water Laboratory Operator, Class A JOB DESCRIPTION

No description provided. Contact Licensing Agency for further information.

OES 24505

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• 20 semester hours of college chemistry

Continuing Education

• 4 hours of continuing education each year in related subjects

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Minimum experience: 8 years and Class B lab must include 3 year of actual lab experience.

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

• Application Fee - \$40.00

• Renewal Fee - \$30.00

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Waste Water Laboratory Examination, Class A

Description

- Written
- Possible areas of examination include atomic absorption, gas chromatography, quality assurance, and turbidity.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$40.00 (Included	Once a Month	70% and Above
in Application Fee)		

- 30 day waiting period must intervene between reexamination unless additional training received.
- Unlimited reexaminations

Water Laboratory Operator, Class A

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$11.06 - \$19.83/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Water Resources Board 3800 N. Classen Blvd. Oklahoma City, OK 73118 (405) 530-8800

Water Laboratory Operator, Class B

JOB DESCRIPTION

No description provided. Contact Licensing Agency for further information.

OES 24505

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• 64 hours of lab training

Continuing Education

• Four hours of continuing education each year in related subjects

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

• Minimum experience: 3 years and Class C lab this must include 2 years of actual lab experience.

Restrictions

None

License Duration

• One year

Licensing Fees

Application Fee - \$40.00Renewal Fee - \$30.00

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Water Laboratory Examination, Class B

Description

- Written
- Possible areas of examination include laboratory glassware, alkalinity, total coliform, and pH.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$40.00 (Included	Once a Month	70% and Above
in Application Fee)		

- 30 day waiting period must intervene between reexamination unless additional training received.
- Unlimited reexaminations

Water Laboratory Operator, Class B

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$11.06 - \$19.83/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Water Resources Board 3800 N. Classen Blvd. Oklahoma City, OK 73118 (405) 530-8800

Water Laboratory Operator, Class C

JOB DESCRIPTION

No description provided. Contact Licensing Agency for further information.

OES 24505

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Educational Level

• 32 hours of related subject training

Continuing Education

• Four hours of renewal training each year in related subjects

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 18 years of age
- Ability to read and write
- Good physical condition

Restrictions

None

License Duration

One year

Licensing Fees

Application Fee - \$40.00Renewal Fee - \$30.00

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Waste Water Laboratory Examination, Class C

Description

- Written
- Possible areas of examination include standard solution, turbidity, chlorine residual, pH, and alkalinity.

Examination FeeSubstitute
Substitute
Substitute

- 30 day waiting period must intervene between reexamination unless additional training received.
- Unlimited reexaminations

Water Laboratory Operator, Class C

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$11.06 - \$19.83/hour

LICENSING AGENCY

Oklahoma Water Resources Board 3800 N. Classen Blvd. Oklahoma City, OK 73118 (405) 530-8800

Water Works Operator

JOB DESCRIPTION

Water works operator controls water treatment plant machines and equipment that purify and clarify water for human consumption and industrial use. Some of the duties of an operator include monitoring and maintaining equipment, determining and regulating chemical treatment, and testing water samples for impurities. Various branches at the city and state government employ the majority of water works operators.

OES 95002

EDUCATIONAL REOUIREMENTS

Educational Level

- 16 to 200 hours of related subject training.
- Possible areas of study include general water treatment, state regulations, groundwater, and disinfection.

Continuing Education

• Four hours of continuing education each year in related subjects

ADDITIONAL REOUTREMENTS

Qualifications/Experience

- 18 years of age
- · High school diploma or equivalent

Restrictions

None

Certificate Duration

• One year (expires June 30 each year).

Certification Fees

- Application Fee \$40
- Renewal Fee \$30

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

Examination Title

• Water Operator Examination A, B, C, D

Description

- Written
- Possible examination areas include general water treatment, state regulations, groundwater, and disinfection.

Examination Fee	Date	Passing Criteria
\$40 (Included	Once a Month – Oklahoma City Area	70% and Above
in Application Fee)	As Scheduled - Statewide	

Waste Water Operator

Reexamination

- 30-day waiting period must intervene between reexaminations unless additional training has been received.
- Unlimited reexaminations

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$8.06 - \$11.22/hour

CERTIFICATION AGENCY

Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality 707 N. Robinson St. Oklahoma City, OK 73 101-1677 (405) 702-8100

Waste Water Operator

Waste Water Operator

Examination Fee \$40 (included in application fee) Date
Once each month
in Oklahoma City
(area) and statewide
as scheduled

Passing Criteria 70%

Reexamination

- 30-day waiting period must intervene between reexaminations unless additional training has been received.
- Unlimited reexaminations.

OKLAHOMA WAGE

• Median Range \$8.06- \$1 1.22/hour

CERTIFICATION AGENCY

Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality 707 N. Robinson St. Oklahoma City, OK 73 101-1677 (405) 702-8100